$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Rembrandtplein 26, Amsterdam, 1017CV
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
31 reviews
Awesome!

Hotel staff were all great in helping out to client's needs. Location, location, location is one... See full review

  • Eliza Rochelle
  • Mar 29, 2013
Nice place

We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel having read reviews that said front facing rooms were... See full review

  • asoew
  • Apr 29, 2014
The hotel originates from 1912 and lies directly to the lively Rembrandt square, direct in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is an official Dutch monument, has a rich cultural history, and an obvious style with lots of Art Deco and jugenstill details. Behind the lovely facade, the rooms are modern and well equipped to accommodate all guests. Direct public transport connection with Amsterdam Central Station and the RAI congress centre both can be reached within 10 minutes. The Rembandtplein is the most well known goodtime of Amsterdam, due to the theaters, bars, restaurants and clubs. Museums as the Rembrandt House and the jewish Historical Museum are within walking distance. The famous shopping streets; Kalverstraat and P.C. Hoofstraat are in the direct surroudings of the hotel. A 5% city tax is to be paid at the hotel.

NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Single
Room with single bed includes cable TV, choice of pillows, direct-dial telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Double
Room with double bed includes cable TV, choice of pillows, direct-dial telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3658 4.8965
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 11.1 km, Rotterdam Airport - 55.0 km.
Area description
NH Schiller is located in the heart of Amsterdam, on the Rembrandplein. All kind of restaurants, pubs and famous attractions are within walking distance. Parking is a short walk while taxis and trams can be found 500 meters from the hotel. NH Schiller is located on the Rembrantplein and is accessible by public transport. The Metro and bus connections are within 500 metres. There are direct trains from the Airport to Amsterdam Central Station. The journey takes around 15 minutes.

Nearby points of interest

  • Rembrandt Square: 0 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.1 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.2 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.2 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.2 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.2 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.2 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.1 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.2 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.2 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.2 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.2 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.2 mi
  • Stopera: 0.2 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.2 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.3 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.3 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.3 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • University Library: 0.3 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.3 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.3 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.3 mi
  • Book Market: 0.4 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Spui: 0.4 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.4 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.4 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.4 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.4 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Brasserie Schiller
Brasserie Schiller is a beautiful Art Deco restaurant located in the downtown area on the lively Rembrandt Square.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
NH Schiller offers three refurbished, classic rooms, suitable for private dinners and meetings. The rooms can accommodate up to a maximum of 12 people and all have natural light. The Schiller Brasserie had various separate areas for group dinners (up to a maximum of 150 people). Upon request, the hotel can prepare special menus for groups.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny ny
Jul 26, 2009

good location

nh schiller is in one of the most busiest parts of amsterdam, rembrandt plein, which makes it really convenient for those who are looking for easy access to alot of the local hot spots. check in and out went smoothly and the staff seemed friendly enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 11, 2009

Great location

This was our second time to Amsterdam. Although we loved the hotel we stayed at during our previous trip, we thought we would stay in a different part of the city this time around. Ok, the only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is in a really, really great location. One of the major tram routes goes right by the front of the hotel and it is in walking distance of lots of major sites, shops, and restaurants. There is even a coffee shop right next door. We went to a concert at the Melkweg and that was within walking distance, even on a rainy March evening. When I saw the photos on the Orbitz website, the rooms looked really nice, newly remodeled, and clean. Wrong, wrong, and wrong. The room was really tiny and we payed WAY too much for what we got. Internet use was not free, nor was there a free breakfast- we were told we could have breakfast in the hotel restaurant for 17 euros. Yikes! Even though the hotel was definitely not to our liking, we were in Amsterdam- one of the most beautiful cities in the world- and not even a bad hotel could get in the way of our good time. We just wouldn't recommend this hotel to any of our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Melkweg and check out some live music. We got to see Peter, Bjorn, and John which was great.

Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 11, 2009

Great location

This was our second time to Amsterdam. Although we loved the hotel we stayed at during our previous trip, we thought we would stay in a different part of the city this time around. Ok, the only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is in a really, really great location. One of the major tram routes goes right by the front of the hotel and it is in walking distance of lots of major sites, shops, and restaurants. There is even a coffee shop right next door. We went to a concert at the Melkweg and that was within walking distance, even on a rainy March evening. When I saw the photos on the Orbitz website, the rooms looked really nice, newly remodeled, and clean. Wrong, wrong, and wrong. The room was really tiny and we payed WAY too much for what we got. Internet use was not free, nor was there a free breakfast- we were told we could have breakfast in the hotel restaurant for 17 euros. Yikes! Even though the hotel was definitely not to our liking, we were in Amsterdam- one of the most beautiful cities in the world- and not even a bad hotel could get in the way of our good time. We just wouldn't recommend this hotel to any of our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Melkweg and check out some live music. We got to see Peter, Bjorn, and John which was great.

Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
May 8, 2009

Very cool location

Art,music and architecture

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Indonesian right next door

Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
May 8, 2009

Very cool location

Art,music and architecture

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Indonesian right next door

Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hauppauge, NY
Oct 5, 2008

great location

Was there on business trip, this hotel is located in great area if you crave some nightlife in the evening.There are a couple of very active night clubs across street. It also has Tram stop right there, so its easy to get to other parts of city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you dont like loud music at night be sure you dont get room facing square

Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hauppauge, NY
Oct 5, 2008

great location

Was there on business trip, this hotel is located in great area if you crave some nightlife in the evening.There are a couple of very active night clubs across street. It also has Tram stop right there, so its easy to get to other parts of city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you dont like loud music at night be sure you dont get room facing square

Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Bend, IN
Aug 2, 2008

Old yet modern

The Schiller offers very nice clean rooms and its location is superb. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Our stay there was everything we could have wanted. We did not eat there, as too many other good choices existed nearby. The hotel is old, but had 2 lifts and modern bathrooms. The place is dated somewhat, but to us, that held much of its charm. The flat screen TVs and in-room stocked refrigerators and in-room safes were amenities that were definitely not dated. We would stay there again. The only negative stand out was the miserable grey striped carpeting in the rooms. It looks very economy. But the beds were comfortable and the bedding luxurious. Give it a try and we think you'll like it there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within a short walk of RembrantPlein, and if its too far for you to walk, there's a tram stop there too

Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Bend, IN
Aug 2, 2008

Old yet modern

The Schiller offers very nice clean rooms and its location is superb. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Our stay there was everything we could have wanted. We did not eat there, as too many other good choices existed nearby. The hotel is old, but had 2 lifts and modern bathrooms. The place is dated somewhat, but to us, that held much of its charm. The flat screen TVs and in-room stocked refrigerators and in-room safes were amenities that were definitely not dated. We would stay there again. The only negative stand out was the miserable grey striped carpeting in the rooms. It looks very economy. But the beds were comfortable and the bedding luxurious. Give it a try and we think you'll like it there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within a short walk of RembrantPlein, and if its too far for you to walk, there's a tram stop there too

Review of NH Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, VA
Jul 23, 2008

false charges to mini bar

My big complaint is that someone was entering my room while I was out and taking items out of the mini bar and then charging them to my room,hoping I would not notice,I complained to the front desk and had all the false charges removed.this happened twice during my stay.The Schiller needs to clean house.I would not reccomend the hotel to anyone on account of this alone.In all other areas the hotel was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The area around the hotel is great for nightlife and dining.

Back to menu Return to top