$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Vijzelstraat 4, Amsterdam, 1017 HK

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
37 reviews
At 15 minutes walk from any museum.

Very nice room, very quite and a big screen tv ! Fantastic breakfast ! See full review

  • Anny R.
  • Apr 8, 2015
great location for my birthday weekend

the carlton is centrally locacated on the tram line .and fantastic restuarants and bars right on... See full review

  • tonia
  • Jan 27, 2015
Experience historic Amsterdam from this elegant, canal-side charmer

The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam Hotel overlooks the lovely, historic Signal Canal, home to the world-famous floating Flower Market. Within minutes of the Anne Frank House, Dam Square and the city's iconic museums, the NH Carlton is an ideal location not only for sightseers and shopping enthusiasts, but for those on business in this thriving capital. The in-house restaurant and coffee shop, Il Girasole, serves renowned Italian fare, while the NH Carlton's multi-lingual staff offers extensive guest services, from a business center to bike rentals.

Highlights
  • Prime location in Amsterdam's historic heart, within minutes of major attractions
  • Il Girasole Ristorante serves excellent Italian dishes, wines and coffees
  • Comprehensive guest and business services, from concierge to bike rentals
Rooms

The 218 rooms at NH Carlton Hotel are spacious and welcome guests with soothing color palettes, modern décor and wood furnishings. After a hectic day of sightseeing or business meetings, guests can kick back on plush bedding or armchairs and enjoy the flat-screen TVs featuring satellite channels and On Demand movies. Guests also enjoy Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and fully-stocked mini bars. All rooms feature full bathrooms with elegant marble flooring and stylish countertops.

Features

The NH Carlton Hotel is next door to the world-famous floating Flower Market and a breezy stroll from major Amsterdam destinations, including the Anne Frank House, Dam Square and the Heineken Experience. The central location also puts guests in the neighborhood of premium dining and shopping on P.C. Hooftstraat and Kalverstraat.

 

Guests of the NH Carlton enjoy Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and discounted entry to the adjacent health club. The concierge and multi-lingual 24-hour front desk can assist with guest tour and ticket arrangements. Known around town for its first-class Italian specialties, the NH Carlton Hotel's Il Girasole Ristorante is a delightful spot for all-day dining, starting with a full-spread buffet breakfast.

 

To enjoy the city on wheels, guests can rent bikes at the hotel. The NH Carlton also offers on-site garage parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (2 mi/3 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 block)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 7 flexible meeting and event rooms
  • 3,800 square feet of meeting space
Polices & Fees

A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Room
The room has a twin or double bed equipped with interactive colour television, pay TV, direct-dial telephone, voice-mail, WiFi, minibar, free tea and coffee making facilities, sound proofing and air-conditioning.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Munttoren: 0.1 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.1 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.1 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.1 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.2 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.2 mi
  • University Library: 0.2 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.2 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.2 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.1 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.1 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.1 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.1 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.2 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.2 mi
  • University Library: 0.2 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.2 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.2 mi
  • Spui: 0.2 mi
  • Book Market: 0.2 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.2 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.2 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.2 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.2 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.3 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.3 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.3 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Concerto : 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.4 mi
  • Stopera: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.4 mi

Dining

Grand Cafe Il Girasole
With its terrace at the famous floating flower market in the centre of Amsterdam, Grand Caf "Il Girasole" offers a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The perfect combination between Dutch flora and the Italian specialties makes your lunch or dinner in this bright, informal environment a great success.
Risorante Caruso
The warm atmosphere of our Italian specialty restaurant Caruso is the best way to experience Italy at its finest! Our restaurant Caruso is not only the perfect surrounding for a romantic dinner by candlelight, it also offers a wonderful atmosphere for a dinner-dance, corporate event or theme night. Restaurant Caruso has received a culinary award by the Italian government and is regularly quoted in the media as being a high quality restaurant. Opening times will be from Tuesday until Saturday from 18.30 - 22.00 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 37
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anny R.
Business
N/A
Apr 8, 2015

At 15 minutes walk from any museum.

Very nice room, very quite and a big screen tv ! Fantastic breakfast !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AmandaMitchell Seattle
Business
Seattle, WA
May 2, 2014

Not A 4-Star Hotel

In case you don't want to read all of this, just know one thing: THIS HOTEL IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY. We stayed at NH Carlton last week. We most certainly did not have a 4-star experience. First off, check in takes quite a bit of time, and not just for us, but for everybody, so the lines at 2-3pm get really long. Secondly, as many others have mentioned, the elevators were either all not working, or only had one intermittently working elevator, which meant having to take the stairs. Also, the one single ironing board was on the 7th floor...and I was appalled that I would have to climb 5 flights of stairs from my room to just iron my clothes! So, needless to say, I had to have wrinkled clothing most of my stay. I quit trying to take the service elevator, as it was crammed and was extremely slow. Our hotel room was not cleaned very well every day, and one time we were left with only half a roll of toilet paper after the maid had already done her cleaning for the day. The location of the hotel is the only plus -EXCEPT- when there is an event going on. Since the rooms have zero air conditioning, when its warm you have to leave the windows open. Which is fine, but when the people in Amsterdam celebrate...they dont stop. No matter how early into the morning hours it gets. So you can plan on not getting any sleep on those nights. (We *were* there for the national holiday, so we'll give them that, but this happened after the Football team won as well, and a little on the weekdays too!). According to the reviews, the breakfast was nice. But at check in we were not informed there was a breakfast even available. Also, when we left, we pre arranged at night time for a very early morning airport shuttle. The young man helping us had "Trainee" on his badge, and there were no other employees in sight. He told us we were good to go, and come to find out in the morning he hadn't done it right. Fortunately, they were able to get it sorted and we were able to get on the shuttle, but its just unnerving that they leave not-fully-trained people alone at the counters at night time. Overall, I would have been happy with this hotel if it was a 2-star rating. Then I would have expected these sorts of things. This was our first stay at an NH Hotel, and we have such a bad taste in our mouths that we will never again stay at one of their hotels again. Again, the main point is this: Not worth the money!! The location is nice, but all of Amsterdam is very easily accessible and I would urge you to find a place a little nicer!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Tapas restaurant on Zwanenburgwal called "Restaurant Frenzi." The waitress was extraordinarily friendly, the food was some of the best that we had the whole trip, and it was the most fairly priced meal we had in Amsterdam. Must Visit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New London traveller
Business
London, UK
Apr 2, 2014

Spontaneous weekend in Amsterdam in March

A well-located hotel with spacious rooms - ours was on the corner of the 6th floor with a balcony with great views of the city. Room has a mini-bar and sweets but best to avoid these as they are very expensive (e.g., 3 euros for a well-known chocolate bar). Big downside was how cold the room was - heating appeared not to work whatever we tried and no instructions provided on how to use it. When we queried this with reception they had no idea how it worked and were fobbed off with 'just wait an hour for it to come up to temperature'. Great shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jonathon P.
Business
London
Feb 25, 2014

Great location, needs a renovation

Very nice location and good service. Was able to check into our room at 10AM which was really nice. Rooms are 70s style and need an upgrade. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stusjag
Business
Newcastle, UK
Jan 31, 2014

Nice hotel, but noisy.

Centrally located hotel, ideal for all the popular sightseeing sites, and only about 20 minutes walk from Central Station. Room and staff were fine, but our room was situated at the back of the hotel overlooking the street running behind the Flower Market. It seems that this is "Gay Lane" (as told to us by a local restaurant owner) and houses bars and nightclubs that operate until 5 a.m. at weekends and 4 a.m. most weekdays. The noise in our room (303) was terrible, and the fact that the road almost forms a tunnel with the high buildings either side didn't seem to help. If I was to stay again, I would definitely request a room looking out over the main street or the Flower Market. We didn't take breakfast in the hotel as it is very over-priced in my opinion. You can get a very good breakfast nearby for a fraction of the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bu22dog
Business
Merthyr Tydfil, Wales
Feb 10, 2013

Perfect location!

The hotel was easy to find, catching the Tram no.25 from Centraal station and getting off 3 stops later at Munplein. As a room was ready, the reception staff very kindly let us check in 4 hrs early. The room itself was a little tired, but had everything required and was very clean. We soon realised, that we were in the perfect location, pretty much central to all sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to go to Heineken museum( which i would recommend), & you also want to take a boat ride, to tick the box. Go to Heineken museum and you get a free boat trip to Rembrandt square in with the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Assaf
Business
TLV, Israel
Jan 25, 2013

Couples city break

Hotel staff was very friendly, informative and helpful. our room was upgraded free of charge. we didn't have any noise from the street (7th floor facing the street) Room was clean through out our stay. Location is dead center, everything is walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mokum
Business
Millstone Twsp. NewJersey
Oct 17, 2011

Amsterdam homecoming

We arrived in the evening and were welcomed by a sweet young lady who when she saw our reservation for six nights instantly decided to give us an upgrade with 'A VIEW". Room #532 was great. Looking out over Munt square and being serenaded by the Munt tower!! It can be noisy out there but we never had any trouble sleeping . One (in our opinion)drawback; you can not use the refrigerator.It's stocked in such a way that nothing can be changed so you can put your own stuff in it. Not a big problem. Everything else is close by, restaurants etc. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The supermarket Albert Heyn is close by and if you are staying a few days they have water, beer, whine and snacks and a bag to carry it in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Khaled
Business
Amman
Aug 21, 2011

Great Location....Very friendly staff!

Enjoyed my stay at the hotel though the rooms aren't that well soundproofed. Our room A/C was providing very minimal cooling but maintenance managed to make it a tad better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BigTrain
Business
Detroit, MI - USA
Jul 8, 2011

for a good price it is fine

Hotel is in a wonderful location. Right near the 'old city' and the canals and eateries. Also, near the train that comes from the airport. The room was small but adequate. No safe in the room, no breakfast in a price of 200 dollars a night. I find that Europe is fair but not a generous place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk or hop on a trolly for two stops for any adventure you seek.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top