$241 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, Amsterdam, 1012 AD
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
67 reviews
Great location

Great location staff were great all round good hotel even brought me up a gift as they found out it... See full review

  • Luke2014
  • Feb 5, 2014
Centre of Paradise

very friendly & very efficient staff. had a problem with the climate control in room during the... See full review

  • Drewsyl
  • Aug 1, 2013
In the centre of Amsterdam, in front of the central railway station, NH Barbizon Palace is conveniently located close to Dam Square and the shopping, business and leisure areas. The hotel is suitable for business as well as leisure guests. The quality and service make this hotel a unique place to stay. The 15th century St. Olof Chapel and the hotel's unique conference centre, is the ideal setting for any type of business or social event. A 5.5% city tax is to be paid at the hotel. Children until 2 years old can stay free of charge. babycots on request.

Hotel Map

52.3767 4.8995
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 12.0 km, Rotterdam Airport - 56.1 km.
Area description
NH Barbizon Palace is situated on one of the best locations in Amsterdam, opposite Central Station. The financial centre, the stores and the Royal Palace are all within walking distance. A wide range of amusement facilities is available close to the hotel. As soon as you cross the threshold you will find yourself in the vibrant heart of the metropolis.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Room
22m2 comfortable room, bathroom with bath/shower combination. Coffee/tea making facilities, mini bar, Cable TV, Wi-Fi, iron & ironing board and a bathrobe with slippers.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • New Church: 0.4 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • Single: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.5 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.5 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.5 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • EYE Film Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • The Whale: 0.5 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.6 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.6 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.6 mi
  • Bimhuis: 0.6 mi

Dining

Hudson's Restaurant
In the heart of the city you will find the modern and comfortable restaurant with a friendly and informal service. You can come in and have a light snack, lunch, a delicious dinner, or just a cup of coffee. Restaurant Hudson's has space for 120 guests.
The NH Barbizon Palace's Restaurant, 'Vermeer'
The cuisine offers a pleasant overview of the typical regional specialties as well as international cuisine. You can enjoy your dinner with the best wines from all over the world. Vermeer updates its menu every three months, offering the best combination of food according to the season of the year. Duck with foie gras and salad is one of our recommeded starters; to follow, we recommend the veal sirloin or porkloins. Finally, to end your delicious meal, we offer fresh, homemade desserts You can enjoy a menu consisting of three dishes for the price of 40.00 EUR.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The modern conference centre at NH Barbizon Palace includes 16 function spaces with a capacity of up to 400 people. Each room features a unique modern or historical character. The wide range of room characteristics offers almost unlimited possibilities for conferences, theater performances, parties, weddings, product presentations and client events. The NH Barbizon Palace Conference Center is a multifunctional space and events can be custom-tailored to the most diverse purposes. Each event has a dedicated staff member for the entire duration, from inception through clean-up . ISDN lines, wireless Internet, and meeting kits with office supplies are available in all rooms. The hotel audio-visual department furnishes projectors, screens, video, lightning and sound equipment. A stage or even dance floor can be arranged.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 21, 2010

Great Location

The location is amazing, just walking distance from Centraal Station. Took the train to & from Schiphol. Within walking distance there is so much to do and see. Trams can take you all over but I prefered to walk. Service at the Terrace restaurant was always very good, very fun staff. Reception was polite but ALWAYS seemed to be very busy checking in/out guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coloradofun
Business
Colorado
Mar 30, 2010

Great Downtown Location and nice rooms

Took the train from the airport and walked to the otel in a few minutes. I got a top level room that was great - it had exposed beams with an open celing. I doubt all the rooms are as interesting as mine. I had no problems with the elevator security, and thought the hotel was run extremely well. Everything about my stay was great, food was expensive but they had one of the best veggie burgers I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the train to and from the airport - cheap ~ 4 Euros vs 55 for a taxi and it is fast. I was able to go from the door of the hotel to the airport in under 25 minutes including buying a ticket and waiting almost 10 minutes for the train. Train runs every ~15 minutes to the airport.

Review of NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coloradofun
Business
Colorado
Mar 30, 2010

Great Downtown Location and nice rooms

Took the train from the airport and walked to the otel in a few minutes. I got a top level room that was great - it had exposed beams with an open celing. I doubt all the rooms are as interesting as mine. I had no problems with the elevator security, and thought the hotel was run extremely well. Everything about my stay was great, food was expensive but they had one of the best veggie burgers I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the train to and from the airport - cheap ~ 4 Euros vs 55 for a taxi and it is fast. I was able to go from the door of the hotel to the airport in under 25 minutes including buying a ticket and waiting almost 10 minutes for the train. Train runs every ~15 minutes to the airport.

Review of NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sallyb
England
Jul 18, 2012

Weekend break to Amsterdam.

This hotel was in a fantastic location you couldn't wish for any better. We did not eat here so cannot comment on the food, but the menu did look a little on the expensive side & didn't have many guests dining here. The bar was about the same price as an other pub in Amsterdam. Our room did not have a safe, so we had to go behind reception to a safety deposit room, and although this was not ideal you felt very safe & it was never a problem to the staff to let you in whilst you got what you needed. It was a nice hotel & I would deffo go back. Rooms were clean & staff were friendly :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cally33
Glasgow, Scotland
Jul 24, 2013

Great location

fab location in the central area, very friendly and relaxing atmosphere, room was a good size with everything you require and very clean although the beds were a bit uncomfortable this would not stop me from returning. Would be better if you could pick room type (twin/double) when booking online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joy of Joyes
England
Apr 17, 2013

A good weekend away

We got to the hotel at around 9.30am after flying into the airport and catching the train to the city centre. The hotel is directly opposite the station so very easy to find. We were given a room straight away by the helpful staff on reception with a choice of an inner room or outer one. We choose the inner one as we thought it would be quieter and indeed it was. You could here a pin drop! However the room was a reasonable size but it only had a standard double bed, (we are used to a superking) but could of easily had a bigger bed in there. The bathroom was clean and tidy and the shower worked well and you were given descent sized towels. The main bugbear was the air con or lack of it! It was set to 25 degrees but if altered the temp it just jumped back to 25. Even with it switched off the room was still really hot. So our room was extremely hot with no means of cooling the room as there was no opening window (the window looked out onto reception) not good if you prefer a cooler room! We did not eat in the hotel but there are loads of good places to eat within minutes of the hotel so don't bother booking breakfast with your stay. Overall the hotel is in an excellent location just don't expect too much from your room. The room is more what you find in a 3 star hotel. It a great city and don't be put off this hotel as long as only expect to use it for somewhere to get your head down for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PKB M1
Business
Oregon
Dec 8, 2012

Great place

Great location. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 21, 2010

Great Location

The location is amazing, just walking distance from Centraal Station. Took the train to & from Schiphol. Within walking distance there is so much to do and see. Trams can take you all over but I prefered to walk. Service at the Terrace restaurant was always very good, very fun staff. Reception was polite but ALWAYS seemed to be very busy checking in/out guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mo and Donna
Cairo, Egypt
Jun 27, 2009

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

We had a very nice room. Our beds were extremely comfortable. The hotel is basically across the street from the Central Train Station where you can also catch the trams and/or the canal boat rides. Very convenient location. Short walk to Dam Square. Easy to walk to the red light district too. We were very pleased with this hotel. We only stayed one night but the breakfast surprise bill kind of left us not feeling as positive, but overall it was a good experience. We will be uploading some photos of the area at [@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The 2 of us were billed 50 euro just for breakfast. If your breakfast is not included, then consider going right down the street to your left for a 10 euro breakfast. We personally don't like throwing money away, but if we had felt it was worth it, then it would have been different.

Review of NH Barbizon Palace Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nevs
Cornwall, England
Aug 4, 2013

4 day break in Amsterdam

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the nh barbizon palace for three nights, first impressions were great on arrival. The room we were given was dark and dingy but we only slept in there so that was no problem. We spent all of our time wandering around the city and visiting places such as the royal artis zoo, the anne frank house and vondelpark. A great place to go for a short break there is so much to do and see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a city map, I used an app on my phone big mistake, technology can't improve the map!

Back to menu Return to top