$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
Kattengat 1, KATTENGAT 1, Amsterdam, 1012 SZ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
85 reviews
Fantastic Birthday weekend

We had an absolutely lovely time in Amsterdam. The hotel is only a short walk to Central Station... See full review

  • jaxhomemaker
  • Mar 12, 2014
Our short stay

The room and staff were great. We did not eat at hotel so can not comment. So many place to visit... See full review

  • HEy1
  • Jul 18, 2013
Discover 5-star splendor only steps from Amsterdam Central Station
The five-star Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offers guests an experience in style and luxury wrapped in a package of historic elegance. From the plush guest rooms, extensive business amenities and recreational fitness options to the world-class café, lounge bar and Mediterranean restaurant, the Renaissance Amsterdam presents an experience in comfort and elegance matched by the ultra-convenience of its locale. Renaissance Amsterdam guests are steps from the city's Central Station and a short walk or bike ride from premier art and cultural attractions.
Highlights
  • Excellent selection of dining and bar venues
  • Steps from Central Station and a short walk from multiple Amsterdam attractions
  • Luxury services combined with convenient locale
Rooms

Each of the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel's 396 sleek, contemporary guest rooms is appointed in blends of turquoise and warm espresso tones. Guest rooms come furnished with king, queen or two twin beds and all provide Wi-Fi access (fees apply) along with signature Renaissance Bedding. Media amenities include 20-inch HDTVs with international satellite channels and On Demand entertainment.

 

Club level Rooms offer access to the Club Lounge, the perfect spot to relax with complimentary beverages and snacks. Lounge access is exclusive to the club level guest rooms, superior guest rooms as well as the junior and royal suites. Junior suites and royal suites offer separate living and bedroom quarters, with flat-screen HDTVs in each room along with spacious sitting and work areas.

Features

The Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offers three premium dining and lounge options: The Scossa Restaurant, serving delectable Mediterranean delights, the street-side KoepelcafÃ, designed as an authentic Amsterdam coffee house and Lounge Bar 2B, the ideal hotspot to sip cocktails while unwinding with colleagues and friends. The in-house Splash fitness center offers 24-hour access to a state-of-the-art workout, while the indulgent Turkish bath is the ideal choice for powering down at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11.5 mi/20 km)
Attractions
  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Dam Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Blue Boat Company (canal tours) (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center
  • 16 meeting and event rooms
  • 16,100 square feet of meeting space at the adjacent, refurbished 17th-century Koepelkerk
  • Secretarial and translation service

Hotel Map

52.3781 4.8942
Area served
Located within city center
Nearby airports
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, (AMS), 18.00, KM, NE; Eindhoven Airport, (EIN), 76.20, KM, SE; Rotterdam The Hague Airport, (RTM), 44.00, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • The narrowest house: 0 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.4 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.4 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.5 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.5 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.5 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.5 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.5 mi
  • The World Peace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.5 mi
  • EYE Film Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Moooi: 0.5 mi
  • East India House: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria d'arte Rinascimento: 0.5 mi

Dining

Scossa
Seducing with delectable choices, our Italian restaurant in Amsterdam, Scossa, is open for breakfast and offers options for group lunches or dinners upon request
Koepelcafé
"Relax in this street-side bar in original Amsterdam brown café style. Serving drinks and food all day, this unique café welcomes you to discover indigenous zips & bites for lunch and dinner.
2B Lounge & Bar
Relax, socialize, meet & greet in our stylish 2B Lounge Bar with cool vibes and chilled music, serving finger style food, MED dips and a large range of amazing cocktails. This energizing bar in Amsterdam also serves lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BP006
Melbourne, Australia
Sep 11, 2012

Great Location

Great easy to get to location from Amsterdam airport by train to central station and then an easy walk to the hotel. Very clean and spacious room. One downside in this digital age, no free wifi even in the lobby area. We stayed at more than ten hotels (three and five stars) during our European trip and they all provided free wifi. Tram stop within short walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a pedestrian street next to the hotel with plenty of restaurants and a supermarket. Try not to bring any Euro500 notes, we found it difficult to change.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Tess
Chappaqua, NY
Sep 3, 2012

Incompetent staff

Staff was incompetent - "complimentary" breakfast may cost you 25 euro per person. We were told by three employees including one at official hotel information desk, where to go for complimentary breakfast, than we were charged 25 euro per person. Charges were finally dropped at the checkout after we dispute them. It was not easy we were told there was no manager and that nothing could be done. Staff at the hospitality lounge were almost hostile making you feel guilty if you take one peanut to many. Fitness room was equipped rather poorly and view from it was at the back ally behind the hotel, where people were smoking crack and doing other things - all in proximity of (25 yards ) from main entrance with attendants on duty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Staff is incompetent "complimentary" breakfast may cost you 25 euro per person.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Atlanta Traveller
Atlanta, GA
Aug 29, 2012

Perfect location and accomodations

Excellent location - less than 3 blocks from train station and in heart of city. We had one room with a king bed and the other with 2 doubles. Rooms were good size, baths were very adequate with wash clothes and hair dryers and ther was a large flat screen TV. Comparable to nice hotel in large US city. Conceige services were very helpful. Since we are rewards member we had free internet plus access to member lounge with free drinks and breakfast as well. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussie Travel Couple
Business
Sydney, Australia
Aug 20, 2012

Nice hotel

Very good hotel in a great location very close to Central Station and connections to Airport. Actually stayed twice for one night each time. First time in July had one little hiccup with a very slow check inone staff member a British guy making himself very familar with two gay gentlemen check in at the head of the queue and not bothering about the rest of us. He spent over 15 minutes explaining all the Cities highlights while the rest of us waited. After flying in from Australia all I wanted was a shower and a sleep, so naturally this was annoying. Apart from that I would highly recommend this hotel, the second time I arrived at 10am and they had a room ready so I could shower and get out for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lbga
manila
Jul 18, 2012

fantastic hotel with Triple sharing room

The hotel was perfectly located in the heart of the city. walking distance to central train station and railway station. The staff were very courteous and helpful. Only problem was there was no wifi. If I had to return to Amsterdam, I will definitely consider staying here again. Btw, price was very affordable considering the value in return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LinaA
Washington, DC
May 27, 2012

Great location luxury hotel

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel, nice rooms (a bit small but that's par for the course in Europe). Staff were professional and very helpful. Hotel is expensive though with no free wifi or breakfast, that I had at a different hotel of equal standard. But the location is great and there are plenty of food options outside the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annie
Abbeville, LA
May 8, 2012

Great getaway with friends.

Our stay at this hotel was GREAT. The location was perfect, only a short walk to the train station and to all the shopping. The rooms were larger than expected after having stayed in Paris for 4 days prior to our arrival in Amsterdam. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric Shen
London
Feb 7, 2012

Good service

In spite of the cold outside in Amsterdam, the facility and service of the Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam is unforgotable to me and my wife. I lost my scarf in my room, and they deal with it so quickly and help to post my scarf to my office. The location of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam is so close to the station, so I deeply recommand this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Funtime
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Renaissance Amsterdam

The hotel was in an excellent location. Just a few minutes walk from the Amsterdam Central Station, which you will need to get around Amsterdam. The single bed room is nice and modern. A tad bit small but very comfortable. The only issue I had with the hotel was the fact that they didn't have a real computer lab. They only had 2 computers for public use and they charged for internet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When travel around the city of Amsterdam you can walk, rent a bike, take a taxi or take public transportation. I recommend taking the public transportation. The daily card are very usefully and give you access to the whole city for one flat rate.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scarlett
Not Provided
Aug 21, 2011

Staff friendly, hotel overall

Staff friendly, hotel overall clean, but air con noisy. Moreover, if compared to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam which was just same distance to Central Station, I would no doubt recommend Crowne Plaza as Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam charged me too high but the room was too small for even an Asian couple. Such room size shouldn't accommodate a king-size bed, to be frank. I had 2 stays in Amsterdam during this visit, and, no second thought, I would recommend Crowne Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search