$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 26, 2015

Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

4 stars
Damrak 1-5, Damrak 1-5, Amsterdam, 1012LG
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
46 reviews
Great location

Staff great and close to central station and dM swyare See full review

  • Traceface
  • Oct 9, 2014
Central Location

Property is at the heart of the city but closeness to train station makes for some less than... See full review

  • Bertagni
  • Sep 8, 2014
Graceful, historic hotel in Amsterdam’s vibrant, cosmopolitan heart
Indulge in cosmopolitan style and executive-level amenities at the historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel. Built in 1890, this majestic hotel sits in the heart of Amsterdam's bustling center, an area packed with cultural attractions, premium shopping and world-class dining. The hotel offers excellent dining options, an elegant lounge, plus state-of-the-art wellness and recreation facilities. Complimentary public Wi-Fi and complete business facilities along with a multilingual staff, concierge and childcare services add to the hotel's appeal.
Highlights
  • Dynamic central Amsterdam locale
  • On-site pool, fitness club, wellness spa
  • Variety of excellent, in-house dining
Rooms

The Park Plaza Victoria's 306 modern guest rooms feature cozy yet elegant décor, dark-wood trim and upholstered armchairs. Corridors and rooms each have a distinctive flair, evoking the hotel's 19th century origins. Rooms offer premium bedding, mini bars, cable/satellite TVs with On Demand entertainment, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and fully-equipped bathrooms with marble sinks and blue-and-white tile work.

 

Superior rooms come with queen or two twin beds. Executive rooms and business suites come with king beds and expanded sitting areas along with Nespresso coffee and tea machines.

Features

The Park Plaza Victoria Hotel offers a slate of first-class amenities including the Victoria Active Club, which features a free indoor swimming pool and such paid services as a state-of-the-art fitness center, wellness spa, solarium and beauty salon. For delicious breakfast buffets, guests enjoy the hotel's Seasons Garden Restaurant, which also accommodates special groups for lunches and dinners. The charming Park Plaza Brasserie serves tantalizing all-day international cuisine and the Lobby Lounge is the hotspot for guests to unwind with cocktails and refreshments.

 

Discounted parking at the nearby Q-Park is available to all guests. The Park Plaza Victoria's childcare and concierge services along with a multi-lingual staff can streamline any Amsterdam visit with helpful conveniences and added comforts.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (across the street)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5 mi/23 km)
Attractions
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt)
  • Begijnjof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4.5 km)
  • Heineken Experience (2.5 mi/4.5 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (3 blocks)
Business
  • Business center
  • 11 meeting and event spaces

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.1 mi
  • Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.2 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.1 mi
  • Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.2 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • New Church: 0.4 mi
  • National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.5 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.5 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.5 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.5 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • The Whale: 0.5 mi
  • EYE Film Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.5 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.6 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.6 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.6 mi

Dining

Season's Garden
Breakfast Only.
Park Plaza Brasserie
Located onsite.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, Tn.
Oct 19, 2010

[...]

On our first trip in 2005 we stayed at the Victoria Plaza in the older section of the hotel and it was wonderful!. Very cozy,quiet,clean,great staff,a driver was there to pick us up at airport as well as at the hotel to go back after our stay. EVERYTHING!! was perfect; but of course that was done through an actual travel agency. This time,[...]; no driver to pick us up, the phone number we were given was not a correct number I tried dialing it 3-4 times and even asked a man at the schipol airport he had no luck, the phone number was missing some zeros and a prefix of some type so we wasted $150.00 on that our room looked like a motel 6, two twin beds pushed together for my wife and I to sleep on and it was dirty. This was our 5 year wedding anniversary trip by the way, the breakfasts were not included as they were before on our first trip, they were an additional 42.00 euros for both of us. [...] As for the rest of the trip,simply Wonderful the Riks Museum is still being remodeled but it is a must see, the Van Gogh also a must see,The Anne Frank house,even the red light district (not for children)is worth walking through at least once for a wild side walk,taking a train to the beach, or up into Germany is an awesome sight even if you simply ride the train there and back,also you cannot take a step in Amsterdam without seeing something of historic value (the palace,their national monument, the smallest house at 6 ft wide) And everyone is friendly and most speak fluent english and even those who do not were still as helpful as they could be as long as you can at least pronounce your location (Dutch is not the easiest language to learn)All in all the trip was great, minus the living arrangments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark Wombat
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 21, 2014

Expensive for a small, basic room. Photos misleading.

I felt the photos of the rooms were misleading. My room was tiny and dingy (window looked onto an internal rooftop), and had a very dated interior. Nothing at all like the large, bright, modern rooms shown. The bed was just OK - cheap mattress and lumpy/uneven comforter. The room was clean and quiet though. Overall, this was more like a 3-star than 4-star hotel, and I'd have been happier if it cost around $100-$150 a night instead of more than $200. Hotels in Amsterdam are not cheap, but I felt like this place was a rip-off and am not likely to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOHN 501
Business
Southampton
Feb 11, 2010

Great location to stay

EATING DRINKING THE TOURIST PLACES HAHA GREAT LOCATION HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Oct 4, 2010

Great hotel, Great location

Best location in town!!!! great service, nice comfortable rooms, beds are a little uncomfortable for my liking. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and would go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business and Pleasure Man
Business
Atlanta GA
Oct 20, 2010

Great Location

Great location and wonderful service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SmartAce
Business
Augusta, GA, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Euro Trip

This was my second trip to Amsterdam (October 2005 and September 2011), and second stay at Park Place Victoria. I wouldn't stay anywhere else! Three words: location, location, location! This place is luggage carrying distance from the central train station and a short walk or tram to every sight. Just ask for a room above the 3rd floor if you plan to visit on a weekend, Amsterdam can stay popping until about 4am. Our room, a king bed with balcony, was a castle compared to other European hotels. I recommend this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kev H
Business
Bedfordshire
Dec 21, 2011

Off to a bad start!

The hotel is in a central location close to the train station and is easy to find. Unfortunately, when we checked in and were shown to our room we were extremely disapointed, it was small, dark and would not have been comfortable to spend 3 nights in. The bed filled the width of the room with about 9 inches to spare at the end! This was not the room we were expecting and it was most certainly not the room we saw on the website! We complaind to reception and they initially wanted to charge us another 20 euros per night to move to a room of the type on their website. This soon dropped to 10 euros per night which we were still not happy with, but agreed to pay, once in the new room everything went well. All the staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

When you book this hotel, make sure you are getting a room of the type shown on their website. Don't wait until you get there and find you have to pay a subsidy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
giorgio
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 29, 2011

Vic

Cold but nice. Good location. Crowded elevator. Quick check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DANA midle eastern cuisine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ams9
Business
Fort Madison IA
Apr 23, 2012

9 day stay

We choose this hotel because of the location to the train station and for that it was perfect. The staff could have not been any better or more helpful. The breakfast in the garden room had enough variety but the hot food was barely warm. Breakfast did seem to be a bit pricey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You are just minutes away from the train station in a great looking hotel and the location is not in a bad neighborhood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rickster
Business
Pleasant Garden, NC
Jul 11, 2012

A feeling of family

As long as I am able to travel, any stay in Amsterdam would be at the Park Plaza Victoria. From the moment you arrive until the time comes to leave, It's like being with old friends or family. I will probably be traveling there again in the Fall. You can bet that I will be staying at the Victoria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a tram/bus pass that will cover the entire stay. Amsterdam is a large city with attractions in every corner. The tram/bus system is difficult to pick up on, but once you do catch on, it will make life much easier along with saving your feet and legs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top