$192 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Kattengat 1, KATTENGAT 1, Amsterdam, 1012 SZ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baptiste
Business
Lausanne CH
Apr 6, 2013

A weekend trip

Our stay at Renaissance was good. The staff are extremely nice and friendly. The service that they provide compensates all the little disadvantages that the hotel has. Internet 7 euro for 24 hrs - its a rip off. As well as 7.50 for an orange juice in the bar(not even fresh one!!!). Otherwise, the location, breakfast and room service were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
friendly friend
Business
london
May 14, 2013

6 friends on holiday

we had booked three rooms , we were given one room on time and were told that other two rooms will be ready by 30clock, and hey would give us a ring when they were available and all three rooms would be on the same floor. Not only they didnt have the rooms ready at 8 0clock in rthe evening but also all the rooms were on differnt floors. when questioned they said it was a training issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

tulip fields

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 9, 2009

Spacious and decent for the location.

Hotel is one of the better ones in Amsterdam. Clean, new and nice furniture/beds/sheets. Nicely decorated. Our room was on the bottom floor facing a loud street and was too noisy. The price seemed resonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Ask for a quiet room.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 10, 2010

Great location

We picked this location for our three night stay based on its proximity to the Jordaan. Knowing that the West Bank and the Jordaan offer the layed back experience we were looking for, the Renaissance offered a reliable hotel chain with a great location. Just a moments walk for a couple of blocks, you are at the hotel and checking in before your bags become annoying on cobble stone streets for the central station. Arriving around 12:30, our room was not available so we checked our luggage and wanted for a call from the hotel to tell us our room was available. In the meantime, we were able to see the nearby Anne Frank museum and fetch lunch. For the rest of our stay, we were able to easily visit the Dam Square area, Nine Streets, and dozens of neighborhood brown cafes and restaurants. As easy as it was to find the hotel on arrival, it was easy to visit the flee market just a few blocks away on Monday morning before return to the train station our the airport for our return home. A perfect relaxing and cultural weekend in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Nine Streets are just a few blocks away and offer great shopping, drinking and dining. Additionally, you have easy access to floor markets and a neighborhood flee market on Saturdays and Mondays.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bambimoon
Business
San Jose, CA
May 25, 2011

Wonderful and great location too!

Hotel is very nice, clean and super friendly. Loved our room- more like an american hotel room size than europe which is nice. Many english TV channels and great club room with beer and breakfast every morning and afternoon. The location is perfect for all attractions and the hotel staff is helpful. You can buy tickets for most attractions in the lobby. We have stayed at this hotel twice and had a great stay both times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy tickets to attractions in the lobby to avoid queues.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 30, 2009

Centrally, well located hotel.

Centrally well located hotel, close enough to the Main (Central) Train Station to make it conveniently accessible and far enough away from it to make it peaceful and relaxing. Well appointed rooms with very comfortable beds and ammenities such as high speed internet and flat screen tv/monitor (with a wireless keyboard). Unfortunately, these come with a price that start affecting the otherwise great rate that Orbitz got for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Before you choose to eat at a seemingly convenient restaurant near the Hotel and regardsless how far you may need to go, make sure you ask the concierge for his dining location recommendations in order to avoid disappointment (taste, presentation and/or price wise)

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hicksville, NY USA
Jul 27, 2010

EXCELLENT HOTEL IN PERFECT LOCATION

Would like more "what's going on this week in Amsterdam" kind of material available in lobby - booklets, better local map from check-in counter - Also - "too narrow" bath tubs need more handles, mat maybe, felt insecure bathing - Very pleased with all hotel employees -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
double rainbow
Business
belmont ma
Oct 20, 2010

loved nthe location an accomodations

fabulous location, very nice accomodations. we 3 had a king bed and pullout couch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

right in the middle of central station. just a few yards to coffee shops, nice restaurants, canal boats, bike rentals, red light district. i've been 3 times to amsterdam and this is my favorite spot with all the amenities.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frellis
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Great business hotel in central location

The hotel was in an excellent location within walking distance to Amsterdam Centraal station. The rooms were clean and if you get a room with a king-sized bed, fairly spacious. However, internet is expensive and there is no water kettle in the room (meaning no free tea or coffee). We opted to eat out for all of our meals as our stay didn't include breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, USA
Apr 26, 2011

Great but expensive internet access

Everything is great about this hotel - great location, nice service and people, clean and comfort room and bedding. however, there is no WiFi signal in the room, internet access is expensive, eg. 7 Euro/hour from room. The free internet is only available in the lobby. There is free/weak WiFi signal in the lobby and four computers with limited free access time in the lobby. It is a bit disappointing not having free WiFi for such a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top