$74 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Rijksweg A4, nr.3, Amsterdam, 2132 MA
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
114 reviews
great stay

Very nice just to busy to could enjoy hotel to its full, did not even got time to use the spa just... See full review

  • madalise
  • Sep 6, 2014
Excellent gataway

My experience at this hotel was fantastic, couldnt have asked for a better hotel for my trip to... See full review

  • Extremely happy guest
  • Jul 24, 2014
Located centrally, within a stone's throw of Schiphol and close by the centre of Amsterdam, you will find with us luxury, comfort and hospitality. Thanks to its ideal location, the hotel is easily accessible by car, public transport or the free shuttle service. The hotel has an abundance of parking options that you, as our guest, may use at no charge during your stay with us. Our friendly employees, the spacious, luxurious rooms and suites and the many amenities including free WIFI make you feel at home immediately. Baby cots available at 7,50 euro per night.

Hotel Map

52.2591 4.6875
Area served
Hoofddorp.
Nearby airports
Schiphol Airport - 0.3 km.
Area description
The hotel Schiphol A4 is situated to the east of motorway A4, which is within a 5-minute drive from the Schiphol airport, 10 minutes from Amsterdam and 20 minutes from The Hague.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Double / Twin
This room offers two single beds or one double bed. All standard rooms have a terrace or balcony with a seat. The rooms are equipped with a spacious bathroom with a bathtub, a separate shower, toilet and washbasin. The rooms are well laid out and have large twin beds, a desk and sitting area. There are enough non-smoking rooms available, please indicate your preference in the booking form. Every room has a safe, color television with remote and a telephone. You can use free WIFI in your room as well, using your own laptop. Apart form this the room offers air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, laundry services, modem/data port connection, pay TV, room service and voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Amsterdam Wood: 7.1 mi
  • Osdorp: 8.3 mi
  • Frans Hals Museum: 8.4 mi
  • Slotervaart: 8.9 mi
  • VU University Amsterdam: 9.1 mi
  • Olympic Experience: 9.1 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Rietveld School of Art & Design: 9.3 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 9.5 mi
  • World Trade Center: 9.5 mi
  • Amsterdam Zuid Railway Station: 9.6 mi
  • OCCII: 9.7 mi
  • Beethovenstraat: 9.9 mi
  • Amstelpark: 10 mi
  • Geuzenveld-Slotermeer: 10 mi
  • Amsterdam Wood: 7.1 mi
  • Osdorp: 8.3 mi
  • Frans Hals Museum: 8.4 mi
  • Slotervaart: 8.9 mi
  • VU University Amsterdam: 9.1 mi
  • Olympic Experience: 9.1 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Rietveld School of Art & Design: 9.3 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 9.5 mi
  • World Trade Center: 9.5 mi
  • Amsterdam Zuid Railway Station: 9.6 mi
  • OCCII: 9.7 mi
  • Beethovenstraat: 9.9 mi
  • Amstelpark: 10 mi
  • Geuzenveld-Slotermeer: 10 mi
  • Beatrixpark: 10.1 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 10.3 mi
  • OT301: 10.3 mi
  • Orgelpark: 10.4 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 10.4 mi
  • Pauw: 10.4 mi
  • Concert Building: 10.5 mi
  • Public Library: 10.5 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 10.6 mi
  • Oud-West: 10.6 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 10.6 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 10.6 mi
  • Bos en Lommer: 10.7 mi
  • Zuideramstel: 10.7 mi
  • Museumplein: 10.7 mi
  • House of Bols: 10.7 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 10.7 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 10.8 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 10.8 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 10.9 mi
  • Paradiso: 10.9 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 11 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 11 mi
  • Melkweg: 11 mi
  • Sarphatipark: 11 mi
  • Albert Cuyp Marktet: 11 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 11 mi
  • Leidse Square: 11 mi
  • Sloterdijk and Harbour: 11 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 11.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Schiphol A4 is the perfect location for holding business gatherings such as meetings, multiple-day conferences, seminars, trainings, product presentations or fairs. The 22 elegant and inspiring halls with a capacity to accommodate up to 1500 guests are characterised by the very light and roomy interior. Comfortable chairs, air-conditioning and modern technical facilities ensure that you get the most out of your meeting. The daily culinary delights serve up the finishing touch. At Hotel Schiphol A4 meetings with added value are par for the course. We can provide everything from just the hall to assisting you in planning, arranging and implementing a hassle-free event of your choice to allow you the opportunity to focus on your meeting.

Dining

Royal bar
Would you like to take a moment to shake off the fatigue of the day or mingle and talk in a casual setting? The allure of the open fireplace and the comfortable armchairs in the Royal Bar offer just that for a pleasant get-together. The Royal Bar is open daily from 4 PM to 1 AM. The Royal Bar is also suitable for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries or after-meeting drinks. Inquire about the possibilities for a closed meeting.
Sunday brunch
Sundays are reserved for the very appetising and elaborate family brunches served between 12 and 3 PM by the culinary team of Hotel Schiphol A4. You are welcomed with a sparkling aperitif after which you can enjoy the delicacies on the elaborate buffet. To keep the little ones happy, we offer a separate buffet with French fries, snacks and silver dollar pancakes. The inflatable castle will have the kids jumping of joy! Adults: EUR 23,50 and Children of 3 - 11 years: EUR 15,00.
Internet cafe
For the convenience of our guests Hotel Schiphol A4 offers its own Internet caf with state-of-the-art flatscreen computers. If you are travelling with your laptop, you can simply hook it up to the free wireless Internet connection that is available throughout the hotel, in the rooms as well as in the public areas. Cards for access to the wireless network can be obtained at the reception desk so that you can work comfortably from anywhere in the hotel.
Restaurant
The appealing restaurant of Hotel Schiphol A4 boasts an excellent and elaborate breakfast buffet that is served early in the morning from 5 AM. Delicious lunch dishes can be enjoyed from noon onwards and the kitchen is open for dinner until 11 PM. Aside from traditional French dishes, the menu also offers amazing Italian, South American and Oriental specials, to name a few. Our chef uses fresh produce to create tasty dishes. The wine list offers a surprisingly large range of choice wines at attractive prices. Enjoy our sunny outdoor cafe in the fair-weather months of the summer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nanny mcphee
cambridge england
Sep 1, 2013

wonderful hotel, shame its a long way from Amsterdam Central

a very comfortable friendly hotel, polite and helpful staff, room very comfy and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

take the train

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
May 30, 2011

bad hotel

this hotel is marked as 4 star but in my standard compared with hotels in US it can only count as 1 star. the room is big but everything is old. only 10 TV channels. they charge very high for wifi and breakfast is not included. My frinds were staying in Dorint hotel which is much more in style and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel1011984
Business
Austin, Texas
Aug 22, 2014

Terrible service

They claim to have a "FREE" shuttle service but that only applies if its during certain times otherwise its 20 Euros. When confronting the Hotel Manager they said it says it on their website. I told the manager I didn't book on "their" website I booked on travel site and makes no mention of that! After I gave them a credit card and paid for the 20 euros, the next morning they collected another 20 euros from one of my non english speaking friends saying they wouldn't let him on the bus to the airport unless he paid. So he paid. I had to go back down to the front desk and force them to give me one or the other back. It was like pulling teeth. I do NOT recommend this hotel to anyone due to the arrogance of the staff! All the staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marina the traveler
Business
Amsterdam
Aug 13, 2014

Old and Uncomfortable.

Not good at all. I was expecting something better. The hotel is old and needs remodeling. Fortunately, I only stayed overnight to catch a plane early in the morning. I saw a small spider in the bathroom and did not take a shower. I was tired and just went to bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nibrs
Business
Maine
Sep 14, 2011

Bureaucratic

I am disabled and travel with a wheelchair. I called from the airport to get the shuttle and was told it was leaving in 2 minutes. I was about 3 minutes from the curb and I asked them to call and hold it for me. They wouldn't. They made a fuss about trying to find me an appropriate room since I had not told them ahead of time that I would have a special need. The first room they offered me was miles from the elevator and had an inaccessible bathroom. They charged me an extra 50 Euros to check me in at 12:30 instead of 2 PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ohutourist
PA
Aug 26, 2009

Four stars? please...

It's a hotel that could be compared with, say, your basic Best Western. It's not at the airport, so you will either have to take the shuttle (runs every 40 minutes and not after midnight or before 6 AM - hello, people with early flights!) or a cab. Beds are rather basic, bathroom facilities clearly designed by someone who doesn't like tall people and the towels are see-through (I had to ask for a new set, because the original had some suspicious stains on them), wi-fi is pay-as-you-go (not cheap either). In general - what would be a decent deal for a real four star hotel felt like a rip-off here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
betanzos, Spain
Apr 17, 2011

Luxury without BASIC services

Shuttle bus serviles are quite insuficient, both for airplain schedule and for taking the treins to Amsterdam. Internet connection is not free and very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 10, 2011

Bad Experience

This was a lay over for the night to catch a flight back to the US the next morning. When getting off the bus that brought us to the hotel I fell getting off the bus. My leg gave out on me and I had NO help from anyone at the hotel. They did not check on me to see if I was ok. Since I have been back I found out I have a torn meniscus and also a cracked bone in my knee that gave out on me. No one from the hotel contacted me or came to see if I was ok after my fall off the bus. Also the hoel charges for everything. You have to buy time to access the internet and also your cell phone will not work. Just a bad experience during the whole stay. If you want to eat you need to go across the parking lot to the KFC or other eating places. DO NOT eat at the hotel it is to expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to eat across from the hotel. Do not order in or eat in their dining facility. There is a KFC and I believe a McDonalds also as well as a couple other places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LovedAmsterdam
Plymouth,UK
Aug 16, 2014

Really Nice Hotel - marred by small niggles.

Very nice hotel. Enjoyment spoilt by self-closing room doors. If left to close unrestrained then they SLAM noisily. Guess what - most guests and room service staff DON'T think about this - result - loud slamming noises, no matter whether the thoughtless person is on your floor or not. VERY disturbing - especially at night. Marred my enjoyment of what is a very nice hotel. Also - mould stains in my bathroom - made it feel like a 2 star room in a 4 star hotel. Slightly remote location - if you are on a holiday with no transport - bear in mind that, whilst there is a free shuttle bus to Amsterdam Airport, the quickest way to then get into Amsterdam itself is by catching a train from the airport to Amsterdam Centraal Station - 16.50 euros return for two people. Expensive, and also time consuming if the train and shuttlebus times don't exactly coincide. Oh - and YOU CAN'T BUY A COFFEE IN THE HOTEL from the time the hotel breakfast finishes until the hotel bar opens in the evening! There is a vending machine - which was out of order. The member of staff I asked about this seemed shocked at my disappointment about being unable to get a coffee in a four star hotel between certain times! As I said - the hotel itself (the communal areas anyway) is extremely nice. My ten day stay was marred by the issues I have mentioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are travelling from the airport to Amsterdam Centraal on the trains, make sure you buy a RETURN single use ticket at the yellow machines in the station - one way tickets to get there and back cost two people 18 Euros - return tickets reduce the price to 16.50 Euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ForestChild
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jun 20, 2012

It's ok

We stayed there for 3 nights. We came to visit Amsterdam, and the idea was to be catching the shuttle to the Airport and then the train to the Central station in the morning, and do the opposite in the evening. The plan basically worked, but there are a couple of thing to keep in mind: - The shuttle goes on 40 minute intervals, which is quite long. We missed out on one and had to wait for the next one. - The ride on the shuttle is actually quite long. 10-15 minutes, surely not 5 like advertised on the hotel's website. - The train from the airport costs about 8 euro roundtrip and also takes good 20 minutes. - The last shuttle from the airport departs at 23:40, which for some may be too early, and it does not align well with the train schedule. The room was big, but quite worn out with a smell I could not categorize (it wasn't the "old carpet" smell, something much sharper, but you don't notice it after a few minutes). The breakfast is quite good, but costs 15 euro. In the end, I saved money on this hotel, but you should count twice - the time you spend getting to the city and the breakfast and the train add to the daily expense..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Schiphol A4 Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flying Dutchman
Business
San Jose, California
Jun 9, 2013

Was expecting more

Room and location were ok, breakfast buffet (15 euros) very good. Staff was not particularly friendly or flexible. I needed an emergency toothbrush kit (standard stuff in most hotels), and was charged a small fee for that. No big deal but a bit annoying. Could not get an ironing board in the room, was told to use the "ironing room" on my floor, where the setup allowed no more than 4 inches of movement of the iron (security cable and short power cord). Impossible to iron my shirts; I guess they want you to use their laundry service. All in all just average, and some annoying items. There are plenty of better hotels in the area for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search