$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Rijksweg A4, nr.3, Amsterdam, 2132 MA

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proton hired
Business
Amsterdam
May 13, 2009

A4 but 3 stars is more than enough

Shuttle takes of every 40 min to the airport, keep that in mind We had the quad room, large! but outdated shower and no tissues! Ask for a parking arrangement, otherwise you pay ONE EURO PER HOUR !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Azariya
Business
Helsinki, Finland
Jan 31, 2012

breakfast and some restrictions

Well overall your service was good enough. the only reservation i have is on the breakfast..i believe it is overrated and especially for a guest who already has a room should be free of charge or the least the breakfast should be half price. oh one more thing I noticed was there is a smell of dust on the hall ways..i guess its the carpet or something else..other than that all is well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aubergine10
Business
Warrington, UK
Feb 1, 2012

Strange layout, small duvets!

The layout of the hotel is somewhat strange - I was in room 653, which in most hotels would be on the 6th floor. However here it was roughly on floor 0.5! To get to my room: Wait for rickety, difficult to operate, lift in foyer. Go up to floor 1 (skipping floor 0.5). Walk through a large room, go down a long corridor, enter key card half way down corridor to open doors at end, get through doors before they shut, walk down another corridor, down a flight of stairs to get to floor 0.5, follow a rabbit-warren-like maze of corridors to get to room. :o The rooms are spacious, huge in fact compared to some hotels. My room had separate shower and a bath, both in a large bathroom. The duvets on the bed are more like towels - I had to use the duvet of the spare bed to get something about the size of a duvet that would be supplied on a normal single bed. Food was average, nothing to write home about. Bar was acceptable with good service. Music playing in foyer was a somewhat depressing selection of melancholic '80s tracks. Hotel reception staff were very knowledgeable, polite and always happy to help, eg. booking taxis, showing me how to use the strange lift in foyer, etc. Taxi from Schipol airport was a monstrous €38 EUR! For about 10 min taxi journey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saito
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jul 4, 2012

Amsterdam Schipol A4 Airport Hotel Review

Staff (reception) are not friendly (somewhat rude). Restaurant staff are nice and friendly Room is average and have "smoke" smells.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

beside A4 hotels have a good Bar and ribs Resto (Rancho) and fast food chain (KFC and McDo)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ForestChild
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jun 20, 2012

It's ok

We stayed there for 3 nights. We came to visit Amsterdam, and the idea was to be catching the shuttle to the Airport and then the train to the Central station in the morning, and do the opposite in the evening. The plan basically worked, but there are a couple of thing to keep in mind: - The shuttle goes on 40 minute intervals, which is quite long. We missed out on one and had to wait for the next one. - The ride on the shuttle is actually quite long. 10-15 minutes, surely not 5 like advertised on the hotel's website. - The train from the airport costs about 8 euro roundtrip and also takes good 20 minutes. - The last shuttle from the airport departs at 23:40, which for some may be too early, and it does not align well with the train schedule. The room was big, but quite worn out with a smell I could not categorize (it wasn't the "old carpet" smell, something much sharper, but you don't notice it after a few minutes). The breakfast is quite good, but costs 15 euro. In the end, I saved money on this hotel, but you should count twice - the time you spend getting to the city and the breakfast and the train add to the daily expense..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunshine1943
Business
Bocas Del Toro, Panama
Jul 8, 2013

Only 2 nights

Given the impression hotel was near Amsterdam Center which was misleading since it was a 50 euro cab ride from the central train station. The restaurant needs either more servers or more organization. The only shuttle bus is to the airport not Amsterdam Center. Then you have a 15 - 20 minute train ride to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flying Dutchman
Business
San Jose, California
Jun 9, 2013

Was expecting more

Room and location were ok, breakfast buffet (15 euros) very good. Staff was not particularly friendly or flexible. I needed an emergency toothbrush kit (standard stuff in most hotels), and was charged a small fee for that. No big deal but a bit annoying. Could not get an ironing board in the room, was told to use the "ironing room" on my floor, where the setup allowed no more than 4 inches of movement of the iron (security cable and short power cord). Impossible to iron my shirts; I guess they want you to use their laundry service. All in all just average, and some annoying items. There are plenty of better hotels in the area for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miroo
Business
Huntington Beach CA
Dec 7, 2013

Customer service suck..

Normal..nothing extra..samo samo..nothing really new..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW JERSEY
Aug 29, 2009

O.K. BUT

THEY CHARGED EXTRA FOR A SHUTTEL TO THE AIRPORT BEFORE 0600AM - WE TOOK ONE AT 0500 AM ALSO CHARGED US AND EXTRA 15 EURO FOR CHECKING IN EARLY . EVEN THOUGH WE SAW PLENTY OF EMPTY ROOMS AS WE WHERE WALKING THRU THE HALLS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cuauhtemoc
Business
Mexico City
Oct 1, 2009

Nice room, better than in Amsterdam

Been there two times. Big room, plasma TV, big bathroom, two kingsize beds, balcony. The room was very far from the lobby, I had to take two elevators and walk a lot. You can't hear the noise from the nearby airport (10 minutes away), but some of the people in the hotel was making a lot of noise, and the hotel security wasn't very helpful (they took a lot to came, the guest were still making noise in the hallway and in their room). You have to carry your own luggage into the shuttle bus to/from the airport, the driver won't help you. The rooms in Amsterdam can be smaller and more expensive. This hotel it's only 20 minutes from Amsterdam, cheaper, and close to the airport. I would recommend it if you're only staying in Amsterdam for a couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The nearby airport has a lot of shops, stores and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top