$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

NH Amsterdam Doelen

4 stars
Nieuwe Doelenstraat 24, Amsterdam, 1012 CP
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
32 reviews
perfect base for exploring this fab city

We had a standard room for 3 nights on a room only basis. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.... See full review

  • Thah
  • Aug 11, 2013
A Romantic Engagement

It was great. The location couldn't be better-very close to the 'action', but just far enough for... See full review

  • NatalieD
  • Dec 31, 2013
Highlights
  • Rembrandt painted The Night Watch here and former guests include The Beatles
  • Magnificent Amstel River location, convenient to all major Amsterdam attractions
  • 24-hour, multi-lingual front-desk service
Stay in elegance and style at Rembrandt and The Beatles hangout

Built in the 17th century, the NH Doelen Hotel is a former hangout for The Beatles and the venue where Rembrandt painted his masterpiece, The Night Watch.  The magnificent façade and elegant interiors of the city's oldest hotel transport guests to Amsterdam's Golden Age, while Wi-Fi access and satellite TVs offer a modern edge to this four-star hotel. Excellent river-view dining and convenient services combined with close proximity to premier attractions like the Rijksmuseum and Dam Square make the NH Doelen an excellent choice.

Rooms

The NH Doelen Hotel's 85 guest rooms offer a warm, elegant ambience suited to the hotel's 17th century heritage. Plush drapery and bedding, wide windows with Amstel River views and rich wood furnishings complement such high-tech amenities as satellite/cable TV with On Demand entertainment and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Guests enjoy stocked mini bars and complimentary newspaper delivery.

Features

Overlooking the shimmering Amstel River, the magnificent façade of NH Doelen Hotel is only a taste of the immaculate, 17th-century vintage elegance that awaits beyond the front doors. Stately furnishings and meticulous detailing in the lobby transports guests to the time of Rembrandt (who painted his masterpiece, The Night Watch on the third floor) and Amsterdam's Golden Age. Guests enjoy magnificent Amstel River views while dining or cocktailing. The lobby offers complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary newspapers and 24-hour, multi-lingual front-desk service. 

Transportation

  • Shuttle service to Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
Attractions

  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Rembrandt House Museum (Rembrandthuis) (less than 1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (1 mi/2 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (1 mi/2 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/1 km)
Business
  • Business services available on request
  • Multi-purpose meeting room
  • 645 square feet of meeting and event space, accommodating up to 50 attendees
Polices & Fees


A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NH Amsterdam Doelen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

NH Amsterdam Doelen Rooms

Standard Single Room
Room with single bed includes cable TV, choice of pillows, direct-dial telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Double Room
Room with double bed includes cable TV, choice of pillows, direct-dial telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Droog: 0.1 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.1 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.1 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.1 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.2 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.2 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.2 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • East India House: 0.2 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.2 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.1 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.1 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.1 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.1 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.2 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.2 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.2 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • East India House: 0.2 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.2 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.2 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.2 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.2 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.3 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.3 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Book Market: 0.3 mi
  • Stopera: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.3 mi
  • University Library: 0.3 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.3 mi
  • Spui: 0.3 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.3 mi
  • National Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The NH Doelen has a multifunctional room with natural light, which can accommodate up to 50 people for meetings or training courses. Upon request special menus for groups can be organized in Brasserie Schiller, at NH Schiller, located at the Rembrandt square (walking distance).

Dining

Restaurant
The NH Doelen offers a breakfast buffet every morning in the hotel which is served in the breakfast room that overlooks the Amstel River. Breakfast is served between 07:00 and 10:30 from Monday till Saturday and from 07:00 till 12:00 on Sundays. For lunch and dinner the hotel recommends you use Brasserie Schiller at the NH Schiller which is within walking distance, just across the River Amstel, overlooking the Rembrandt square. The Brasserie has a beautiful Art Deco setting and a unique ambiance to make the ideal setting. Both contemporary as well as new creative ideas can be found on the menu, which is French International orientated.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for NH Amsterdam Doelen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NatalieD
Business
Budapest, Hungary
Dec 31, 2013

A Romantic Engagement

It was great. The location couldn't be better-very close to the 'action', but just far enough for some peace. The breakfast, although a bit expensive, was high quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make use of the VERY easy public transport from the airport to downtown, but once downtown, walk everywhere. It's beautiful and everything is close!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dina ch
Business
Sparta , Greece
Nov 27, 2013

Worst hotel

Filthy,torn wallpaper and carpet, rust in bathtub, no room for luggage. Running water from hot to cold!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel d Europe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R.Kay
Business
Beverly Hills, California
Nov 12, 2013

Definitely in need of renovation

This hotel's location is the only think we cannot complain about. However, the amenities and the room comfort are below average. There was no Internet either (even though we were told it should have been there). The building is old, and has multiple very visible cracks right in the lobby... You cannot help but think the ceiling may come down on you any time. The furniture in the rooms is totally worn out, and the rooms are extremely small. If we had at least one suitcase - it would have been impossible to move around. The staff is trying to be accommodating. Yet, by all the stretch of imagination it's more like a 3-star hotel and not 4-star. This place needs to be renovated a.s.a.p. with total furniture replacement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TTJNY
Business
Finger Lakes NY
Oct 24, 2013

Great Anniversary!

Best location ever. Close to everything. Boat tours were easily accessible. Lots of dining options. Hotel had the best coffee in Amsterdam. Staff was bright and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of vegan and vegetarian options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kevin12345
Business
Portland, or
Sep 23, 2013

Extremely overpriced 1 star hotel

Well at least location is good. Rooms haven't been updated since the Beatles visited. Bed is also from the 50s Rooms smell. No room service later in evening, staff frankly mean and I speak English and French... Vat not included in price, extra at checkout

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thah
Business
Hampshire UK
Aug 11, 2013

perfect base for exploring this fab city

We had a standard room for 3 nights on a room only basis. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. There is also a coffee shop attached to the hotel - perfect for breakfast on the go. Staff were extremely helpful and we witnessed them going that extra mile with other guests. Would use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use public transport if you want to explore other cities nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buckhannon Happy Traveler
Business
Buckhannon, West Virginia
May 10, 2013

Charming Hotel in the Middle or the City

This is truly a charming hotel - Their display of Rembrandt is really impressive. Enjoyed the hotel. Very clean and neat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RockinRog
Business
South East England
Apr 8, 2013

Romantic getaway

A tired looking hotel....meant to be 4* Basin and toilet both cracked Room needed tlc and redecorating Hotel in need of refurbishment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nids1
Business
Pasadena, California
Apr 5, 2013

Great

I would recommend this hotel to a friend, the Beatles have stayed there and Rembrandt painted one painting there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kafeossu
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 29, 2013

AMS in winter, you've got to love it!

Spent five nights at the NH Doelen Hotel Amsterdam. It is the oldest hotel in the city, with a very interesting history... Rembrandt stayed there while painting one of his masterpieces; the Beatles also stayed there. This hotel is very conveniently located just a few blocks S of the city center so one can walk everywhere, or one can also rent a bike as most people in town ride bikes no matter what weather. The Doelen Hotel is on a corner by one of the many canals in the city, and some rooms have amazing views of the canal. The hotel is just two blocks from Rembrandt Plein , a nice square/plaza with a big statue of the famous painter, and with cozy cafes and restaurants. My g-friend and I walked everywhere within a 1 mi radius and saw everything there is to see in the city: museums, cozy bars, cafes, canals "galore", coffee shops where you can smoke ghanja if you're so inclined to, it's legal there, but only inside the coffee shops! Everyone we talked to spoke English, and people were friendly and helpful. It was my first time in AMS and will definitely not be the last. I want to add that the hotel staff were very accomodating, knowledgeable of the city and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the reliable and amazing public transportation system, or walk... everything is within walking distance if you stay near the city center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top