$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

NH Amsterdam Doelen

4 stars
View map of Nieuwe Doelenstraat 24, Amsterdam, 1012 CP

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
35 reviews
Amazing Trip

The hotel was beautiful. It sits right next to a canal. Breakfast was a wonderful buffet. See full review

  • Lois Lane
  • Feb 3, 2015
Couple of issues

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel, however I was not made aware before that I needed to pay a... See full review

  • Belinda M.
  • Mar 16, 2015
Resting upon the banks of the river Amstel the 17th century hotel boasts canal views and a private jetty, all a in the hart of Amsterdam's historical city centre. This hotel is well situated for those wishing to explore Amsterdam's city centre. Located close to Rembrandt square and the flower market it is a short walk from a variety of theatres and museums, as well as several restaurants, cafes and bars. Inside the hotel there are canal view rooms and you can enjoy breakfast whilst overlooking the Amstel River. The hotel is also close to public transport links and a shuttle service to the airport runs throughout the day. A 5% city tax is to be paid at the hotel.

Top hotels

NH Amsterdam Doelen Rooms

Standard Single Room
Room with single bed includes cable TV, choice of pillows, direct-dial telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Double Room
Room with double bed includes cable TV, choice of pillows, direct-dial telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Droog: 0.1 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.1 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.1 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.1 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.2 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.2 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.2 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • East India House: 0.2 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.2 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.1 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.1 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.1 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.1 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.2 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.2 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.2 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • East India House: 0.2 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.2 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.2 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.2 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.2 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.3 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.3 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Book Market: 0.3 mi
  • Stopera: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.3 mi
  • University Library: 0.3 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.3 mi
  • Spui: 0.3 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.3 mi
  • National Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The NH Doelen offers a breakfast buffet every morning in the hotel which is served in the breakfast room that overlooks the Amstel River. Breakfast is served between 07:00 and 10:30 from Monday till Saturday and from 07:00 till 12:00 on Sundays. For lunch and dinner the hotel recommends you use Brasserie Schiller at the NH Schiller which is within walking distance, just across the River Amstel, overlooking the Rembrandt square. The Brasserie has a beautiful Art Deco setting and a unique ambiance to make the ideal setting. Both contemporary as well as new creative ideas can be found on the menu, which is French International orientated.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The NH Doelen has a multifunctional room with natural light, which can accommodate up to 50 people for meetings or training courses. Upon request special menus for groups can be organized in Brasserie Schiller, at NH Schiller, located at the Rembrandt square (walking distance).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for NH Amsterdam Doelen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belinda M.
Business
N/A
Mar 16, 2015

Couple of issues

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel, however I was not made aware before that I needed to pay a €50 deposit on arrival and also they power washed the windows at 6am which was very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lois Lane
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Amazing Trip

The hotel was beautiful. It sits right next to a canal. Breakfast was a wonderful buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michael t.
Business
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

Fair value

Great location, fair value, comfortable , I would def stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NatalieD
Business
Budapest, Hungary
Dec 31, 2013

A Romantic Engagement

It was great. The location couldn't be better-very close to the 'action', but just far enough for some peace. The breakfast, although a bit expensive, was high quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make use of the VERY easy public transport from the airport to downtown, but once downtown, walk everywhere. It's beautiful and everything is close!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dina ch
Business
Sparta , Greece
Nov 27, 2013

Worst hotel

Filthy,torn wallpaper and carpet, rust in bathtub, no room for luggage. Running water from hot to cold!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel d Europe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R.Kay
Business
Beverly Hills, California
Nov 12, 2013

Definitely in need of renovation

This hotel's location is the only think we cannot complain about. However, the amenities and the room comfort are below average. There was no Internet either (even though we were told it should have been there). The building is old, and has multiple very visible cracks right in the lobby... You cannot help but think the ceiling may come down on you any time. The furniture in the rooms is totally worn out, and the rooms are extremely small. If we had at least one suitcase - it would have been impossible to move around. The staff is trying to be accommodating. Yet, by all the stretch of imagination it's more like a 3-star hotel and not 4-star. This place needs to be renovated a.s.a.p. with total furniture replacement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TTJNY
Business
Finger Lakes NY
Oct 24, 2013

Great Anniversary!

Best location ever. Close to everything. Boat tours were easily accessible. Lots of dining options. Hotel had the best coffee in Amsterdam. Staff was bright and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of vegan and vegetarian options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kevin12345
Business
Portland, or
Sep 23, 2013

Extremely overpriced 1 star hotel

Well at least location is good. Rooms haven't been updated since the Beatles visited. Bed is also from the 50s Rooms smell. No room service later in evening, staff frankly mean and I speak English and French... Vat not included in price, extra at checkout

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thah
Business
Hampshire UK
Aug 11, 2013

perfect base for exploring this fab city

We had a standard room for 3 nights on a room only basis. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. There is also a coffee shop attached to the hotel - perfect for breakfast on the go. Staff were extremely helpful and we witnessed them going that extra mile with other guests. Would use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use public transport if you want to explore other cities nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buckhannon Happy Traveler
Business
Buckhannon, West Virginia
May 10, 2013

Charming Hotel in the Middle or the City

This is truly a charming hotel - Their display of Rembrandt is really impressive. Enjoyed the hotel. Very clean and neat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top