$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

4 stars
Damrak 1-5, Damrak 1-5, Amsterdam, 1012LG
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
64 reviews
Just Like Family

I've stayed at this hotel many times in the past 10 years. The reasons are many, but the first... See full review

  • Amsterman
  • Mar 20, 2013
Could go from good to great if price was Lower!!!!

It was my 2nd stay at Park Plaza. The concierge and bartenders along with reception desk personnel... See full review

  • TMJG39
  • Jun 10, 2014
Graceful, historic hotel in Amsterdam’s vibrant, cosmopolitan heart
Indulge in cosmopolitan style and executive-level amenities at the historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel. Built in 1890, this majestic hotel sits in the heart of Amsterdam's bustling center, an area packed with cultural attractions, premium shopping and world-class dining. The hotel offers excellent dining options, an elegant lounge, plus state-of-the-art wellness and recreation facilities. Complimentary public Wi-Fi and complete business facilities along with a multilingual staff, concierge and childcare services add to the hotel's appeal.
Highlights
  • Dynamic central Amsterdam locale
  • On-site pool, fitness club, wellness spa
  • Variety of excellent, in-house dining
Rooms

The Park Plaza Victoria's 306 modern guest rooms feature cozy yet elegant décor, dark-wood trim and upholstered armchairs. Corridors and rooms each have a distinctive flair, evoking the hotel's 19th century origins. Rooms offer premium bedding, mini bars, cable/satellite TVs with On Demand entertainment, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and fully-equipped bathrooms with marble sinks and blue-and-white tile work.

 

Superior rooms come with queen or two twin beds. Executive rooms and business suites come with king beds and expanded sitting areas along with Nespresso coffee and tea machines.

Features

The Park Plaza Victoria Hotel offers a slate of first-class amenities including the Victoria Active Club, which features a free indoor swimming pool and such paid services as a state-of-the-art fitness center, wellness spa, solarium and beauty salon. For delicious breakfast buffets, guests enjoy the hotel's Seasons Garden Restaurant, which also accommodates special groups for lunches and dinners. The charming Park Plaza Brasserie serves tantalizing all-day international cuisine and the Lobby Lounge is the hotspot for guests to unwind with cocktails and refreshments.

 

Discounted parking at the nearby Q-Park is available to all guests. The Park Plaza Victoria's childcare and concierge services along with a multi-lingual staff can streamline any Amsterdam visit with helpful conveniences and added comforts.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (across the street)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5 mi/23 km)
Attractions
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt)
  • Begijnjof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4.5 km)
  • Heineken Experience (2.5 mi/4.5 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (3 blocks)
Business
  • Business center
  • 11 meeting and event spaces

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3771 4.8983
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
SCHIPHOL ARPT, (AMS), 18.00, KM, SW; ROTTERDAM ARPT, (RTM), 70.00, KM, N; EINDHOVEN AIRPORT, (EIN), 122.00, KM, SE;
Area description
Downtown, This hotel is located near downtown.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.1 mi
  • Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.2 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.1 mi
  • Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.2 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • New Church: 0.4 mi
  • National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.5 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.5 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.5 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.5 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • The Whale: 0.5 mi
  • EYE Film Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.5 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.6 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.6 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.6 mi

Dining

Season's Garden
Breakfast Only.
Park Plaza Brasserie
Located onsite.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 64
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
London
Nov 13, 2010

Beware bed bugs

Me and my friend stayed at Park Plaza Victoria Hotel 4-7th of November 2010 on the fifth floor. It was around eleven pm when we returned to the hotel after a long day's walk, very tired. We showered and just jumped into bed. In the morning when we woke up we saw that we were badly bitten all over our bodies. At first we decided that those wore mosquitoes' bites. The experience repeated the next night as well. The next morning things became worse, the bites got swollen and infected and we were itching so badly we could crawl up the wall. By the time we were at the airport to fly home I was totally infected, my whole body, head to toe. Upon the return home I had to be immediately rushed to the hospital where the doctor diagnosed it as bed bugs bites. To make it worse the bed bugs were infected that caused the infection in the body. I was given five prescription drugs to take me through the terrible itching and to stop the infection. As a result of that I had to miss one week at work. I also had to invite specialists to disinfect my room since the bed bugs could travel with your luggage. I would definitely recommend staying way from this hotel and in case you don't have a choice tear the sheets off the beds before you even pay for the room! I would definitely not expect such unhygienic conditions in a hotel where you pay 175 Euros per night. In addition to the beg bugs experience that totally destroyed our stay in a lovely city Amsterdam the room itself was old with carpet stains and had stuffy smell. The cleaning ladies were very lazy and all the time left old towels on the floor! The hotel is situated nearby central station and is used as a meeting point for all sorts of people so there is always at huge crowd just in front of the entrance as if it is nightclub. There is also a bike parking lot just in front the entrance. The price for breakfast was three times more expensive compared to the same meals in the restaurants just around the corner. And last but not least the hotel blocks 35% extra in addition to your booking fee saying that it is the breakfasts and mini bar. We said we didn't want breakfasts and mini-bar. The hotel receptionist said she didn't care and had to block the money on the card anyway even if you didn't want breakfast. I do a lot of travelling both for my work being a Marketing Director for a large multinational company and for leisure as a tourist. I have never seen an expensive hotel to be of such a poor quality compared to a hostel. Stay way from this hotel if you don't want the bed bugs to destroy your health and take a toll on your wallet. After all there are plenty of lovely and clean hotels in Amsterdam where the manager and the staff care about the guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
delta02
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 21, 2009

Great location, not a 4 star hotel

We really loved the location of this hotel. It was awesome being able to walk across the street from the station after a long trip. The view of the train station was beautiful. The rooms were decent size (for Europe). However, this hotel was not worth the four star rating. The rooms were dingy and dirty in some areas and the carpet was in serious need of updating throughout the hotel (stains, cigarette burns). The bathroom was really small and felt like someone took a pre-fab bathroom and plugged it in. The TV was really, really old (not flat screen)and had pornography on just about every other channel. The breakfast buffet looked great, but at an outrageous price: 32.50 Euro/pp (about $45).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
delta02
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 21, 2009

Great location, not a 4 star hotel

We really loved the location of this hotel. It was awesome being able to walk across the street from the station after a long trip. The view of the train station was beautiful. The rooms were decent size (for Europe). However, this hotel was not worth the four star rating. The rooms were dingy and dirty in some areas and the carpet was in serious need of updating throughout the hotel (stains, cigarette burns). The bathroom was really small and felt like someone took a pre-fab bathroom and plugged it in. The TV was really, really old (not flat screen)and had pornography on just about every other channel. The breakfast buffet looked great, but at an outrageous price: 32.50 Euro/pp (about $45).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coffeeshop lover
Miami, FL
Sep 17, 2009

Pretty good hotel..PERFECT location!!!

You can NOT beat this location! It's central to everything in Amsterdam. The staff at the check-in desk were relatively friendly. The only bad experience was that the night staff was not as friendly and would force us to prove that we were indeed hotel residents. This would have been fine if it was just the first time but it was every time and it was the same person! We did not try the food in the hotel as it was very expensive and did not look better than what was offered near by. There are several wonderful spots to eat and tons of coffeeshops in walking distance! I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOHN 501
Southampton
Feb 11, 2010

Great location to stay

EATING DRINKING THE TOURIST PLACES HAHA GREAT LOCATION HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N2Goodtimes
Irvine,CA
Dec 24, 2010

Park Plaza Amsterdam was awesome.

This hotel was located across from the main train station. It is located within minutes walk of pretty much everything Amsterdam has to offer. Take the tram if you don't want to walk. The rooms were good size and the staff were very helpful. The pool was included, but spa, sauna, and fitness studio were not. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Boom. This comedy show is in English and hysterical.

Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N2Goodtimes
Irvine,CA
Dec 24, 2010

Park Plaza Amsterdam was awesome.

This hotel was located across from the main train station. It is located within minutes walk of pretty much everything Amsterdam has to offer. Take the tram if you don't want to walk. The rooms were good size and the staff were very helpful. The pool was included, but spa, sauna, and fitness studio were not. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Boom. This comedy show is in English and hysterical.

Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coffeeshop lover
Miami, FL
Sep 17, 2009

Pretty good hotel..PERFECT location!!!

You can NOT beat this location! It's central to everything in Amsterdam. The staff at the check-in desk were relatively friendly. The only bad experience was that the night staff was not as friendly and would force us to prove that we were indeed hotel residents. This would have been fine if it was just the first time but it was every time and it was the same person! We did not try the food in the hotel as it was very expensive and did not look better than what was offered near by. There are several wonderful spots to eat and tons of coffeeshops in walking distance! I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ladykay
Houston,TX
Sep 1, 2009

Everything was Great

Everything was great and the location was even better. I can't wait to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ladykay
Houston, TX
Sep 1, 2009

Everything was Great

Location,Location,Location, everything was First Class and a great value for the money...would certainly stay at this location again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

A little pricey maybe, but worth every penny...best meal in Amsterdam

Back to menu Return to top