$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Quentin England Hotel Amsterdam

2 stars
Roemer Visscherstraat 30, Amsterdam, 1054 EZ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.9
out of 5
9 reviews
How good are your knees?

In common with many hotels in Amsterdam, there are four floors, but no lift, and the stairs are not... See full review

  • Arewethereyet
  • Jun 27, 2012
NO WAY !!

I booked for 2 nights but had problems staying one whole night there. There is NO elevator, no... See full review

  • Been to Holland
  • Sep 28, 2013
The hotel is housed in a 18th century building and part of the famous 'United Europe' buildings, these are seven houses and every house is an example of a typical building style from seven European countries (England, France, Germany, Russia, Spain, Italy and Holland). The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located at the Vondelpark, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Maket, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Roemer Visscherstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember.

Quentin England Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Low Budget Single Room
This small room may be located in the basement and might not have windows. All rooms are well equipped with the following facilities (some on request): Free Wireless Internet, Telephone, Television, Wake-Up Service, Heating, Shower and Toilet, Working Desk, Hairdryer, Baby Cot, Iron and Ironing Board. Typical Dutch buffet breakfast costs EUR 15 per person per night.
Low Budget Twin Room
This room may be located in the basement and might not have windows. All rooms are well equipped with the following facilities (some on request): Free Wireless Internet, Telephone, Television, Wake-Up Service, Heating, Shower and Toilet, Working Desk, Hairdryer, Baby Cot, Iron and Ironing Board. Typical Dutch buffet breakfast costs EUR 15 per person per night.
Standard Double / Twin Room
Room with 1 double / 2 single beds. The room has private shower and toilet. All rooms are well equipped with the following facilities (some on request): Free Wireless Internet, Telephone, Television, Wake-Up Service, Heating, Shower and Toilet, Working Desk, Hairdryer, Baby Cot, Iron and Ironing Board. Typical Dutch buffet breakfast costs EUR 15 per person per night.
Standard Triple Room
Room with 3 single beds. The room has private shower and toilet. All rooms are well equipped with the following facilities (some on request): Free Wireless Internet, Telephone, Television, Wake-Up Service, Heating, Shower and Toilet, Working Desk, Hairdryer, Baby Cot, Iron and Ironing Board. Typical Dutch buffet breakfast costs EUR 15 per person per night.
Low Budget Double Room
This room is located in the basement and have a small window. All rooms are well equipped with the following facilities (some on request): Free Wireless Internet, Telephone, Television, Wake-Up Service, Heating, Shower and Toilet, Working Desk, Hairdryer, Baby Cot, Iron and Ironing Board. Typical Dutch buffet breakfast costs EUR 15 per person per night.
Standard Quadruple Room
Room with 4 single beds. The room has private shower and toilet. All rooms are well equipped with the following facilities (some on request): Free Wireless Internet, Telephone, Television, Wake-Up Service, Heating, Shower and Toilet, Working Desk, Hairdryer, Baby Cot, Iron and Ironing Board. Typical Dutch buffet breakfast costs EUR 15 per person per night.

Amenities

  • Free internet
Services
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quentin England Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3615 4.8771
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol (AMS) 9.8 km, Rotterdam Airport (RTM) 53.9 km.
Area description
The hotel is located at the Vondelpark, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Maket, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Roemer Visscherstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. You can easily get to the hotel by public transportation (approximately 35 minutes and 6.30 p.p.), take the train from Schiphol-Airport to Amsterdam Central Station, then take tram number 1, 2 or 5 to 'Leidseplein'. You can also take a taxi from the airport, this will take approximately 20 minutes and costs 37.50.

Nearby points of interest

  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.1 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.1 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.2 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.2 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.3 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.3 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.3 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.4 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.4 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.4 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.4 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.1 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.1 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.2 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.2 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.3 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.3 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.3 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.4 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.4 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.4 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • OT301: 0.5 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.5 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.5 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.5 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.5 mi
  • Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.5 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.6 mi
  • Oud-West: 0.6 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.6 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.7 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 0.7 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.7 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.7 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.7 mi
  • University Library: 0.7 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 0.7 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.7 mi
  • BeBoB Design: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Quentin England Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

1.9 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
1.6
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
1.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
2.8

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quentin England Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Been to Holland
Stuttgart Germany
Sep 28, 2013

NO WAY !!

I booked for 2 nights but had problems staying one whole night there. There is NO elevator, no wi-fi, no breakfast, and the bathroom was so full of black mold I couldn't use it at all. The night man was young and tried to help but he was not "allowed" to help much. At least he bumped someone else for a room on the bottom floor but, I left at 7 am for a best western 3 doors down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Quentin England Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arewethereyet
North of England
Jun 27, 2012

How good are your knees?

In common with many hotels in Amsterdam, there are four floors, but no lift, and the stairs are not the most user friendly you will come across. If you have angina, mobility problems, etc you will not want to go beyond the first floor. Staff are friendly & helpful at all times. There is a free to use computer for guests - or you can use your own WiFi device. Access to tram,, bus, canal boat is about 5 mins walk. Vondelpark is about 2 mins away - couldn`t be much better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

At a cost of 4 Euros each, catch the red Schiphol-Sternet bus number 197 to Leidseplein [it goes all the way to Centraal Station] - then a 5 min walk to the hotel. They run from early morning to late at night at about 15 min intervals. Airport taxi is 35 - 40 Euros

Review of Quentin England Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julie the Budget Traveler
San Francisco, California
Jun 18, 2012

Single Room = Single Bed, No Window

The room was clean and the staff was very friendly, but the room was very small. I reserved a single and the room fit nothing more than a smaller-than-standard single bed, half a desk, and a small filing cabinet with doors on it. The bathroom was also clean, but the shower had no lip and therefore flooded the entire room. This space was so small that the the shower drain was practically under the sink. You get what you pay for, but I would definitely recommend staying in a hostel instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Quentin England Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JamiLa32
Greensboro, NC, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Great Location for the price!

The location was the best part of the experience. There was false advertisement because there was no phone or air-conditioning. The price was cheap for the location but dont get your hopes up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect area for great restaurants! And near the tram that goes straight to the nightlife

Review of Quentin England Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JamiLa32
Greensboro, NC, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Great Location for the price!

The location was the best part of the experience. There was false advertisement because there was no phone or air-conditioning. The price was cheap for the location but dont get your hopes up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect area for great restaurants! And near the tram that goes straight to the nightlife

Review of Quentin England Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BlondeeBee
Chicago, IL.
May 11, 2011

Great Location, don't get a budget room!

While we stayed, we did all the sight seeing. The city was so welcoming and would totally go back. However, I would not stay at the same hotel. The staff was really nice but our room was awful. It had two twin beds pushed together,in the basement, a window that let no light in, and our shower flooded twice! Maybe I missed the fine print when booking the room but I will never stay in anything like that again. The area was great and couldnt have asked for a cooler location. If you are staying for a few nights, it would be fine and looking to save money. However, anything more than that I would not suggest it. If you stay there get a larger room when you book because they fill up fast and we were not able to upgrade because it was full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Quentin England Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BlondeeBee
Chicago, IL.
May 11, 2011

Great Location, don't get a budget room!

While we stayed, we did all the sight seeing. The city was so welcoming and would totally go back. However, I would not stay at the same hotel. The staff was really nice but our room was awful. It had two twin beds pushed together,in the basement, a window that let no light in, and our shower flooded twice! Maybe I missed the fine print when booking the room but I will never stay in anything like that again. The area was great and couldnt have asked for a cooler location. If you are staying for a few nights, it would be fine and looking to save money. However, anything more than that I would not suggest it. If you stay there get a larger room when you book because they fill up fast and we were not able to upgrade because it was full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Quentin England Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minnesota
Apr 5, 2011

internet did not work

Very small room with no carpet. The internet that was advertised did not work for two of the days that I was there--and worked part of the time on the other day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quentin England Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minnesota
Apr 5, 2011

internet did not work

Very small room with no carpet. The internet that was advertised did not work for two of the days that I was there--and worked part of the time on the other day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top