$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Swissotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 96, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
salha
Couples
Saudi Arabia
Nov 12, 2014

Excellent

Great hotel in every thing , location in Dam square close to many things and central station resturent shipping museums river

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

In Dam square

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SAM37
Friends
Michigan
Oct 5, 2014

Great hotel in excellent location

The staff and location are what make this a great hotel. The location is a short walk from the Central train station and many sites, shops, and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
whiteleyspark
Couples
UK
Jul 16, 2014

Brilliant Hotel Couldn't have asked for more

From being greeting with the Red Carpet entrance to leaving the following day everything was marvellous. No faults at all. Staff were very friendly and bent over backwards to make you feel welcome and did everything to make our stay good. Upon checkout they stored our case until later in the day and even gave us a bottle of water each for our journey home. Only little things but you could tell that this hotel really cares about its customers. Have to say the Red Carpet outside the entrance is a really nice touch. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The street that is at 1'0'clock as you walk out of the hotel across the road has lots of lovely dining to taste.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gloucester couple
Couples
Gloucester England
Jun 15, 2014

Midweek couples break

The hotel has a perfect location and the staff were very helpful and polite.the room was good but there is no views other than a brick wall from our room which meant very little natural light .this would not put me off using hotel again as location and staff were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a lot of restaurants and bakeries very close by so any food options at hotel are not necessary unless you choose too.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Flyer 44
Couples
Uk
May 28, 2014

Central location but somewhat disappointing.

We spent 3 nights here, 2 couples in 2 rooms both at the back of the hotel. Rooms looked out over Burger King in a very busy street. There was significant noise from this street at all times, delivery lorries and people shouting in the wee small hours. The glazing did not mask this sufficiently and we all suffered from a lack of sleep. The rooms could do with a makeover, scuffed paintwork, dated marble tiling, poor over bath shower. Could not get Nespresso machine to produce a decent cup of coffee in either room. Staff at front desk were fine although forgot to ask us ( both couples) to sign an area of our registration form so they deactivated our room keys to bring us to the desk. We also felt they could have mentioned the daily room fee at check-in. No doubt it is in the small print somewhere but we were told of the charge on check-out. Not a major problem, but it may have been for some. We are regular travellers and have experienced many hotels. Overall, we were underwhelmed by this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bright Days
Couples
Rupert, Idaho
May 13, 2014

Amsterdam

Wonderful stay. The staff were the best I've experienced for a very long time. Only smiles and helpfulness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scot from Scotland
Couples
Scotland.
Mar 2, 2014

When in Amsterdam stay nowhere else but here.

Staff 1st class,couldn't do enough for us. Very clean rooms and every night covers turned and a choclate on the pillow. A bottle of water each side of the bed every night also. Very good location,8 minute walk from Cenrtaal Station. Great value for money. Would recommend this hotel and the next time I go away for a city break would use this chain of hotels as I was very impressed with every aspect of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler01223
Friends
US
Dec 15, 2013

Great Stay!

It was a great experience! It was a great experience!It was a great experience!It was a great experience!It was a great experience!It was a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laith
Business
Riyadh
Jul 1, 2013

Excellent location

Rooms are clean, friendly staff, excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T Ravi
Family
London
Jun 25, 2013

Central location, comfortable and clean hotel

Great location near the centre and walking distance from the station. Can get a little noise at night, but the double window deals with that. Clean and comfortable and staff were really helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top