$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Rijksweg A4, nr.3, Amsterdam, 2132 MA

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kekai
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 16, 2013

Great Value

The hotel was very comfortable--overall a great experience. There were two things I can remember that were a bit out of place. The printer was broken in the internet lounge, but there was no sign posted saying that, so I was well along the way to purchasing an online ticket to the Anne Frank museum when I realized there was no paper. I was racing against the clock because the bus to the airport where the train into town runs comes once every 40 minutes, so I went to the front desk to ask for some paper, only to be told the printer was broken! No fear, I have the option of sending it to them at the front desk and they can print it for me, was the great response, but it would take approximately 20 minutes and the bus would have left and that would have added another 1.5 hours to my total travel time, perhaps. The other thing was one of the vending machines was broken when I got back one early morning and I didn't think to say anything because I "assumed" (poorly) it was being fixed. The message was in Dutch, but the machine wouldn't take my money, so I knew it was out of service. The very next morning it had the same message, so I asked the front desk, they had NO idea the machine was even broken. It made me wonder how long the machine had actual been broken. It was a vending machine for soup. By this time the man was nice enough to offer me to the breakfast buffet to get soup (without first telling me I could pay the same price of 1.50 euro instead of the 15 euro cost of the buffet) to which I was quite upset at first. He didn't seem to see why I was frustrated, nor share my enthusiasm, which is understandable. I didn't have any more energy to argue, fuss or fight. I simply said I'd rather pay 1.50 for a cup of soup (because all I wanted was something warm and small) instead of 15! He answered rather nonchalantly, "You can pay 1.50 in the buffet." It may have made it less frustrating had that little bit of information been given in the beginning. I leave it to a language barrier. I would stay again at the hotel. One more thing...I figured out how to use the public transportation to and from Schipol airport on my own. It would be nice if the staff could fill in the guest should they ask. When I did, the women was unable to help me. But it was quite easy. Take the Q-liner 370 to Schipol, or in reverse and get off at Brugrestaurant, which is right in front of the hotel. Down side to that, it cost 6 euro, but their airport shuttle stops running at 2330, and doesn't start up again at the airport until 0620, so 6 euro and 4 stops on the bus is much cheaper than a cab, and quite convenient, too. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aireyr
Business
Scotland
Jun 20, 2013

Good holiday

Very nice hotel.. Good food, good amenitys, regular shuttle bus to the airport, however due to its location next to a motorway can be noisy and also on the flight path for schipol airport!... Also if your planning on going to Amsterdam central the trains times don't match with the bus time table,, so you have a 40 minute wait at the airport... Nice hotel on the inside.. Looks horrible from the outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bilona
Business
Picton, Ontario Canada
Jul 1, 2013

Schiphol A4 Hotel

Good shuttle service from airport and ample eating sources in adjacent building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stevie yet again
Business
Daytona Beach
Jul 1, 2013

When is an "airport hotel" not really that?

When is an "airport hotel" not really that? When the shuttle from the airport to the hotel takes at least 10 to 15 minutes to make the trip. But don't worry because the shuttle is free and makes a departure every 20 minutes from either the airport or the hotel. Otherwise, the hotel generally lives up to the 4 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Even though the hotel is far from downtown and the airport proper, there are several dining alternatives either within the hotel or a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stevie yet again
Business
Daytona Beach
Jul 1, 2013

A deep discount makes a good hotel that much better

When this hotel advertised a standard room for $55/night in the Amsterdam area, I jumped on it with both feet. Yes, it is far away from downtown and 15 minutes by shuttle to the airport but when you consider that comparable accomodations at the Leidseplein and other tourist locations run 3 or 4 times the price, you can put up with a little inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burger King and KFC among other fast food outlets are only a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Al
Business
Bon Accord, Alberta Canada
Jul 30, 2013

A comfortable bed and a great shower

The shower was luxurious experience of cascading water, and the bed was a wonder after a long flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Order a Holland Pass before you arrive in the Netherlands, these get you free transportation in Amsterdam, entrance to museums, and canal tours, as well as cute freebies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hanna banana
Business
Vancouver BC
Aug 7, 2013

Good Price

Great Price for the room and airport shuttle service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alligatorr
Business
USA
Jul 31, 2013

Awesome..

The hotel is pretty good the room is big..the service is OK..it's not bad at all for it's value..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobZui
Business
Florida
Aug 23, 2013

Good deal for the money

Good hotel, my only concern is the name. To locate this hotel using GPS used the name Van Der Valk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the hotel shuttle to get to the airport and take the train to Amsterdam

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jonas a tourist
Business
NY area
Sep 9, 2013

a weekend getaway in Amsterdam

It was brief but a nice experience, unfortunately, the hotel is a bit far from the center of Amsterdam. However, the free parking is a great thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top