$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Rembrandtplein 26, Amsterdam, 1017CV
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
19 reviews
Awesome!

Hotel staff were all great in helping out to client's needs. Location, location, location is one... See full review

  • Eliza Rochelle
  • Mar 29, 2013
Amsterdam holiday

Hotel Schiller is located on the famous Rembrandtplein in the centre of the city and close to... See full review

  • Ouwe Hollander
  • Feb 15, 2014
The hotel originates from 1912 and lies directly to the lively Rembrandt square, direct in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is an official Dutch monument, has a rich cultural history, and an obvious style with lots of Art Deco and jugenstill details. Behind the lovely facade, the rooms are modern and well equipped to accommodate all guests. Direct public transport connection with Amsterdam Central Station and the RAI congress centre both can be reached within 10 minutes. The Rembandtplein is the most well known goodtime of Amsterdam, due to the theaters, bars, restaurants and clubs. Museums as the Rembrandt House and the jewish Historical Museum are within walking distance. The famous shopping streets; Kalverstraat and P.C. Hoofstraat are in the direct surroudings of the hotel. A 5% city tax is to be paid at the hotel.

NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Single
Room with single bed includes cable TV, choice of pillows, direct-dial telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Double
Room with double bed includes cable TV, choice of pillows, direct-dial telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3658 4.8965
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 11.1 km, Rotterdam Airport - 55.0 km.
Area description
NH Schiller is located in the heart of Amsterdam, on the Rembrandplein. All kind of restaurants, pubs and famous attractions are within walking distance. Parking is a short walk while taxis and trams can be found 500 meters from the hotel. NH Schiller is located on the Rembrantplein and is accessible by public transport. The Metro and bus connections are within 500 metres. There are direct trains from the Airport to Amsterdam Central Station. The journey takes around 15 minutes.

Nearby points of interest

  • Rembrandt Square: 0 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.1 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.2 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.2 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.2 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.2 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.2 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.1 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.2 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.2 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.2 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.2 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.2 mi
  • Stopera: 0.2 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.2 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.3 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.3 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.3 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • University Library: 0.3 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.3 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.3 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.3 mi
  • Book Market: 0.4 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Spui: 0.4 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.4 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.4 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.4 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.4 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Brasserie Schiller
Brasserie Schiller is a beautiful Art Deco restaurant located in the downtown area on the lively Rembrandt Square.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
NH Schiller offers three refurbished, classic rooms, suitable for private dinners and meetings. The rooms can accommodate up to a maximum of 12 people and all have natural light. The Schiller Brasserie had various separate areas for group dinners (up to a maximum of 150 people). Upon request, the hotel can prepare special menus for groups.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
10 out of 19
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Istanbul, Turkey
Nov 16, 2010

Perfect hotel for Amsterdam

We stayed 5 days at the hotel, which is located right on the 9 tram line and walkable to all the sights. Great food options and gay/straight bars close by, not to mention all the museums Amsterdam has to offer. Hotel was clean and staff professional. Our room had a double bed and was fine for a few days but if longer than too small. No ice machine but bar downstairs can give you some ice in a small bucket. Rembrantplein square gets busy at night so stay in a room facing the back of the hotel, which was very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the "I amsterdam" card 24/48/72 hours to see all the museums, take a canal tour, and access to tram.

Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
Ouwe Hollander
Chicago
Feb 15, 2014

Amsterdam holiday

Hotel Schiller is located on the famous Rembrandtplein in the centre of the city and close to everything. The Art Deco hotel is lovely and the staff is genuine and extremely helpful. Great restaurants in the area and the holt restaurant is also delicious. Since the hotel is located in the city center there is always something going on in the area. Hotel provides ear plugs for light sleepers which is nice. Our front faced the square and it was great waking up to the culture of European city. Excellent food at the Sluizer on Utrechtsestraat around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant Sluizer, De nachtwacht, Kwekkeboom, Zuiver coffee, cafe Schiller, Pasta e Basta and Hotel Schiller, Eet cafe Van Dobben

Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Italy
Apr 27, 2011

Amsterdam@Easter

Good Experience but rooms facing the front of the square are quite noisy. I request to switch in the back of the hotel (fully quiet). Service and clean are very OK. reccomended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
NYC
May 8, 2009

Very cool location

Art,music and architecture

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Indonesian right next door

Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
Rasheed
London
Sep 2, 2012

Great Vacation with my wife!

The hotel was ideally situated, very easy to find, clean, the staff were friendly and the noise levels were ok. The location of this hotel means you are in the central part of an entertainment complex that is of course perfect for night life, but can get a bit noisy at times. We smartly we opted for a back facing level 5 room which meant we could escape the noises when we needed the rest. Asides from that small matter, it was a absolutely fantastic stay, no complaints whatsoever and when i return i shall be certainly checking NH schillers rates!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
twinkotter
New York, NY
Mar 11, 2013

central location with a good story

great location in Rembrandtplein and the hotel is designed to highlight local historical artist Schiller. rooms are good sized and clean with simple design.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
Benelux Travelers
Southeast US
Jun 30, 2013

Great location, but...

This is a historic hotel and it illustrates the best and worst of what makes a hotel historic. The location was fantastic and the decor was quirky and interesting. However, the bathroom was small and the rooms on the mezzanine floors were small, cold, without a view, and they required one to use a half flight of stairs. The staff were knowledgable, friendly, and very accommodating. I would return for the location alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Indrapura (next door) for a rice table!

Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
Evo
Atlanta, GA
Apr 12, 2010

Great location in Rembrandtplein!

It was our first trip to Amsterdam and we chose the hotel purely based on location. Rembrandt square is a great place to stay. The square is full of life and there are lots of restaurants right at the hotel's doorstep. There are 3 tram lines that pick up at the square which is really convenient! We had no idea NH is actually a huge hotel chain - which made it even better and more reliable. The service was great. I prefer big hotels though; not the bed and breakfasts or smaller establishments because the rooms are always questionable, as is the cleanliness, comfort and service. When we asked about the view from the hotel rooms, the front desk person gave us keys to two different rooms and let us pick our own based on which view we liked better! I stay at hotels a lot and no one has ever given me that option - it was quite nice. The beds were comfortable enough - by European standards. The bathroom was big compared to other European hotels but nothing as luxurious as you would find in a comparable hotel in the US. There was a large closet and TV and plenty of space. It was well worth the cost. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the hotel at all but the lobby always smelled good. The hotel is right next to a "coffee shop."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on going all over the city, buy the 24 hour pass from the attendant on the tram. It's only 7 Euros and well worth it. The trams are super convenient!

Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
ChrisNYC
New York, NY, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Great Location for Youngsters

This hotel was one of the interesting buildings on Rembrandt square. it was decorated in art deco style and really interesting. The staff was neither overly friendly or mean but did speak a multitude of languages. The room was spacious, clean and well taken care of. I would suggest this hotel for the younger crowd as it is on Rembrandt Square, a popular area of bars and clubs, which can be very noisy at nighttime. Three stops on the #9 tram from centraal station and you are there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 11, 2009

Great location

This was our second time to Amsterdam. Although we loved the hotel we stayed at during our previous trip, we thought we would stay in a different part of the city this time around. Ok, the only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is in a really, really great location. One of the major tram routes goes right by the front of the hotel and it is in walking distance of lots of major sites, shops, and restaurants. There is even a coffee shop right next door. We went to a concert at the Melkweg and that was within walking distance, even on a rainy March evening. When I saw the photos on the Orbitz website, the rooms looked really nice, newly remodeled, and clean. Wrong, wrong, and wrong. The room was really tiny and we payed WAY too much for what we got. Internet use was not free, nor was there a free breakfast- we were told we could have breakfast in the hotel restaurant for 17 euros. Yikes! Even though the hotel was definitely not to our liking, we were in Amsterdam- one of the most beautiful cities in the world- and not even a bad hotel could get in the way of our good time. We just wouldn't recommend this hotel to any of our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Melkweg and check out some live music. We got to see Peter, Bjorn, and John which was great.

Back to menu Return to top