$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

4 stars
Damrak 1-5, Damrak 1-5, Amsterdam, 1012LG
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
46 reviews
Great location

Staff great and close to central station and dM swyare See full review

  • Traceface
  • Oct 9, 2014
Central Location

Property is at the heart of the city but closeness to train station makes for some less than... See full review

  • Bertagni
  • Sep 8, 2014
Graceful, historic hotel in Amsterdam’s vibrant, cosmopolitan heart
Indulge in cosmopolitan style and executive-level amenities at the historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel. Built in 1890, this majestic hotel sits in the heart of Amsterdam's bustling center, an area packed with cultural attractions, premium shopping and world-class dining. The hotel offers excellent dining options, an elegant lounge, plus state-of-the-art wellness and recreation facilities. Complimentary public Wi-Fi and complete business facilities along with a multilingual staff, concierge and childcare services add to the hotel's appeal.
Highlights
  • Dynamic central Amsterdam locale
  • On-site pool, fitness club, wellness spa
  • Variety of excellent, in-house dining
Rooms

The Park Plaza Victoria's 306 modern guest rooms feature cozy yet elegant décor, dark-wood trim and upholstered armchairs. Corridors and rooms each have a distinctive flair, evoking the hotel's 19th century origins. Rooms offer premium bedding, mini bars, cable/satellite TVs with On Demand entertainment, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and fully-equipped bathrooms with marble sinks and blue-and-white tile work.

 

Superior rooms come with queen or two twin beds. Executive rooms and business suites come with king beds and expanded sitting areas along with Nespresso coffee and tea machines.

Features

The Park Plaza Victoria Hotel offers a slate of first-class amenities including the Victoria Active Club, which features a free indoor swimming pool and such paid services as a state-of-the-art fitness center, wellness spa, solarium and beauty salon. For delicious breakfast buffets, guests enjoy the hotel's Seasons Garden Restaurant, which also accommodates special groups for lunches and dinners. The charming Park Plaza Brasserie serves tantalizing all-day international cuisine and the Lobby Lounge is the hotspot for guests to unwind with cocktails and refreshments.

 

Discounted parking at the nearby Q-Park is available to all guests. The Park Plaza Victoria's childcare and concierge services along with a multi-lingual staff can streamline any Amsterdam visit with helpful conveniences and added comforts.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (across the street)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5 mi/23 km)
Attractions
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt)
  • Begijnjof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4.5 km)
  • Heineken Experience (2.5 mi/4.5 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (3 blocks)
Business
  • Business center
  • 11 meeting and event spaces

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.1 mi
  • Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.2 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.1 mi
  • Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.2 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • New Church: 0.4 mi
  • National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.5 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.5 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.5 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.5 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • The Whale: 0.5 mi
  • EYE Film Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.5 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.6 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.6 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.6 mi

Dining

Season's Garden
Breakfast Only.
Park Plaza Brasserie
Located onsite.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Garfield, NJ
Jul 10, 2011

Expensive stay at average hotel

Totally overpriced given the location, rooms are okay but not great. Not recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

none

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N2Goodtimes
Business
Irvine,CA
Dec 24, 2010

Park Plaza Amsterdam was awesome.

This hotel was located across from the main train station. It is located within minutes walk of pretty much everything Amsterdam has to offer. Take the tram if you don't want to walk. The rooms were good size and the staff were very helpful. The pool was included, but spa, sauna, and fitness studio were not. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Boom. This comedy show is in English and hysterical.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Nov 13, 2010

Beware bed bugs

Me and my friend stayed at Park Plaza Victoria Hotel 4-7th of November 2010 on the fifth floor. It was around eleven pm when we returned to the hotel after a long day's walk, very tired. We showered and just jumped into bed. In the morning when we woke up we saw that we were badly bitten all over our bodies. At first we decided that those wore mosquitoes' bites. The experience repeated the next night as well. The next morning things became worse, the bites got swollen and infected and we were itching so badly we could crawl up the wall. By the time we were at the airport to fly home I was totally infected, my whole body, head to toe. Upon the return home I had to be immediately rushed to the hospital where the doctor diagnosed it as bed bugs bites. To make it worse the bed bugs were infected that caused the infection in the body. I was given five prescription drugs to take me through the terrible itching and to stop the infection. As a result of that I had to miss one week at work. I also had to invite specialists to disinfect my room since the bed bugs could travel with your luggage. I would definitely recommend staying way from this hotel and in case you don't have a choice tear the sheets off the beds before you even pay for the room! I would definitely not expect such unhygienic conditions in a hotel where you pay 175 Euros per night. In addition to the beg bugs experience that totally destroyed our stay in a lovely city Amsterdam the room itself was old with carpet stains and had stuffy smell. The cleaning ladies were very lazy and all the time left old towels on the floor! The hotel is situated nearby central station and is used as a meeting point for all sorts of people so there is always at huge crowd just in front of the entrance as if it is nightclub. There is also a bike parking lot just in front the entrance. The price for breakfast was three times more expensive compared to the same meals in the restaurants just around the corner. And last but not least the hotel blocks 35% extra in addition to your booking fee saying that it is the breakfasts and mini bar. We said we didn't want breakfasts and mini-bar. The hotel receptionist said she didn't care and had to block the money on the card anyway even if you didn't want breakfast. I do a lot of travelling both for my work being a Marketing Director for a large multinational company and for leisure as a tourist. I have never seen an expensive hotel to be of such a poor quality compared to a hostel. Stay way from this hotel if you don't want the bed bugs to destroy your health and take a toll on your wallet. After all there are plenty of lovely and clean hotels in Amsterdam where the manager and the staff care about the guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business and Pleasure Man
Business
Atlanta GA
Oct 20, 2010

Great Location

Great location and wonderful service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, Tn.
Oct 19, 2010

[...]

On our first trip in 2005 we stayed at the Victoria Plaza in the older section of the hotel and it was wonderful!. Very cozy,quiet,clean,great staff,a driver was there to pick us up at airport as well as at the hotel to go back after our stay. EVERYTHING!! was perfect; but of course that was done through an actual travel agency. This time,[...]; no driver to pick us up, the phone number we were given was not a correct number I tried dialing it 3-4 times and even asked a man at the schipol airport he had no luck, the phone number was missing some zeros and a prefix of some type so we wasted $150.00 on that our room looked like a motel 6, two twin beds pushed together for my wife and I to sleep on and it was dirty. This was our 5 year wedding anniversary trip by the way, the breakfasts were not included as they were before on our first trip, they were an additional 42.00 euros for both of us. [...] As for the rest of the trip,simply Wonderful the Riks Museum is still being remodeled but it is a must see, the Van Gogh also a must see,The Anne Frank house,even the red light district (not for children)is worth walking through at least once for a wild side walk,taking a train to the beach, or up into Germany is an awesome sight even if you simply ride the train there and back,also you cannot take a step in Amsterdam without seeing something of historic value (the palace,their national monument, the smallest house at 6 ft wide) And everyone is friendly and most speak fluent english and even those who do not were still as helpful as they could be as long as you can at least pronounce your location (Dutch is not the easiest language to learn)All in all the trip was great, minus the living arrangments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Oct 4, 2010

Great hotel, Great location

Best location in town!!!! great service, nice comfortable rooms, beds are a little uncomfortable for my liking. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and would go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Isle of Palms South Carolina
Aug 28, 2010

Wonderful service

Unfortunately, after checking out at 12 noon, I fell two blocks away from the Hotel and spent five hours in a Hospital emergency room receiving care and ten stitches in my head. I returned to the Hotel at 6 pm and asked for a room per the doctor's instructions. They were fully booked, but the staff they would find a place for me somewhere. They gave me a room in the Hotel and sent the bellman check on me. I will stay here on all future visits to Amsterdam. This is customer care at its best! I was sick and they cared for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 27, 2010

Not the highlight of my trip.

When I first checked in they gave me a room that somebody else was still in. Then they moved me into a smoker room after my reservation was for a non smoker room. Continental breakfast was €25 for muffinss and juice. The only decent thing about this hotel was the location. Other than that it is a 2 star at best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roxydog
Business
florida
Aug 16, 2010

parkplazavictoria

The hotel is perfectly situated by the central train station. Hotel is well kept, rooms are large if you get an execetive suite, or very small. Service was excellent and staff great. No continental breakfast is a minus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The main street is full of great shops and resturants for all prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Aug 8, 2010

Best location ever

Best location ever, train station across the street ,tours office pick up location just a few steps away. Mac Donald nearby and many other restaurants. The concierge service was excellent he help us with tours, directions and our luggage.Room was big,quiet and clean. Has an ice machine in the floor a rare thing for hotels through Europe. It has a small indoor swimming pool which I didn't use. I will certainly recommend it and use it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Train station across the street. The pick up location for tours is just steps away, an important thing when you have to be at 7:30 am for a tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top