$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Vijzelstraat 4, Amsterdam, 1017 HK

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GatorTraveler
Business
OKC, OK
Jul 4, 2011

Clean & easy!

We picked this hotel because we knew the area was very Conveinient and it was one of the least expensive 4star hotel there! Easy check in - free wifi in lobby and clean rooms were a plus! No concierge (so had to wait at reception desk) and oldest hairdryer in Europe were the only downside!! :) Actually the nh Carlton was bigger with newer look than the Eden (more expensive) hotel we stayed in last year! Overall a great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
puerto Rico
Jun 1, 2011

Excellent location

Excellent hotel and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Flower market.

Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, IL
May 4, 2011

Good but always room for improvement

Quick and easy: Rooms are a bit dated with tiny bathrooms. Street noise an issue Have a thermostat in room but didnt work but window works fine(minus street noise) Staff is helpful but forgetful(we missed a tour bus that the hotel books for the guests). Location is good and safe. Amsterdam is easy to walk with nothing being too far away. Dont pay for internet(just use the free 30 minute codes in the lobby. We used over 30 of them i. 7 days) If you book tours at hotel you have to pay in cash(tour company is a short walk and takes credit). Airport shuttle service requires cash 15.5 euro per person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel breakfast buffet is expensive(20 euro). Free wi-fi slips work for lobby and next floor up. They freely hand them out.

Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roshrosh
Business
Israel
Mar 14, 2011

Great Hotel

The Hotel is located in the center on the city. It was very easy to get there from the airport with public transportation. We arrived around 11:00 Friday morning, and immediately got our room. The room was nice, clean and quite big. They offered us to check out late on Sunday, at 17:00. That was very good for us cause our flight was in the evening. The breakfast was delicious. The staff was very polite and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valparaiso
Feb 3, 2011

Wonderful visit

Actually had a coffee maker in the room. Vast majority of european hotels do not have coffee in the room. The staff were very freindly and accomodating. Hotel was clean and strategically well placed in the vicinity of everything I wanted to do or places to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 12, 2010

Not a 4 Star Hotel

The hotel is centrally located. It's easy to get to from the airport and easy to get around. They "upgraded" us to a "superior" room when we checked in.The room was very small, but nicely furnished. The carpet needed to be replaced as it was unevenly faded all over. The double bed was just two twin beds pushed together and there was an obvious space down the middle. The bathroom was tiny and looked like it hadn't been remodeled in 20 years. They only provide soap and shampoo, no lotion, conditioner, shower cap, or other items. There was no way to control the temperature in the room, just AC on, or nothing. I would not stay here again. We needed extra towels and had to call twice for them and then we had to call each of the following nights for extra towels again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't spend your money to eat at the hotel. There are lots of cute cafes just a block or two away.

Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aaron & randy
Business
Madison, WI
Aug 5, 2010

Great location

Free wireless is offered in the lobby area only and then it's limited to 30 minutes, after being given codes that are a hassel to use. Otherwise for a 12 euro fee it is available in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 1, 2010

Excellent central location.

Great location, next to the flower market and museums. Staff was extremely helpful with directions, city transportation and airline schedules. Will definitely book this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Tx.
Feb 19, 2010

Worth the money

Great place ,in the heart of Amsterdam ! Everything is at hand ,just few paces away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NH Carlton Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Superior
Jan 24, 2010

Had a great stay at the Jolly Carlton!

Hotel was wonderful. It was clean, staff were helpful and friendly. I really enjoyed the location and being next to the Flower Market was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top