$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Noorderstraat 46, AMSTERDAM, 01017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
36 reviews
Good location, friendly stuff

Family of 4, we liked it there. Walking distance to city centre, if you do not mind walking See full review

  • IgLa
  • Mar 16, 2013
Weekend away

The location on the hotel is perfect, less than 10 minutes walk from the dam square. If you figure... See full review

  • Super91
  • Feb 4, 2014
Explore historic Amsterdam from this chic, modern-meets-classic retreat

The Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam beautifully balances modern and classic elements. From the lobby to the rooms, guests will appreciate a design that showcases clean lines and bold black-and-white décor with traditional touches like Dutch artwork, plush armchairs and dark-wood furnishings. Located along Amsterdam's historic canal rings, the Mercure Arthur Frommer offers a spectacular location within walking distance of the city's major attractions. The breakfast room, Golden Age Bar and complete guest services ensure a satisfying stay.

Highlights
  • Picturesque central location near premier attractions
  • Stylish, contemporary guest rooms blend modern and classic elements
  • Golden Age Bar and breakfast room
Rooms

The Mercure Arthur Frommer's 93 bright, stylish guest rooms offer playful contemporary décor like retro-modern lounge chairs and ceiling lamps blended with classic touches like traditional Dutch wall prints and antique-style rocking chairs. Guests can relax on plush bedding, satellite TVs with On Demand movies, fully-stocked mini bars and Wi-Fi access (fee applies). Rooms also feature modern, fully-equipped bathrooms including chic washbasin sinks.

Features

The Mercure Arthur Frommer is a short stroll from Amsterdam's premier shopping, dining or cultural attractions, including the floating Flower Market, Dam Square, the Anne Frank House and the Rijksmuseum. World-class shopping is only blocks away on P.C. Hooftstraat near the gorgeous city park, Vondelpark and Kalverstraat just off Dam Square.

 

Guests of the Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel can start their days in the breakfast room and unwind in style at the on-site Golden Age Bar for delicious cocktails enjoyed in a trendy, cosmopolitan setting.  The knowledgeable multi-lingual staff is on hand to provide business and hospitality services, including ticket and tour arrangements. Limited on-site parking is also available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearby tram stop (2 blocks)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (2 mi/3 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11 mi/17.5 km)
Attractions
  • Heineken Experience (3 blocks)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt)  (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Blue Boat Company (canal tours)  (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (2 mi/3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access throughout hotel (fees apply)
  • Business services available on request

Hotel Map

52.3613 4.8935
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Services
Laundry/Valet services
Room
Telephone

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum Van Loon: 0.1 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.2 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.3 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.3 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.3 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.3 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.4 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.4 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.1 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.2 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.3 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.3 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.3 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.3 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.4 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.4 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.4 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Cuyp Marktet: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.4 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.4 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.4 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.4 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.5 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 0.5 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • University Library: 0.5 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.5 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.5 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Sarphatipark: 0.5 mi
  • Droog: 0.5 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Spui: 0.5 mi
  • Stopera: 0.5 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super91
London
Feb 4, 2014

Weekend away

The location on the hotel is perfect, less than 10 minutes walk from the dam square. If you figure out the short cuts even less. The room was acceptable at first I found it quite small but I got use to it. The room was very clean and bed was so comfortable. The lighting in the room was quite bad the oversized lampshade just does not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DJ R
Beijing
Dec 21, 2013

To be expected

This was the standard chain hotel experience. Staff were attentive and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrsBarnes
Essex, United Kingdom
Oct 14, 2013

Great Hotel

Stylish, modern and comfortable. Great links to the city and airport. Friendly staff and clean. Good value for money. Definitely a hidden gem!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel Vel
Business
Switzerland
Mar 18, 2013

All in all very nice

Nicely decorated, very friendly staff, good located. Shower could have been more powerful...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IgLa
Toronto, Canada
Mar 16, 2013

Good location, friendly stuff

Family of 4, we liked it there. Walking distance to city centre, if you do not mind walking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tattooz
Rotterdam
Dec 27, 2012

So so...

So the hotel is well located to my taste, close to rijksmuseum, jordaan, vondelpark, leidseplein, rembrandtplein. Got upgraded to a privilege room upon arrival which turned out to be pretty tiny (but hey, that's Amsterdam). How small is the regular room? Bed is very comfortable, window has shutters from inside and no curtains. Heating is located behind shutters so when you close them it doesn't really get to the room (brilliant design, did they pay for it?). Nice large flat screen LED TV. Wireless connection worked flawlessly. Buffet breakfast tasty with good variety but pricy at 18.5 euros pp. Desk very small and cluttered with coffee/tea tray and hotel flyers etc... so no room for laptop. Had to move some stuff on the floor. Lighting in the room kinda dim, some people like that. Plenty of parking spots in hotel courtyard. Price was good though. IF (big if) I go back it would be for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denny A
La Quinta, CA
Aug 24, 2012

Over rated four stars and room rate

The location was good and away from tourist crowds. My only complaint was the carpets in the hotel halls and our room where filthy with stains. It was obvious the carpets had not been clean for a long time, and during our stay our room carpet was not vacuumed or at lease hit with a broom. The room walls needed painting and chips of paint and marks indicated painting was long over due. I was rather surprised for the four star rating and cost for the room, I felt the rating and cost was way over rated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Van Gogh center and art galleries.

Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KLBOS
uk
Jun 14, 2012

Worth a try, good location

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights - it was booked as a 4* but on arrival turned out to be a 3* which was disappointing. We had room 307 which was small, dark due to the paint colour and small window , we had to ask for extra towels on arrival - it was very clean and the bed was very comfortable , excellent choice of tv channels - my only complaint would be the lack of light and no mirrors by plugs - ok for men but ladies wanting to get dressed whilst the other half is in the small bathroom mi8ght have an issue. The brfeakfast facilities and the bar were very good and stylish with all the staff being very friendly and chatty - top marks to the Russian bar steward. Location was in a quiet street although at the time of our stay building work was going on at a neighbouring property and work started at 7am- easy to walk to all sights Reiksmuseam very close and some good bars and restaurants less than 10mins away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ggreat steak restaurant across the road from the hotel and a good bar- Myrabelle just around the corner

Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mandy1979
Business
London, UK
Jun 5, 2012

Reliable hotel in a good location

It wasn't the cheapest, but was well worth it. My bed was one of the most comfortable I ever slept on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mellow Yellow coffeeshop 5 min from the hotel.

Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nd travelers
Fargo, ND
May 9, 2012

Comfortable, clean and trendy

Hubby and I stayed here as the last leg of a European vacay, and it was just what we needed. Above all, the bed was so comfortable. We'd been staying in twin beds that were connected for awhile, but this was a true queen sized bed.The sheets and duvet were super soft and I slept so well! The room was ultra modern with fun striped carpet and floor tile in the bathroom. The shower was very roomy, hot water abundant. Closet held a great deal of our stuff. There was not only a bedside lamp for both of us, but also a reading light for both of us, with switches for that and the regular room light on right next to us as well. Our room looked out onto a quiet side street, no noise from there at all. The mini bar was nice to keep our leftovers and drinks cold and the tv got lots of channels. There was business computer in the lobby that was always available, and the front desk was always helpful with tram info, restaurant info and they spoke English. We were able to keep our luggage there after we checked out for a while, and it seemed very safe. We did not eat there, but it looked very good. One thing to note, it that you do have to go up stairs to get to lobby (about 10). But then there was an elevator from there. This wasn't a problem for us, but may have been difficult for a wheelchair. Initially we thought the hotel may be too far out of the way, but the city is so easily walkable it was no problem to walk to dam square. We found the tram system easy too, especially to get us to the central station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search