$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
Kattengat 1, KATTENGAT 1, Amsterdam, 1012 SZ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
46 reviews
Fantastic Birthday weekend

We had an absolutely lovely time in Amsterdam. The hotel is only a short walk to Central Station... See full review

  • jaxhomemaker
  • Mar 12, 2014
Our short stay

The room and staff were great. We did not eat at hotel so can not comment. So many place to visit... See full review

  • HEy1
  • Jul 18, 2013
Discover 5-star splendor only steps from Amsterdam Central Station
The five-star Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offers guests an experience in style and luxury wrapped in a package of historic elegance. From the plush guest rooms, extensive business amenities and recreational fitness options to the world-class café, lounge bar and Mediterranean restaurant, the Renaissance Amsterdam presents an experience in comfort and elegance matched by the ultra-convenience of its locale. Renaissance Amsterdam guests are steps from the city's Central Station and a short walk or bike ride from premier art and cultural attractions.
Highlights
  • Excellent selection of dining and bar venues
  • Steps from Central Station and a short walk from multiple Amsterdam attractions
  • Luxury services combined with convenient locale
Rooms

Each of the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel's 396 sleek, contemporary guest rooms is appointed in blends of turquoise and warm espresso tones. Guest rooms come furnished with king, queen or two twin beds and all provide Wi-Fi access (fees apply) along with signature Renaissance Bedding. Media amenities include 20-inch HDTVs with international satellite channels and On Demand entertainment.

 

Club level Rooms offer access to the Club Lounge, the perfect spot to relax with complimentary beverages and snacks. Lounge access is exclusive to the club level guest rooms, superior guest rooms as well as the junior and royal suites. Junior suites and royal suites offer separate living and bedroom quarters, with flat-screen HDTVs in each room along with spacious sitting and work areas.

Features

The Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offers three premium dining and lounge options: The Scossa Restaurant, serving delectable Mediterranean delights, the street-side KoepelcafÃ, designed as an authentic Amsterdam coffee house and Lounge Bar 2B, the ideal hotspot to sip cocktails while unwinding with colleagues and friends. The in-house Splash fitness center offers 24-hour access to a state-of-the-art workout, while the indulgent Turkish bath is the ideal choice for powering down at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11.5 mi/20 km)
Attractions
  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Dam Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Blue Boat Company (canal tours) (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center
  • 16 meeting and event rooms
  • 16,100 square feet of meeting space at the adjacent, refurbished 17th-century Koepelkerk
  • Secretarial and translation service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • The narrowest house: 0 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.4 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.4 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.5 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.5 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.5 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.5 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.5 mi
  • The World Peace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.5 mi
  • EYE Film Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Moooi: 0.5 mi
  • East India House: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria d'arte Rinascimento: 0.5 mi

Dining

Scossa
Seducing with delectable choices, our Italian restaurant in Amsterdam, Scossa, is open for breakfast and offers options for group lunches or dinners upon request
Koepelcafé
"Relax in this street-side bar in original Amsterdam brown café style. Serving drinks and food all day, this unique café welcomes you to discover indigenous zips & bites for lunch and dinner.
2B Lounge & Bar
Relax, socialize, meet & greet in our stylish 2B Lounge Bar with cool vibes and chilled music, serving finger style food, MED dips and a large range of amazing cocktails. This energizing bar in Amsterdam also serves lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Jun 29, 2009

Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Great location and very clean. Great amenities and helpful staff for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mshew
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 22, 2009

Fantastic Amsterdam Hotel

I loved the location and the decor. The staff is excellent. Just a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in the center of Amsterdam worth seeing is within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Sep 5, 2010

Perfect

Perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 2, 2010

Really nice hotel

We stayed two nights at the renaissance after a 12 day cruise and were pretty spent. Check in isnt untill 3pm but they gave us our room at 9am. We only had two days to see a list of sighths I had written down. Our concierge set us up with a tour that covered all the sights outside the city. Then he built us a map to get to all the sights within the city. He also got our tickets online to the Anne Frank Haus and the Van Gogh Museum so we could avoid the gigantic lines. The hotel is three blocks from Central Station. A perfect distance from the Red Light Disrict, where as you can walk there easily but no noise carries to rooms, and we were there on a soccer weekend. There are dozens of restaurants within a three block radius. I found Amsterdam to be a really cool city and am already planning to return. Unless a fantastic deal comes up on an alternate property, Thr Renaissance is where I will stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago illinois
Aug 10, 2009

Great Hotel .excellant location

excellant location-took train from airport to central station about 4 euros each 20 min ride ,walked from central station to hotel very close, center to all tourist information-shops resturants, trams , if your hotel is further the trams (electric buses) end up at central station which take you to anywhere in the city,very cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many resturants near hotel - specials 10 euros-and up the further you go out of central station area you get better prices but not much- breakfast is usually 6-7 euros and up- lunch ,dinner most places is 10,15,20 euros ,pizza slices around 4 euros,can coke 2 euros, phone calls found internet cafe with phone very cheap to call home for a few min, about 1 -2 euros --

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saratoga Springs, NY
Jul 4, 2011

Lovely Hotel/Great Location

Hotel is lovely, staff was helpful. I will say that the internet is very expensive. Suggest buying the internet cards to use in the business area. Right behind hotel is grocery store to purchase breakfast items, snacks, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
May 14, 2009

Great hotel and good access

I was in the Netherlands for work. I have not been to Amsterdam, so I wanted to take avantage of being there and see as much as I could in one evening. I picked the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel because of it's location - it is literally a 5 minute walk after getting off at the Amsterdam Central train station. Amsterdam is not that big, so the hotel location is really accessable to everything. The look of the lobby of the hotel is great - clean and modern. The rooms are also very nice. The room is spacious and also very modern. For some reason, I wasn't able to dail a local Netherlands phone number for my dailing card access to the US. I went to the lobby to look for a public phone. The concierge literally offerred for me to use his phone. Very nice guy. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top