$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

3 stars
Spuistraat 288-292, Amsterdam, 1012VX
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
22 reviews
Great for exploring the city

My son and I stayed for two nights. The location was perfect, and the room was comfortable, clean... See full review

  • Mother and son travellers
  • Oct 5, 2013
Great Location! Good Value!

We were in Amsterdam for three days. The city itself was beautiful and quaint and the people very... See full review

  • DC Travelers 2012
  • Mar 31, 2013
Modern style blends with traditional charm at this canal-side hotel

The gorgeous Singel Canal makes a striking backdrop to the charming NH City Centre Amsterdam. Rooms combine plush comforts with high-tech amenities. Similarly, the hotel's Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen, spanning five 17th-century buildings, blends old world Dutch interiors with flavorful New Dutch cuisine. Guests can unwind at the Bar Gerzonis or enjoy a stroll in the classic Winter Garden. Several first-rate Amsterdam attractions are steps away, including the Flower Market, the Begijnof complex and the Anne Frank House.

Highlights
  • Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen presents new Dutch cuisine in an historic setting      
  • Picturesque Singel Canal location
  • Within walking distance of many premier Amsterdam sights
Rooms

The NH City Centre Amsterdam offers 209 comfortable, contemporary guest rooms, many with stunning city or canal views. Guests enjoy premium bedding, flat-screen TVs with satellite channels and On Demand entertainment, as well as high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and fully-equipped bathrooms featuring handheld showerheads.

Features

Located on the beautiful Singel Canal, the NH City Centre Hotel offers guests modern amenities to go with the hotel's picturesque surroundings. Many of Amsterdam's premier sights are within walking distance, though guests can hop on bikes (rentals are available on-site) or the tram (stops are only a few blocks north and south of the hotel) to explore the city as well.

 

The NH City Centre Hotel houses the renowned Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen. Encompassing eight interconnected dining rooms across five vintage 17th-century buildings, the restaurant is a dazzling tribute to historic Amsterdam, serving sumptuous new Dutch breakfasts and dinners. Guests can unwind with excellent cocktails and world-class wines at the restaurant's Bar Gerzonis.

 

For receptions or simply unwinding, the picturesque Winter Garden is an ideal setting. A multi-lingual front-desk staff, concierge services and daily breakfast buffets add to the ease and convenience that guests enjoy at the NH City Centre Hotel.

Transportation
  • Shuttle service to Schiphol Airport (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (less than 1 mi/.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (less than 1 mi/.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (less than 1 mi/.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2 mi/3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 1,700 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

52.3697 4.8889
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 11.0 km, Rotterdam Airport - 55.1 km.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Single or Double.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The American Book Center: 0.1 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.1 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.1 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.1 mi
  • Book Market: 0.1 mi
  • Spui: 0.1 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.1 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.1 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.1 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 0.1 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.1 mi
  • University Library: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.2 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.1 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.1 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.1 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.1 mi
  • Book Market: 0.1 mi
  • Spui: 0.1 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.1 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.1 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.1 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 0.1 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.1 mi
  • University Library: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.2 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.2 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.2 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.2 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 0.2 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.2 mi
  • BeBoB Design: 0.2 mi
  • Netherlands Media Arts Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.2 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.3 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.3 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Prinsengracht: 0.3 mi
  • Single: 0.3 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • National Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.3 mi
  • Villa Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.3 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant D'Vijff Vlieghen
The Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen which was opened in 1939, is located in five authentic 17th century buildings between the Spuistraat and the Singel, in the heart of Amsterdam. The cuisine of d'Vijff Vlieghen is based upon dishes prepared with organic vegetables, with this idea in mind, the restaurant sets a new era in Dutch cuisine.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The winter garden has natural light and is perfect for receptions, cocktails and celebrations of any kind. The meeting rooms, with views over the canal also have natural light, being perfect for small meetings and interviews.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother and son travellers
Twickenham, UK
Oct 5, 2013

Great for exploring the city

My son and I stayed for two nights. The location was perfect, and the room was comfortable, clean and well equipped. We found the staff very helpful. We followed the hotel website advice about getting a tram from Central Station but it turned out that there were diversions because of long-term road works and the tram didn't stop at Spui as usual. New to the city, it took us a while to work this out and we had to get another tram back from the outskirts to Dam Square, and start again. At the end of our visit, we didn't bother with the tram, shuttle bus or taxi that were suggested, we just walked to the station which was only about 15-20 mins. In fact nowhere was ever further than 20 mins' walk, and the route was always delightful. We didn't take the hotel breakfast but found a cafe further along the street for one morning and a tiny cake shop that also served coffee for the other.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cake shop is out of the back door of the hotel and just a few doors along on the corner of the bridge and street. The best coffee and an amazing array of cakes and waffels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
djdjb
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 28, 2013

Internet connection bad

Paid for a wifi connection that barely worked. My hotel in India had a better connection, India! But otherwise, great central location that allowed me to walk to anywhere in the city. The room was also rather large for a European hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Travelers 2012
New Hampshire
Mar 31, 2013

Great Location! Good Value!

We were in Amsterdam for three days. The city itself was beautiful and quaint and the people very friendly. The hotel was excellent. The clerk who checked us in was witty and informative, especially while trying to ascertain the difference between a twin and a double bed! The room was spacious and the large'ish bathroom was appreciated, as well as a real, standup shower, as opposed to a hand shower. The room was cleaned daily, the bed was comfortable, the temperature was great and the blackout curtain worked well. The location was perfect - wthin walking distances of anything in City Centre. Our only criticism is that the coke machines did not contain bottled water. A great hotel for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gosha123
Hannover, Germany
Mar 4, 2013

Great Location, somewhat noisy

Location is really good. Hotel is good and clean, but nothing overly exciting about it. Somewhat loud at night: there is noise from the street and you can hear everything that goes on in the hall. If you have a car, parking is 40 Euros per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grananne
scotland
Feb 27, 2013

great weekend

All the staff were very helpful and friendly hotel location very central lots to do within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bfolar
Cambrdige, UK
Jan 12, 2013

Quite good actually

I arrived tiered and rather upset since my baggage was missing, the staff were welcoming and quite helpful. I would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tricia L.
Pennsylvania
May 25, 2012

Quality Service-Affordable Price

This was my first visit to Amsterdam and we arrived by train at the Central Station. The hotel accommodated our early arrival. Our room was not ready, but they found another room, that was slightly upgraded (without charge) and allowed us to check-in early. The location is about 3-4 blocks from the Central Station but very close to the tram stop(s). We requested a canal side view and they happily complied. The staff graciously offered suggestions for dining and provided directions readily. They also allowed us to store our luggage after check-out and were friendly even when busy with other guests. Our room was clean with wood floors and was generously sized. The bathroom had large counter space and very nice shower (no tub). It was located near many popular bars and restaurants and just blocks from the city centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

See this city by bike! It's a very walkable city but seeing it by bike was our favorite part of the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Wayne
Eden Prairie Minnesota
May 19, 2012

Sight seeing in Amsterdam

The hotel is well situated for seeing all the sites. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and had nice bathrooms. A good place to stay for visiting Amsterdam, everything was in easy walking distance. I would recommend to anyone looking for a an affordable stay in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restuarants within a one to two block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry 'n Bob
Minneapolis, MN, USA
May 2, 2012

In the central city!

This was a very nice hotel; pretty basic amenities but very helpful front desk staff, clean and spacious bath and bedroom. Located just a few blocks from the Anne Frank House, Rembrandt's home, lots of good restaurants in varying price ranges. The hotel has a continental breakfast for 15 Euros per person, and it was good. It may seem expensive, but it saves having to walk around to find breakfast in another restaurant, which will probably be just as expensive, unless you just want coffee and a pastry. (This has eggs, hot and cold meats, fruit, pastries, cheese, breads and coffee and tea, juice) We happened to be there on April 30, the Queen's birthday--a national holiday. Lots of people come to Amsterdam for this, and it's a crowded, all-day party--we were right in the thick of it at this hotel, but since our room was located in the inner part of the building (it's like an "O" shape), the noise level was fine that evening!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJCI
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great location!

This hotel was the perfect place to stay. We walked everywhere and never once took a taxi or tram. The room was clean and the front desk was very helpful. While the staff was very friendly, if you stay here make sure to look around for signage on specific country information. We neglected to see the sign about the time change and almost didnt wake up in time the next morning for our flight. Overall great value and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are great bars and restaurants next to and across from this hotel. We found an Indonesian place that we loved and ate there both nights!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search