$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Stadhouderskade 7, Amsterdam, 1054 ES
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
40 reviews
Happy Birthday

Spent 5 days in this hotel during my birthday, great location, close to night life area but far... See full review

  • Mowllick
  • Jun 2, 2014
Very comfortable hotel

This hotel was everything a person looking for a normal level of comfort and convenience could... See full review

  • Francescobcn
  • Apr 18, 2014
Stylish accommodations with free Wi-Fi near major museums
Overlooking vibrant Leidse Square, the sleek, modern NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel is a leisure or business traveler's dream. With stylish, modern rooms offering complimentary Wi-Fi--and suites offering stunning views of Leidse Square--along with a world-class health spa and an authentic Italian restaurant, the hotel offers plenty of opportunities for rejuvenating the body and soul. NH Amsterdam Centre's vibrant locale puts the city's thriving cultural heart, including the Rijksmuseum and the lush Vondelpark at its doorstep.
Highlights
  • Within minutes of major museums and lush Vondelpark
  • Warm, stylish accommodations with complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Authentic, acclaimed in-house Italian restaurant
Rooms

The NH Amsterdam Centre offers warm yet stylish accommodations with hardwood floors. Standard rooms at the NH Amsterdam Centre come in either twin or queen bed varieties. Superior rooms come with queen beds and boast extra sitting areas, while suites command impressive, top-floor Leidse Square views. Suites offer either expanded sitting areas or separate living and bedroom quarters. All guests have cable TV with On Demand programming, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and modern bathrooms with anti-mist mirrors and tubs outfitted with spa jets. 

Features

Guests can savor the sumptuous fare at Ristorante Sogno, home of freshly made pastas and authentic Italian ambience. Meanwhile, the Lounge 'L offers a welcoming, all-day hotspot for guests, serving an enticing light menu and line-up of hot and cold beverages.

 

Between sightseeing or business meetings, guests can take advantage of the NH Amsterdam Center's array of recreational services, including the fully-equipped health club and the wellness center's sauna, solarium, Jacuzzi, massage services and Turkish bath. The hotel provides complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas and an airport shuttle service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearby tram stops (across the street)
  • Airport shuttle service (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (2.5 mi/4.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (10.5 mi/16.5 km)
Attractions
  • Rijksmuseum (5 blocks)
  • Heineken Experience (less than 1 mi/1 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (less than 1 mi/1 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (2 mi/3 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1 mi/2 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Oude Kerk (2 mi/3 km)
  • Begijnhof (2 mi/3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 4,800 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • Meeting rooms open on to scenic patio garden for additional reception space
Polices & Fees
  • A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout
  • Late checkout until 5 p.m. Sundays is free of charge

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed includes adaptor, air-conditioning, bathrobe, cable TV, choice of pillows, direct-dial telephone, hair dryer, high speed internet access, iron and ironing board, ISDN internet access, mini bar, jacuzzi bath tub, pay per view films, pay TV, phone in the bathroom, rooms adapted for the disabled, safety deposit box in room, satelite TV radio, smoke detector, toiletries kit, voltage 120 V, voltage 220 V, wireless internet access, work desk.
Standard Twin
Room with one twin bed includes adaptor, air-conditioning, bathrobe, cable TV, choice of pillows, direct-dial telephone, hair dryer, high speed internet access, iron and ironing board, ISDN internet access, mini bar, jacuzzi bath tub, pay per view films, pay TV, phone in the bathroom, rooms adapted for the disabled, safety deposit box in room, satelite TV radio, smoke detector, toiletries kit, voltage 120V, voltage 220V, wireless internet access, work desk.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.1 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.2 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.2 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.3 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.1 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.2 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.2 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.3 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.4 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.4 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.4 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.4 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.4 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.4 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.4 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.5 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 0.5 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.5 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • University Library: 0.5 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.5 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.6 mi
  • BeBoB Design: 0.6 mi
  • Spui: 0.6 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.6 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.6 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Book Market: 0.6 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.6 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
All meeting rooms provide natural light and are pleasantly situated close to our serene patio garden. Our Van Gogh rooms are suitable for events from between two and 200 guests, which can be combined to suit your preferences due to the modular wall system. The rooms have an entrance to our patio garden, which can be used for lunches, coffee and tea breaks and cocktail parties. The hotel can accommodate and arrange all technical needs for your meetings. The conference rooms feature independent temperature control, Wi-Fi, direct dial numbers to the catering department, ISDN lines, digital projectors, flip charts, and videoconferencing. We can also offer technical support for your meetings.

Dining

The lounge 'L
Start your day with a coffee and newspaper or end the day with a light snack. Across from the hotel lobby, the Lounge 'L bar offers a wide range of hot and cold drinks or choose lunch or dinner from the menu la carte.
Ristorante Sogno
Ristorante Sogno is famous for fresh home-made pasta and traditional Italian dishes served exclusively by native hosts in an authentic Italian atmosphere. Ristorante Sogno enjoys one of the best locations in the hotel, featuring a magnificent view of lively Leidse Square. Professional pasta workshops are held in the kitchen for groups.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First stay
Business
South West
Aug 19, 2010

Good Location

Great hotel, would have a higher opinion if they had not canceled our booking when we first arrived. We were transfered to another hotel for one night then returned to NH Amsterdam Centre the next day.This wasted time on our holiday and changing hotels was a hassle, they should not be allowed to cancel bookings that have been paid for! When we finally arrived at NH to stay it was an enjoyable stay! Because of the mix up with the booking I would not recommend this chain of hotels to anyone, I would not expect this kind of service from a 4 star hotel and also to be told a trainne canceled my booking 10 mins before I arrived because the hotel was full! I specified what time I would arrive makes it even worse. The room we stayed in was upgraded but this does not make up for the hassle of changing hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amstraveler
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 20, 2012

Not even average

Beds are very uncomfortable. Extra fees for everything: not only wifi but also to use the gym (€15/day). Housekeeper wouldn't let us use the minibar fridge and kept removing our food. Key cards broken all week for elevators, causing huge backlog at reception desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jerseyjan
Business
Berlin, NJ
Aug 13, 2013

Ambling along in Amsterdam

The best thing about this hotel is that it is in the center of the city. Upon check-in we were told our room was not ready, but that for a price we could upgrade to a bigger room with a better view. We did because we were tired after a long flight. The room was rather small and it did not have a great view. The bed was below average, as was the value. Our friends stayed farther away at a Holiday express and breakfast was included in the room price. The best thing besides the location was that there was free wifi in the lobby. I would not return to this hotel. While there, we took a canal ride and hoped to get to the museums which were close to the hotel, but ran out of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
amsterdam
Business
Manhattan beach, ca
Sep 19, 2011

Is not a 4 star hotel

sheets were dirty when we arrived. They never cleaned them after asking. Staff had a hard time recommending places to dine, etc. Did not enjoy location of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Timers to Amsterdam
Business
Stuttgart, Germany
Jan 9, 2012

Not a 4* but good hotel in great location

We were at this hotel for New Years and were not able to locate the hotel right away because the sign is so small. We saw the Marriot sign first thing and didn't notice the sign for this hotel at all. The hotel is right across the street from the Marriot. Check in was good. WIFI is not free in room but it is free in lobby and they do have a business computer. You are also able to print your boarding pass for free which is a plus. The room was just okay but the shower is awesome. Love the shower!!! The TV is an old tube TV and the bed was not very comfortable for me but okay for my husband. The towels in the bathroom are great, big and soft. We had a view of Leids Square from our room which is nice. The hotel is walking distance to city center, musems, heneiken brewery, flower market, Ann Frank Haus and several other sights. We took the tram but you can walk to these locations from the hotel. The Tram is so close and easy to use. 7,00 EURO for a 24 hour pass. The service at the hotel was wonderful. We asked for restaurant suggestions for New Years Eve and the Night Manager went above and beyond to find a place for us to eat. Most places are closed in Amsterdam for New Years Eve and she called around till she found something for us. I would recommend this hotel due to the location and the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian restaurant called Santorni (probably spelled wrong) is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Expat Pete
Business
Abu Dhabi, UAE
Dec 21, 2012

Quick Break

Overall an OK place and has a good location. Staff was friendly. A lot of extra charges for things normally included. Ordered a rum & coke at the bar and they charged $3.50 for the mixer ! Wanted like $18 to use the sauna in the health club, plus the club was small and nothing special. Still, went there to enjoy the city, not hang out in the hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ron deVo
Business
Tiburon, Ca
Oct 15, 2013

Good value

I have stayed in this hotel about 6 times in the last 4 years primarily because the location is great. I do have a couple of points about which I have complained before by e-mail. The TV used are about 50 years old and so out of focus it is hard to see. Some new flat screen TVs would be great. Also an international hotel like this could do with more TV channels with an international channel like CNN. The beds are getting a little old. The internet, finally for free in the room, is abysmally slow unless you spend 10 euros for a faster service. Don't get me wrong....I will stay here again next year. These improvements will just make the stay more pleasant. By the way my name is Ron de Vogel and not Ron deVo as listted on the survey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rogglen
Business
Victoria, BC
Aug 28, 2010

Hotel in good location

Overall the hotel was pretty good. Rooms are a good size and clean but the bed was very uncomfortable. The location is great - close to trains, buses, trams and canal boat stop. Take a walk down Liedseplein - it's very busy with people but lots of interesting things to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 16, 2009

NH Amsterdam Centre

Great location near some of the major museums and the Leidesplein. Easy to get around on foot, by tram, or canal boat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chula Vista, CA
Oct 30, 2010

Hotel was nice

Hotel is situated in a nice area near a park and the shuttle pick up point is right outside the door. We arrived early, and they gave us a room right away. The room was nice and clean, but small. Also, the bed was too soft. Overall it was a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top