$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 23, 2015 Check-out: Feb 26, 2015

NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Vijzelstraat 4, Amsterdam, 1017 HK
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
35 reviews
great location for my birthday weekend

the carlton is centrally locacated on the tram line .and fantastic restuarants and bars right on... See full review

  • tonia
  • Jan 27, 2015
happy holiday

Had a lovely stay at N H Carlton. many thanks to Dana who arranged exactly what I asked for. Also... See full review

  • kay g.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Experience historic Amsterdam from this elegant, canal-side charmer

The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam Hotel overlooks the lovely, historic Signal Canal, home to the world-famous floating Flower Market. Within minutes of the Anne Frank House, Dam Square and the city's iconic museums, the NH Carlton is an ideal location not only for sightseers and shopping enthusiasts, but for those on business in this thriving capital. The in-house restaurant and coffee shop, Il Girasole, serves renowned Italian fare, while the NH Carlton's multi-lingual staff offers extensive guest services, from a business center to bike rentals.

Highlights
  • Prime location in Amsterdam's historic heart, within minutes of major attractions
  • Il Girasole Ristorante serves excellent Italian dishes, wines and coffees
  • Comprehensive guest and business services, from concierge to bike rentals
Rooms

The 218 rooms at NH Carlton Hotel are spacious and welcome guests with soothing color palettes, modern décor and wood furnishings. After a hectic day of sightseeing or business meetings, guests can kick back on plush bedding or armchairs and enjoy the flat-screen TVs featuring satellite channels and On Demand movies. Guests also enjoy Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and fully-stocked mini bars. All rooms feature full bathrooms with elegant marble flooring and stylish countertops.

Features

The NH Carlton Hotel is next door to the world-famous floating Flower Market and a breezy stroll from major Amsterdam destinations, including the Anne Frank House, Dam Square and the Heineken Experience. The central location also puts guests in the neighborhood of premium dining and shopping on P.C. Hooftstraat and Kalverstraat.

 

Guests of the NH Carlton enjoy Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and discounted entry to the adjacent health club. The concierge and multi-lingual 24-hour front desk can assist with guest tour and ticket arrangements. Known around town for its first-class Italian specialties, the NH Carlton Hotel's Il Girasole Ristorante is a delightful spot for all-day dining, starting with a full-spread buffet breakfast.

 

To enjoy the city on wheels, guests can rent bikes at the hotel. The NH Carlton also offers on-site garage parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (2 mi/3 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 block)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 7 flexible meeting and event rooms
  • 3,800 square feet of meeting space
Polices & Fees

A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Room
The room has a twin or double bed equipped with interactive colour television, pay TV, direct-dial telephone, voice-mail, WiFi, minibar, free tea and coffee making facilities, sound proofing and air-conditioning.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Munttoren: 0.1 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.1 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.1 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.1 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.2 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.2 mi
  • University Library: 0.2 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.2 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.2 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.1 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.1 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.1 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.1 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.2 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.2 mi
  • University Library: 0.2 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.2 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.2 mi
  • Spui: 0.2 mi
  • Book Market: 0.2 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.2 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.2 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.2 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.2 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.3 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.3 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.3 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Concerto : 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.4 mi
  • Stopera: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.4 mi

Dining

Grand Cafe Il Girasole
With its terrace at the famous floating flower market in the centre of Amsterdam, Grand Caf "Il Girasole" offers a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The perfect combination between Dutch flora and the Italian specialties makes your lunch or dinner in this bright, informal environment a great success.
Risorante Caruso
The warm atmosphere of our Italian specialty restaurant Caruso is the best way to experience Italy at its finest! Our restaurant Caruso is not only the perfect surrounding for a romantic dinner by candlelight, it also offers a wonderful atmosphere for a dinner-dance, corporate event or theme night. Restaurant Caruso has received a culinary award by the Italian government and is regularly quoted in the media as being a high quality restaurant. Opening times will be from Tuesday until Saturday from 18.30 - 22.00 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 35
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tonia
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

great location for my birthday weekend

the carlton is centrally locacated on the tram line .and fantastic restuarants and bars right on your door step, we ate at lion noir.round the corner and senses which is directly across the road ...amsterdam is fabulous we will definatley go back ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

senses restaurant across the road.. and pking turn right out of hotel 5 mins walk lovely breakfast for 8 euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darie
Business
London, United Kingdom
Dec 2, 2014

Great location and friendly staff

The hotel room was a very good size, the beds were large and comfortable. Shower had a very good pressure and there was hot water at all times. Daily cleaning and new towels provided. The staff were very friendly and accommodating with our request. We were a group of friends staying in Amsterdam for the weekend and sometimes hotels do not like that. I am happy this wasn't the case at NH Carlton. The only negative I think of is that in our room the carpet was stained. This wasn't to say it was dirty but it does look like it needs to be changed. The location was excellent. Takes less than 10 minutes to reach the hotel from Amsterdam Central. There are lots of shops, stores, restaurants etc just outside and everything is close by. We never tried the restaurant or breakfast but I did like the fact you could have breakfast ordered to your room. Overall would highly recommend this hotel to friends and I will probably stay here again on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DannS
Business
Meriden, CT
Aug 5, 2014

Enjoyable trip

Excellent location, staff helpful and friendly, would definitly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexandra J
Business
Manchester
Jan 28, 2014

Perfect location and hotel

The hotel is easily accessed from the airport, and conveniently located to the majority of popular attractions within Amsterdam. Within walking distance we enjoyed the Amsterdam dungeons, Madam Tussaud's, a variety of museums, the Ice Bar, the red light district and some really lovely eateries. The hotel staff were extremely helpful with directions and the hotel was exceptionally clean. Our room was really large with a great bathroom and views. We were also allowed to check out late when requested the evening before we were due to leave. Would definitely recommend this to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

From the airport a train takes you to the centre of Amsterdam for just $4.50. Then a short tram ride for $2.80 takes you round the corner from the hotel. This will be the only time you require public transport as everything else is more or less on your doorstep.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bliss babe
Business
London, England
May 31, 2012

Girlie weekend to Amsterdam

I stayed here when visiting Amsterdam with my best friend for the weekend. Fantastic location - Being in the centre of the city made all the tourist sights easily accessible. Really friendly and helpful staff at reception. We did not spend a lot of time in the room as we were out exploring the city - so it serves it's purpose well as a base in a great location. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Great shuttle service to the airport available (ask reception to make a booking) which is far cheaper than making the trip by taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zeenz
Business
London
Mar 1, 2012

Excellent location, Great hotel for a weekend break

The staff at the hotel were so friendly! they helped us from check in right through out our trip until chek out!. The location is perfect and you seconds away from the famous flower market, really great cafes and near center locations!. Rooms were clean and all we needed was in the room. A*

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GatorTraveler
Business
OKC, OK
Jul 4, 2011

Clean & easy!

We picked this hotel because we knew the area was very Conveinient and it was one of the least expensive 4star hotel there! Easy check in - free wifi in lobby and clean rooms were a plus! No concierge (so had to wait at reception desk) and oldest hairdryer in Europe were the only downside!! :) Actually the nh Carlton was bigger with newer look than the Eden (more expensive) hotel we stayed in last year! Overall a great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 1, 2010

Excellent central location.

Great location, next to the flower market and museums. Staff was extremely helpful with directions, city transportation and airline schedules. Will definitely book this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Dec 27, 2009

Couldn't have asked for more

This was my 5th trip to Amsterdam and this was by far the best hotel experience I've had in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top