$250 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
Kattengat 1, KATTENGAT 1, Amsterdam, 1012 SZ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
46 reviews
Fantastic Birthday weekend

We had an absolutely lovely time in Amsterdam. The hotel is only a short walk to Central Station... See full review

  • jaxhomemaker
  • Mar 12, 2014
Our short stay

The room and staff were great. We did not eat at hotel so can not comment. So many place to visit... See full review

  • HEy1
  • Jul 18, 2013
Discover 5-star splendor only steps from Amsterdam Central Station
The five-star Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offers guests an experience in style and luxury wrapped in a package of historic elegance. From the plush guest rooms, extensive business amenities and recreational fitness options to the world-class café, lounge bar and Mediterranean restaurant, the Renaissance Amsterdam presents an experience in comfort and elegance matched by the ultra-convenience of its locale. Renaissance Amsterdam guests are steps from the city's Central Station and a short walk or bike ride from premier art and cultural attractions.
Highlights
  • Excellent selection of dining and bar venues
  • Steps from Central Station and a short walk from multiple Amsterdam attractions
  • Luxury services combined with convenient locale
Rooms

Each of the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel's 396 sleek, contemporary guest rooms is appointed in blends of turquoise and warm espresso tones. Guest rooms come furnished with king, queen or two twin beds and all provide Wi-Fi access (fees apply) along with signature Renaissance Bedding. Media amenities include 20-inch HDTVs with international satellite channels and On Demand entertainment.

 

Club level Rooms offer access to the Club Lounge, the perfect spot to relax with complimentary beverages and snacks. Lounge access is exclusive to the club level guest rooms, superior guest rooms as well as the junior and royal suites. Junior suites and royal suites offer separate living and bedroom quarters, with flat-screen HDTVs in each room along with spacious sitting and work areas.

Features

The Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offers three premium dining and lounge options: The Scossa Restaurant, serving delectable Mediterranean delights, the street-side KoepelcafÃ, designed as an authentic Amsterdam coffee house and Lounge Bar 2B, the ideal hotspot to sip cocktails while unwinding with colleagues and friends. The in-house Splash fitness center offers 24-hour access to a state-of-the-art workout, while the indulgent Turkish bath is the ideal choice for powering down at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11.5 mi/20 km)
Attractions
  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Dam Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Blue Boat Company (canal tours) (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center
  • 16 meeting and event rooms
  • 16,100 square feet of meeting space at the adjacent, refurbished 17th-century Koepelkerk
  • Secretarial and translation service

Hotel Map

52.3781 4.8942
Area served
Located within city center
Nearby airports
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, (AMS), 18.00, KM, NE; Eindhoven Airport, (EIN), 76.20, KM, SE; Rotterdam The Hague Airport, (RTM), 44.00, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • The narrowest house: 0 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.4 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.4 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.5 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.5 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.5 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.5 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.5 mi
  • The World Peace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.5 mi
  • EYE Film Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Moooi: 0.5 mi
  • East India House: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria d'arte Rinascimento: 0.5 mi

Dining

Scossa
Seducing with delectable choices, our Italian restaurant in Amsterdam, Scossa, is open for breakfast and offers options for group lunches or dinners upon request
Koepelcafé
"Relax in this street-side bar in original Amsterdam brown café style. Serving drinks and food all day, this unique café welcomes you to discover indigenous zips & bites for lunch and dinner.
2B Lounge & Bar
Relax, socialize, meet & greet in our stylish 2B Lounge Bar with cool vibes and chilled music, serving finger style food, MED dips and a large range of amazing cocktails. This energizing bar in Amsterdam also serves lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Atlanta Traveller
Atlanta, GA
Aug 29, 2012

Perfect location and accomodations

Excellent location - less than 3 blocks from train station and in heart of city. We had one room with a king bed and the other with 2 doubles. Rooms were good size, baths were very adequate with wash clothes and hair dryers and ther was a large flat screen TV. Comparable to nice hotel in large US city. Conceige services were very helpful. Since we are rewards member we had free internet plus access to member lounge with free drinks and breakfast as well. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Leo Pires
Zürich, Switzerland
Feb 12, 2013

Very bad services

Very bad service, incopetent receptionist, no smile, cold room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 9, 2007

My review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Definitely paying for location but for the price of the hotel, they will charge extra for every little thing. For a hotel of this calibur, I would expect just a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many fine restuarants and bars. Very close to the heart of everything. Really good shopping around the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Tess
Chappaqua, NY
Sep 3, 2012

Incompetent staff

Staff was incompetent - "complimentary" breakfast may cost you 25 euro per person. We were told by three employees including one at official hotel information desk, where to go for complimentary breakfast, than we were charged 25 euro per person. Charges were finally dropped at the checkout after we dispute them. It was not easy we were told there was no manager and that nothing could be done. Staff at the hospitality lounge were almost hostile making you feel guilty if you take one peanut to many. Fitness room was equipped rather poorly and view from it was at the back ally behind the hotel, where people were smoking crack and doing other things - all in proximity of (25 yards ) from main entrance with attendants on duty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Staff is incompetent "complimentary" breakfast may cost you 25 euro per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Jul 26, 2010

Average for its price

Will definately try other hotels in area, the breakfast is overpriced therefore recommended to walk around to nearby bakery or cafes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants everywhere, but its very touristy and therefore, quality may not be as good, unless your willing to up your budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desmond
Earth, TX 79031, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Nice

Really nice. Easy to get to from central station in Amsterdam. The bed was so comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Amsterdam is wild

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 10, 2010

Great location

We picked this location for our three night stay based on its proximity to the Jordaan. Knowing that the West Bank and the Jordaan offer the layed back experience we were looking for, the Renaissance offered a reliable hotel chain with a great location. Just a moments walk for a couple of blocks, you are at the hotel and checking in before your bags become annoying on cobble stone streets for the central station. Arriving around 12:30, our room was not available so we checked our luggage and wanted for a call from the hotel to tell us our room was available. In the meantime, we were able to see the nearby Anne Frank museum and fetch lunch. For the rest of our stay, we were able to easily visit the Dam Square area, Nine Streets, and dozens of neighborhood brown cafes and restaurants. As easy as it was to find the hotel on arrival, it was easy to visit the flee market just a few blocks away on Monday morning before return to the train station our the airport for our return home. A perfect relaxing and cultural weekend in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Nine Streets are just a few blocks away and offer great shopping, drinking and dining. Additionally, you have easy access to floor markets and a neighborhood flee market on Saturdays and Mondays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bambimoon
San Jose, CA
May 25, 2011

Wonderful and great location too!

Hotel is very nice, clean and super friendly. Loved our room- more like an american hotel room size than europe which is nice. Many english TV channels and great club room with beer and breakfast every morning and afternoon. The location is perfect for all attractions and the hotel staff is helpful. You can buy tickets for most attractions in the lobby. We have stayed at this hotel twice and had a great stay both times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy tickets to attractions in the lobby to avoid queues.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WellMeaningContributor
Business
DC, USA
Oct 9, 2012

Convenient location, friendly staff

This was my second stay at this hotel in the last seven-week period, arriving early morning both times. The first time, they let me check in early, but this time, they did not - an inconvenience i did not expect. However, they did call my cell phone when a room was ready. Although the staff at the concierge desk was friendly, when answering questions or giving directions, some of them assumed too much about the "dumb tourist's" ability to follow their quick directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a vegetarian dinner, I tried the Gandhi restaurant. I was happy with my choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
friendly friend
london
May 14, 2013

6 friends on holiday

we had booked three rooms , we were given one room on time and were told that other two rooms will be ready by 30clock, and hey would give us a ring when they were available and all three rooms would be on the same floor. Not only they didnt have the rooms ready at 8 0clock in rthe evening but also all the rooms were on differnt floors. when questioned they said it was a training issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

tulip fields

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Woody
Peterborough
Jul 13, 2011

Acceptable standard of hotel but not 5 *

Good clean hotel but advertised as a five star which it clearly is not ! Staff were friendly and helpful Noise from the next room could have been irritating and should have been better insulated. It was mainly due to the interconnecting door not been properly sound-proofed. The bar area was fine but seemed empty most of the time and perhaps lacked a warm inviting atmosphere. Overall quite good and anyone visiting would be reasonably pleased but not exceptional It was located within striking distance of most things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you go to the Anne Frank museum arrive at about 8:30. There will already be others queuing but nothing compared to what happens later when the queues flow around the block!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search