$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

4 stars
Damrak 1-5, Damrak 1-5, Amsterdam, 1012LG
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
64 reviews
Just Like Family

I've stayed at this hotel many times in the past 10 years. The reasons are many, but the first... See full review

  • Amsterman
  • Mar 20, 2013
Could go from good to great if price was Lower!!!!

It was my 2nd stay at Park Plaza. The concierge and bartenders along with reception desk personnel... See full review

  • TMJG39
  • Jun 10, 2014
Graceful, historic hotel in Amsterdam’s vibrant, cosmopolitan heart
Indulge in cosmopolitan style and executive-level amenities at the historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel. Built in 1890, this majestic hotel sits in the heart of Amsterdam's bustling center, an area packed with cultural attractions, premium shopping and world-class dining. The hotel offers excellent dining options, an elegant lounge, plus state-of-the-art wellness and recreation facilities. Complimentary public Wi-Fi and complete business facilities along with a multilingual staff, concierge and childcare services add to the hotel's appeal.
Highlights
  • Dynamic central Amsterdam locale
  • On-site pool, fitness club, wellness spa
  • Variety of excellent, in-house dining
Rooms

The Park Plaza Victoria's 306 modern guest rooms feature cozy yet elegant décor, dark-wood trim and upholstered armchairs. Corridors and rooms each have a distinctive flair, evoking the hotel's 19th century origins. Rooms offer premium bedding, mini bars, cable/satellite TVs with On Demand entertainment, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and fully-equipped bathrooms with marble sinks and blue-and-white tile work.

 

Superior rooms come with queen or two twin beds. Executive rooms and business suites come with king beds and expanded sitting areas along with Nespresso coffee and tea machines.

Features

The Park Plaza Victoria Hotel offers a slate of first-class amenities including the Victoria Active Club, which features a free indoor swimming pool and such paid services as a state-of-the-art fitness center, wellness spa, solarium and beauty salon. For delicious breakfast buffets, guests enjoy the hotel's Seasons Garden Restaurant, which also accommodates special groups for lunches and dinners. The charming Park Plaza Brasserie serves tantalizing all-day international cuisine and the Lobby Lounge is the hotspot for guests to unwind with cocktails and refreshments.

 

Discounted parking at the nearby Q-Park is available to all guests. The Park Plaza Victoria's childcare and concierge services along with a multi-lingual staff can streamline any Amsterdam visit with helpful conveniences and added comforts.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (across the street)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5 mi/23 km)
Attractions
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt)
  • Begijnjof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4.5 km)
  • Heineken Experience (2.5 mi/4.5 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (3 blocks)
Business
  • Business center
  • 11 meeting and event spaces

Hotel Map

52.3771 4.8983
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
SCHIPHOL ARPT, (AMS), 18.00, KM, SW; ROTTERDAM ARPT, (RTM), 70.00, KM, N; EINDHOVEN AIRPORT, (EIN), 122.00, KM, SE;
Area description
Downtown, This hotel is located near downtown.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.1 mi
  • Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.2 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.1 mi
  • Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.2 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • New Church: 0.4 mi
  • National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.5 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.5 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.5 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.5 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • The Whale: 0.5 mi
  • EYE Film Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.5 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.6 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.6 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.6 mi

Dining

Season's Garden
Breakfast Only.
Park Plaza Brasserie
Located onsite.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TMJG39
Business
Los Angeles, ca
Jun 10, 2014

Could go from good to great if price was Lower!!!!

It was my 2nd stay at Park Plaza. The concierge and bartenders along with reception desk personnel were great. So friendly and so helpful! First room I was checked into was older didn't smell so good and a real disappointment. The hotel moved me to another side and that room was much nicer. Not amazing but nicer. The location is perfect. Only downfall is the price. Way, way too much money for the room. Unless the rate was lower, I think on my next day I would try another hotel. If money doesn't matter… Then try Park Plaza!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler2576
Business
France
Jan 13, 2014

Victoria

This hotel was very close to all. The sauna was hot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Central station is next door.

Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newly weds of 30 years
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 4, 2013

Too big, too loud, with all the characters out front we didn't feel safe,

Got lost for over 5 minutes looking for our room because we took wrong elevator. (2 separate sections not connected above 1st floor). Came in after 10pm and had to park car ourselves and pay high fee at public lot. Not much of a personal feel anywhere in hotel. The general area is quite crowded with Red Light district tour gatherings out front and loud parties outside our window at night. Room was comfortable and clean and staff for the most part were very helpful. Would have preferred something more personable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Van Gogh museum great!

Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pyl14
Hawthorne, NJ
May 2, 2013

Great Spring Vacation

Convienant location, directly across from Central Station. Staff was friendly and helpful and more than willing to help with any questiond

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inga T.
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 7, 2013

Great location, poor cleaning of the rooms

The sheets get changed every other day, so we were told, after finding our sheets just tucked back in on the 2nd day of our stay. If you want more than 1 roll of toilet paper, which any normal couple would need, you need to ask for it every time which is annoying and sort of embarrassing at the same time. It doesn't get changed every day, even if the cleaning staff clearly sees that the roll is almost done. We also found a used maxi-pad in the top of the extra pillow that was in the closet. I am not kidding, a used one. It was so disgusting that we couldn't bring ourselves to go and tell the front desk about it. The mini bar doesn't get checked or re-stocked daily (maybe once a week) & ours had a half-eaten Mars bar in it. The best part of this hotel is its location. It's right smack in the middle of everything and across the street from the Central Station which has the trains, trams & buses. The food in the hotel restaurant was really good. The concierges were all knowledgeable and super nice & helpful. So, if they would just get their cleaning situation straightened out, they would become a perfect hotel in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amsterman
Climax, NC
Mar 20, 2013

Just Like Family

I've stayed at this hotel many times in the past 10 years. The reasons are many, but the first thing on the list is the staff. The concierge service is phenominal. Polite, cheerful and helpful. I've always felt that I was treated like one of the family and actually hated to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A.I.
nj
Sep 19, 2012

Great location, nice hotel

Stayed 2 days in September after the cruise, the locations is great as right opposite the Centraal station, room is updated and modern in the 'new' wing facing the station. Surprisingly quiet, bed is very comfortable. wi-fi did not work in the room. Overall nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aandjq
Yorkshire
Sep 10, 2012

Good Value Weekend Break For 2

We picked this hotel based on its proximity to the station & as it was a central point to explore the city as we had never been before. The lobby was very smart & staff very helpful but the room was a little bit of a let down. A large room was let down by a very uncomfortable bed & smallest bathroom i have ever come across with just enough room for one person to stand in between the shower, loo & sink. We didnt have a view from the window but some rooms will have offered a nice view of the impressive central station. Overall, with the good location & excellent staff, the hotel was good value for money but if we had stayed longer than 2-3 nights, the bed would have become unbearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ganesha Indian Restraunt was excellent!!

Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johnny dude
bronx, new york
Aug 28, 2012

the best

the park plaza is located in the perfect spot for everything. all transportation is right outside the hotel. it's in walking distance from many attractions. the room sevice was great. the staff at the desk were very kind and helpful. my room was great. i stayed in the new wing this time. it was nice and up to date. i plan on staying here for a 3rd time next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peter Kim
Business
Daejeon, Korea
Aug 12, 2012

Only location

Except location (near from central station), nothing to recommend. The most inconvenient thing is that there is no place to put my luggage on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top