$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Kattengat 1, KATTENGAT 1, Amsterdam, 1012 SZ

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
51 reviews
Perfect quick stop!

Wicked location! Next to Central station and damrak! See full review

  • King zak taz
  • Dec 21, 2014
Fantastic Birthday weekend

We had an absolutely lovely time in Amsterdam. The hotel is only a short walk to Central Station... See full review

  • jaxhomemaker
  • Mar 12, 2014
  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Dam Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Blue Boat Company (canal tours) (2.5 mi/4 km)
General

The Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offers three premium dining and lounge options: The Scossa Restaurant, serving delectable Mediterranean delights, the street-side KoepelcafÃ, designed as an authentic Amsterdam coffee house and Lounge Bar 2B, the ideal hotspot to sip cocktails while unwinding with colleagues and friends. The in-house Splash fitness center offers 24-hour access to a state-of-the-art workout, while the indulgent Turkish bath is the ideal choice for powering down at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel.

Location
The five-star Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offers guests an experience in style and luxury wrapped in a package of historic elegance. From the plush guest rooms, extensive business amenities and recreational fitness options to the world-class café, lounge bar and Mediterranean restaurant, the Renaissance Amsterdam presents an experience in comfort and elegance matched by the ultra-convenience of its locale. Renaissance Amsterdam guests are steps from the city's Central Station and a short walk or bike ride from premier art and cultural attractions.
Dining
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11.5 mi/20 km)
Rooms

Each of the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel's 396 sleek, contemporary guest rooms is appointed in blends of turquoise and warm espresso tones. Guest rooms come furnished with king, queen or two twin beds and all provide Wi-Fi access (fees apply) along with signature Renaissance Bedding. Media amenities include 20-inch HDTVs with international satellite channels and On Demand entertainment.

 

Club level Rooms offer access to the Club Lounge, the perfect spot to relax with complimentary beverages and snacks. Lounge access is exclusive to the club level guest rooms, superior guest rooms as well as the junior and royal suites. Junior suites and royal suites offer separate living and bedroom quarters, with flat-screen HDTVs in each room along with spacious sitting and work areas.

Property features

The Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offers three premium dining and lounge options: The Scossa Restaurant, serving delectable Mediterranean delights, the street-side KoepelcafÃ, designed as an authentic Amsterdam coffee house and Lounge Bar 2B, the ideal hotspot to sip cocktails while unwinding with colleagues and friends. The in-house Splash fitness center offers 24-hour access to a state-of-the-art workout, while the indulgent Turkish bath is the ideal choice for powering down at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel.

Highlights
  • Excellent selection of dining and bar venues
  • Steps from Central Station and a short walk from multiple Amsterdam attractions
  • Luxury services combined with convenient locale
Nearby attractions
  • Excellent selection of dining and bar venues
  • Steps from Central Station and a short walk from multiple Amsterdam attractions
  • Luxury services combined with convenient locale
Business
  • Full-service business center
  • 16 meeting and event rooms
  • 16,100 square feet of meeting space at the adjacent, refurbished 17th-century Koepelkerk
  • Secretarial and translation service
Transportation

Historic elegance and lavish comfort near Amsterdam train station

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • The narrowest house: 0 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.4 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.4 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.5 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.5 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.5 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.5 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.5 mi
  • The World Peace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.5 mi
  • EYE Film Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Moooi: 0.5 mi
  • East India House: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria d'arte Rinascimento: 0.5 mi

Dining

Scossa
Seducing with delectable choices, our Italian restaurant in Amsterdam, Scossa, is open for breakfast and offers options for group lunches or dinners upon request
Koepelcafé
"Relax in this street-side bar in original Amsterdam café style. Serving drinks and food all day, this unique café welcomes you to discover indigenous sips & bites for lunch and dinner.
2B Lounge & Bar
Relax, socialize, meet & greet in our stylish 2B Lounge Bar with cool vibes and chilled music, serving finger style food, MED dips and a large range of amazing cocktails. This energizing bar in Amsterdam also serves lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 51
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Brother
Business
Austin, Texas
Dec 4, 2014

Great in Historic Amsterdam

Easy access to Transportation, can walk to many locations, hotel is nice and peaceful, restaurant is very good. Staff was very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jaxhomemaker
Business
Edinburgh
Mar 12, 2014

Fantastic Birthday weekend

We had an absolutely lovely time in Amsterdam. The hotel is only a short walk to Central Station and Damrak. The staff are welcoming, very friendly and most helpful. The hotel whilst central is quiet and the surrounding streets were very clean. We would recommend this hotel and will certainly return on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine on the canal of an evening the food was exceptionally good.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HEy1
Business
Nairn, Scotland
Jul 18, 2013

Our short stay

The room and staff were great. We did not eat at hotel so can not comment. So many place to visit and hotel was in the right spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take your map.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bilbo1674
Business
Dorset, UK
Jun 12, 2013

Good Central Location

Ideal location, within walking distance of central train station for quick and easy transfers to & from the airport. Efficient and speedy check-in, though our Receptionist could have been a little more welcoming and more informative. Porter was very friendly and helpful, storing our bags until our room was ready (we arrived at 10:00) and they did offer to call us on the mob if our room became available before the normal check-in time of 15:00 - we received no call! This did not bother us as we made full use of the time for sighseeiing. Due to comments on other reviews we had booked a Club room, requesting a high floor with good views. The room was spacious, usual Marriott quality, with good beds and bathroom facilities, though due to the bad location of the shower rail, the curtain failed to prevent water spilling onto the floor at the tap end. Hairdryer, bathrobes, flannels and toiletries provided, together with tea and coffee making facilities, something which is often missing in a European hotel. Don't expect a canal view...I think few rooms have such a view, partly due to the hotel's location but we had a nice view of the church and as we were out all day it did not bother us. Some rooms (not sure if club or not) do overlook an ugly inner courtyard - definitely worth avoiding! Club rooms offer use of the Club Lounge for breakfast and complementary hot and cold drinks, together with TVs and internet which is great for escaping the usual organised chaos and hustle and bustle that prevails in the main breakfast restaurant. However no-one had pre-warned us that breakfast was served in the main restaurant at the weekends. Apart from the noise and chaos, we did benefit from access to the whole choice of hot and cold dishes (even though we had only prepaid for continental breakfast!) - and we had the head waitress' approval! On the Monday back in the Club Lounge, we discovered that there is hot food on offer - scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages but the selection is scaled down on both hot and cold dishes compared to the main restaurant which is a shame - we were happy to have had continental in the Club Lounge but there was no smoked salmon and cream cheese as before and the fruit selection was poor given the rating of the hotel - melon or pineapple - there were apples and oranges but you had to chop them up yourself - most hotels of this calibre normally have a substantial, varied fruit salad including red fruits and berries etc all prepared for their guests - so disappointing. Overall a pleasant hotel in a central location, although a little soul-less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Haarlemmerstraat nearby - do not be put off by a few "Coffee Shops" - some great shops and restaurants - including LOF - not cheap but great food - set menu - a choice of approx. 3 dishes per course - popular with the Dutch Also "GREENWOODS" - along the canal from the hotel at Singel 103 - fab breakfasts, lunches and afternoon tea - brilliant scones and the best carrot cake ever! (again, packed with locals!) The Jordaan area is great for boutiques, shops and eateries including around the Tuinstraat and CAFE DE REIGER in Nieuwe Leliestraat 34 If you are planning on visiting the Anne Frank House and Museum, book tickets on-line in advance to save the long queues.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baptiste
Business
Lausanne CH
Apr 6, 2013

A weekend trip

Our stay at Renaissance was good. The staff are extremely nice and friendly. The service that they provide compensates all the little disadvantages that the hotel has. Internet 7 euro for 24 hrs - its a rip off. As well as 7.50 for an orange juice in the bar(not even fresh one!!!). Otherwise, the location, breakfast and room service were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric Shen
Business
London
Feb 7, 2012

Good service

In spite of the cold outside in Amsterdam, the facility and service of the Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam is unforgotable to me and my wife. I lost my scarf in my room, and they deal with it so quickly and help to post my scarf to my office. The location of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam is so close to the station, so I deeply recommand this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bambimoon
Business
San Jose, CA
May 25, 2011

Wonderful and great location too!

Hotel is very nice, clean and super friendly. Loved our room- more like an american hotel room size than europe which is nice. Many english TV channels and great club room with beer and breakfast every morning and afternoon. The location is perfect for all attractions and the hotel staff is helpful. You can buy tickets for most attractions in the lobby. We have stayed at this hotel twice and had a great stay both times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy tickets to attractions in the lobby to avoid queues.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frellis
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Great business hotel in central location

The hotel was in an excellent location within walking distance to Amsterdam Centraal station. The rooms were clean and if you get a room with a king-sized bed, fairly spacious. However, internet is expensive and there is no water kettle in the room (meaning no free tea or coffee). We opted to eat out for all of our meals as our stay didn't include breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami, fl
Aug 23, 2010

Great hotel in a great location.

Great hotel in great location. Close to all the stuff you need to see and close to central station that can take you everywhere else. Staff was just ok. They did their job well, but did not go above and beyond

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hicksville, NY USA
Jul 27, 2010

EXCELLENT HOTEL IN PERFECT LOCATION

Would like more "what's going on this week in Amsterdam" kind of material available in lobby - booklets, better local map from check-in counter - Also - "too narrow" bath tubs need more handles, mat maybe, felt insecure bathing - Very pleased with all hotel employees -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top