$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Nieuwe Doelenstraat 24, Amsterdam, 1012 CP
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
48 reviews
perfect base for exploring this fab city

We had a standard room for 3 nights on a room only basis. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.... See full review

  • Thah
  • Aug 11, 2013
A Romantic Engagement

It was great. The location couldn't be better-very close to the 'action', but just far enough for... See full review

  • NatalieD
  • Dec 31, 2013
Highlights
  • Rembrandt painted The Night Watch here and former guests include The Beatles
  • Magnificent Amstel River location, convenient to all major Amsterdam attractions
  • 24-hour, multi-lingual front-desk service
Stay in elegance and style at Rembrandt and The Beatles hangout

Built in the 17th century, the NH Doelen Hotel is a former hangout for The Beatles and the venue where Rembrandt painted his masterpiece, The Night Watch.  The magnificent façade and elegant interiors of the city's oldest hotel transport guests to Amsterdam's Golden Age, while Wi-Fi access and satellite TVs offer a modern edge to this four-star hotel. Excellent river-view dining and convenient services combined with close proximity to premier attractions like the Rijksmuseum and Dam Square make the NH Doelen an excellent choice.

Rooms

The NH Doelen Hotel's 85 guest rooms offer a warm, elegant ambience suited to the hotel's 17th century heritage. Plush drapery and bedding, wide windows with Amstel River views and rich wood furnishings complement such high-tech amenities as satellite/cable TV with On Demand entertainment and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Guests enjoy stocked mini bars and complimentary newspaper delivery.

Features

Overlooking the shimmering Amstel River, the magnificent façade of NH Doelen Hotel is only a taste of the immaculate, 17th-century vintage elegance that awaits beyond the front doors. Stately furnishings and meticulous detailing in the lobby transports guests to the time of Rembrandt (who painted his masterpiece, The Night Watch on the third floor) and Amsterdam's Golden Age. Guests enjoy magnificent Amstel River views while dining or cocktailing. The lobby offers complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary newspapers and 24-hour, multi-lingual front-desk service. 

Transportation

  • Shuttle service to Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
Attractions

  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Rembrandt House Museum (Rembrandthuis) (less than 1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (1 mi/2 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (1 mi/2 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/1 km)
Business
  • Business services available on request
  • Multi-purpose meeting room
  • 645 square feet of meeting and event space, accommodating up to 50 attendees
Polices & Fees


A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

52.3683 4.8958
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 11.2 km, Rotterdam Airport - 55.2 km.
Area description
NH Doelen is located in the heart of Amsterdam alongside the river Amstel between Rembrandtplein and Dam square. The flower market is just a short walk from the hotel also as a variety of theaters and museums, including the Rembrandt House, the Rijksmuseum and the Jewish Historical museums, as well as many restaurants, cafes and the Red Light District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Single Room
Room with single bed includes cable TV, choice of pillows, direct-dial telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Double Room
Room with double bed includes cable TV, choice of pillows, direct-dial telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Droog: 0.1 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.1 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.1 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.1 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.2 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.2 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.2 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • East India House: 0.2 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.2 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.1 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.1 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.1 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.1 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.2 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.2 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.2 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • East India House: 0.2 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.2 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.2 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.2 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.2 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.3 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.3 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Book Market: 0.3 mi
  • Stopera: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.3 mi
  • University Library: 0.3 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.3 mi
  • Spui: 0.3 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.3 mi
  • National Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The NH Doelen offers a breakfast buffet every morning in the hotel which is served in the breakfast room that overlooks the Amstel River. Breakfast is served between 07:00 and 10:30 from Monday till Saturday and from 07:00 till 12:00 on Sundays. For lunch and dinner the hotel recommends you use Brasserie Schiller at the NH Schiller which is within walking distance, just across the River Amstel, overlooking the Rembrandt square. The Brasserie has a beautiful Art Deco setting and a unique ambiance to make the ideal setting. Both contemporary as well as new creative ideas can be found on the menu, which is French International orientated.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The NH Doelen has a multifunctional room with natural light, which can accommodate up to 50 people for meetings or training courses. Upon request special menus for groups can be organized in Brasserie Schiller, at NH Schiller, located at the Rembrandt square (walking distance).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
duma
Business
Washington DC
Jan 4, 2011

good hotel

The NH Doelen is about a 15-minute walk from Amsterdam's central railway station. The room was clean and comfortable, but not well lit. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Great location for the price

The hotel was overbooked when I arrived and they asked me if I was traveling alone and I said yes but I perfer to book a double room because I like a king size bed. The manager ask if I would mind staying in a single room the first night and they would give me a suite the next night and I said yes. They also gave me free breakfast for two. I was very pleased with the service and love the location of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
May 4, 2009

We loved it, friendly service

We really liked the NH Doelen, the view out our window was so pretty, the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was a decent size and quite nicely decorated. I would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Florida
Sep 2, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

I have stayed at the N.H.Doelen twice and I like its location. It is close to mass transit ,museums, and great places to eat. I was there on business and it is close to where I needed to be to access the businesses I was there to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Helio
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Great location

Location was great. I was able to walk to every attraction. I took train from airport for less than $5. I walked from train station in less than 20 min with my roller board. Staff was informative and friendly. The view on one side faces another building but looks nice. I was ok with that. It is 30 euro/night to go to the canal side. I was not in the room much except for sleep. The bathroom was pretty good. The room was kind of plain. The business internet computer was free but you need to use 15 min vouchers. The Coffee Shop attached to the building is great. I preferred to get coffee and apple pie there than use the hotel. The TV was an old small CRT kind but I did get CNN and about 4 English speaking channels. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take train to and from airport, $5 each way. Make sure you leave early to go to airport. There is help at airport that will explain train and hotel location. 20 min walk, approx 0.8 miles distance.

Review of NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vivlondon
london
Jul 11, 2012

location

location not bad old hotel in need of decoration being charged for wifi in the room room in need of updating badly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walk past canals

Review of NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerGuy
Business
New York City
Feb 11, 2011

Fair hotel, great location

By US standards, this place is just okay. The room I was in was outdated in several respects. Overall, it was clean and comfortable, though. The hotel's real advantage was in its value for its location. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel cub
Detroit MI
Jul 19, 2010

Weekend in Amsterdam

A very convenient location for visiting the sites of Amsterdam - Anne Frank house, NEMO, canal tours, etc. The hotel is on the older side with an elevator that only functions part of the time. The internet connection was somewhat of a hassle and the rooms were rather dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Helio
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Great location

Location was great. I was able to walk to every attraction. I took train from airport for less than $5. I walked from train station in less than 20 min with my roller board. Staff was informative and friendly. The view on one side faces another building but looks nice. I was ok with that. It is 30 euro/night to go to the canal side. I was not in the room much except for sleep. The bathroom was pretty good. The room was kind of plain. The business internet computer was free but you need to use 15 min vouchers. The Coffee Shop attached to the building is great. I preferred to get coffee and apple pie there than use the hotel. The TV was an old small CRT kind but I did get CNN and about 4 English speaking channels. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take train to and from airport, $5 each way. Make sure you leave early to go to airport. There is help at airport that will explain train and hotel location. 20 min walk, approx 0.8 miles distance.

Review of NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerGuy
Business
New York City
Feb 11, 2011

Fair hotel, great location

By US standards, this place is just okay. The room I was in was outdated in several respects. Overall, it was clean and comfortable, though. The hotel's real advantage was in its value for its location. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top