$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
Kattengat 1, KATTENGAT 1, Amsterdam, 1012 SZ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
72 reviews
Fantastic Birthday weekend

We had an absolutely lovely time in Amsterdam. The hotel is only a short walk to Central Station... See full review

  • jaxhomemaker
  • Mar 12, 2014
Our short stay

The room and staff were great. We did not eat at hotel so can not comment. So many place to visit... See full review

  • HEy1
  • Jul 18, 2013
Discover 5-star splendor only steps from Amsterdam Central Station
The five-star Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offers guests an experience in style and luxury wrapped in a package of historic elegance. From the plush guest rooms, extensive business amenities and recreational fitness options to the world-class café, lounge bar and Mediterranean restaurant, the Renaissance Amsterdam presents an experience in comfort and elegance matched by the ultra-convenience of its locale. Renaissance Amsterdam guests are steps from the city's Central Station and a short walk or bike ride from premier art and cultural attractions.
Highlights
  • Excellent selection of dining and bar venues
  • Steps from Central Station and a short walk from multiple Amsterdam attractions
  • Luxury services combined with convenient locale
Rooms

Each of the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel's 396 sleek, contemporary guest rooms is appointed in blends of turquoise and warm espresso tones. Guest rooms come furnished with king, queen or two twin beds and all provide Wi-Fi access (fees apply) along with signature Renaissance Bedding. Media amenities include 20-inch HDTVs with international satellite channels and On Demand entertainment.

 

Club level Rooms offer access to the Club Lounge, the perfect spot to relax with complimentary beverages and snacks. Lounge access is exclusive to the club level guest rooms, superior guest rooms as well as the junior and royal suites. Junior suites and royal suites offer separate living and bedroom quarters, with flat-screen HDTVs in each room along with spacious sitting and work areas.

Features

The Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offers three premium dining and lounge options: The Scossa Restaurant, serving delectable Mediterranean delights, the street-side KoepelcafÃ, designed as an authentic Amsterdam coffee house and Lounge Bar 2B, the ideal hotspot to sip cocktails while unwinding with colleagues and friends. The in-house Splash fitness center offers 24-hour access to a state-of-the-art workout, while the indulgent Turkish bath is the ideal choice for powering down at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11.5 mi/20 km)
Attractions
  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Dam Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Blue Boat Company (canal tours) (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center
  • 16 meeting and event rooms
  • 16,100 square feet of meeting space at the adjacent, refurbished 17th-century Koepelkerk
  • Secretarial and translation service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3781 4.8942
Area served
Located within city center
Nearby airports
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, (AMS), 18.00, KM, NE; Eindhoven Airport, (EIN), 76.20, KM, SE; Rotterdam The Hague Airport, (RTM), 44.00, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • The narrowest house: 0 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.4 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.4 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.5 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.5 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.5 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.5 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.5 mi
  • The World Peace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.5 mi
  • EYE Film Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Moooi: 0.5 mi
  • East India House: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria d'arte Rinascimento: 0.5 mi

Dining

Scossa
Seducing with delectable choices, our Italian restaurant in Amsterdam, Scossa, is open for breakfast and offers options for group lunches or dinners upon request
Koepelcafé
"Relax in this street-side bar in original Amsterdam brown café style. Serving drinks and food all day, this unique café welcomes you to discover indigenous zips & bites for lunch and dinner.
2B Lounge & Bar
Relax, socialize, meet & greet in our stylish 2B Lounge Bar with cool vibes and chilled music, serving finger style food, MED dips and a large range of amazing cocktails. This energizing bar in Amsterdam also serves lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami, fl
Aug 23, 2010

Great hotel in a great location.

Great hotel in great location. Close to all the stuff you need to see and close to central station that can take you everywhere else. Staff was just ok. They did their job well, but did not go above and beyond

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas
Aug 2, 2010

Really nice hotel

We stayed two nights at the renaissance after a 12 day cruise and were pretty spent. Check in isnt untill 3pm but they gave us our room at 9am. We only had two days to see a list of sighths I had written down. Our concierge set us up with a tour that covered all the sights outside the city. Then he built us a map to get to all the sights within the city. He also got our tickets online to the Anne Frank Haus and the Van Gogh Museum so we could avoid the gigantic lines. The hotel is three blocks from Central Station. A perfect distance from the Red Light Disrict, where as you can walk there easily but no noise carries to rooms, and we were there on a soccer weekend. There are dozens of restaurants within a three block radius. I found Amsterdam to be a really cool city and am already planning to return. Unless a fantastic deal comes up on an alternate property, Thr Renaissance is where I will stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas
Aug 2, 2010

Really nice hotel

We stayed two nights at the renaissance after a 12 day cruise and were pretty spent. Check in isnt untill 3pm but they gave us our room at 9am. We only had two days to see a list of sighths I had written down. Our concierge set us up with a tour that covered all the sights outside the city. Then he built us a map to get to all the sights within the city. He also got our tickets online to the Anne Frank Haus and the Van Gogh Museum so we could avoid the gigantic lines. The hotel is three blocks from Central Station. A perfect distance from the Red Light Disrict, where as you can walk there easily but no noise carries to rooms, and we were there on a soccer weekend. There are dozens of restaurants within a three block radius. I found Amsterdam to be a really cool city and am already planning to return. Unless a fantastic deal comes up on an alternate property, Thr Renaissance is where I will stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hicksville, NY USA
Jul 27, 2010

EXCELLENT HOTEL IN PERFECT LOCATION

Would like more "what's going on this week in Amsterdam" kind of material available in lobby - booklets, better local map from check-in counter - Also - "too narrow" bath tubs need more handles, mat maybe, felt insecure bathing - Very pleased with all hotel employees -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hicksville, NY USA
Jul 27, 2010

EXCELLENT HOTEL IN PERFECT LOCATION

Would like more "what's going on this week in Amsterdam" kind of material available in lobby - booklets, better local map from check-in counter - Also - "too narrow" bath tubs need more handles, mat maybe, felt insecure bathing - Very pleased with all hotel employees -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil Bleu
Business
Buckinghamshire
Jul 26, 2010

Bad parking etc let down comfy hotel

I stopped off at the hotel while passing through on a business trip. While at first sight it looked OK (apart from the gaggles of conference delegates outside the main door, who had obviously lunched well), I was quite disappointed to be refused a seat in the almost empty restaurant at about 2130 - it all seemed to much trouble for them. Then the check out lady, having delighted me with an unexpectedly high (€50) parking fee, decided to make fun of my name. All in all, this hotel needs to learn customer service and good manners. On the positive side, the bed was very comfortable, and the guy parking cars was most helpful (but at €50 a night he should be).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Jul 26, 2010

Average for its price

Will definately try other hotels in area, the breakfast is overpriced therefore recommended to walk around to nearby bakery or cafes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants everywhere, but its very touristy and therefore, quality may not be as good, unless your willing to up your budget.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reg
Northville, MI
Jul 9, 2010

Clean and friendly hotel

Musuems, Shopped, had fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reg
Northville, MI
Jul 9, 2010

Clean and friendly hotel

Musuems, Shopped, had fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Jun 19, 2010

Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Great location one block from central train station. very helpful staff and super restaurant and lounge food was excellant. will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top