$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Noorderstraat 46, AMSTERDAM, 01017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
12 reviews
Weekend away

The location on the hotel is perfect, less than 10 minutes walk from the dam square. If you figure... See full review

  • Super91
  • Feb 4, 2014
Great Hotel

Stylish, modern and comfortable. Great links to the city and airport. Friendly staff and clean.... See full review

  • MrsBarnes
  • Oct 14, 2013
Explore historic Amsterdam from this chic, modern-meets-classic retreat

The Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam beautifully balances modern and classic elements. From the lobby to the rooms, guests will appreciate a design that showcases clean lines and bold black-and-white décor with traditional touches like Dutch artwork, plush armchairs and dark-wood furnishings. Located along Amsterdam's historic canal rings, the Mercure Arthur Frommer offers a spectacular location within walking distance of the city's major attractions. The breakfast room, Golden Age Bar and complete guest services ensure a satisfying stay.

Highlights
  • Picturesque central location near premier attractions
  • Stylish, contemporary guest rooms blend modern and classic elements
  • Golden Age Bar and breakfast room
Rooms

The Mercure Arthur Frommer's 93 bright, stylish guest rooms offer playful contemporary décor like retro-modern lounge chairs and ceiling lamps blended with classic touches like traditional Dutch wall prints and antique-style rocking chairs. Guests can relax on plush bedding, satellite TVs with On Demand movies, fully-stocked mini bars and Wi-Fi access (fee applies). Rooms also feature modern, fully-equipped bathrooms including chic washbasin sinks.

Features

The Mercure Arthur Frommer is a short stroll from Amsterdam's premier shopping, dining or cultural attractions, including the floating Flower Market, Dam Square, the Anne Frank House and the Rijksmuseum. World-class shopping is only blocks away on P.C. Hooftstraat near the gorgeous city park, Vondelpark and Kalverstraat just off Dam Square.

 

Guests of the Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel can start their days in the breakfast room and unwind in style at the on-site Golden Age Bar for delicious cocktails enjoyed in a trendy, cosmopolitan setting.  The knowledgeable multi-lingual staff is on hand to provide business and hospitality services, including ticket and tour arrangements. Limited on-site parking is also available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearby tram stop (2 blocks)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (2 mi/3 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11 mi/17.5 km)
Attractions
  • Heineken Experience (3 blocks)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt)  (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Blue Boat Company (canal tours)  (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (2 mi/3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access throughout hotel (fees apply)
  • Business services available on request

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Services
Laundry/Valet services
Room
Telephone

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum Van Loon: 0.1 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.2 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.3 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.3 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.3 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.3 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.4 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.4 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.1 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.2 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.3 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.3 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.3 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.3 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.4 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.4 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.4 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Cuyp Marktet: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.4 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.4 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.4 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.4 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.5 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 0.5 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • University Library: 0.5 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.5 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.5 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Sarphatipark: 0.5 mi
  • Droog: 0.5 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Spui: 0.5 mi
  • Stopera: 0.5 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (12)

Ratings and reviews for Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mandy1979
Business
London, UK
Jun 5, 2012

Reliable hotel in a good location

It wasn't the cheapest, but was well worth it. My bed was one of the most comfortable I ever slept on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mellow Yellow coffeeshop 5 min from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super91
Business
London
Feb 4, 2014

Weekend away

The location on the hotel is perfect, less than 10 minutes walk from the dam square. If you figure out the short cuts even less. The room was acceptable at first I found it quite small but I got use to it. The room was very clean and bed was so comfortable. The lighting in the room was quite bad the oversized lampshade just does not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrsBarnes
Business
Essex, United Kingdom
Oct 14, 2013

Great Hotel

Stylish, modern and comfortable. Great links to the city and airport. Friendly staff and clean. Good value for money. Definitely a hidden gem!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IgLa
Business
Toronto, Canada
Mar 16, 2013

Good location, friendly stuff

Family of 4, we liked it there. Walking distance to city centre, if you do not mind walking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mandy1979
Business
London, UK
Jun 5, 2012

Reliable hotel in a good location

It wasn't the cheapest, but was well worth it. My bed was one of the most comfortable I ever slept on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mellow Yellow coffeeshop 5 min from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nd travelers
Business
Fargo, ND
May 9, 2012

Comfortable, clean and trendy

Hubby and I stayed here as the last leg of a European vacay, and it was just what we needed. Above all, the bed was so comfortable. We'd been staying in twin beds that were connected for awhile, but this was a true queen sized bed.The sheets and duvet were super soft and I slept so well! The room was ultra modern with fun striped carpet and floor tile in the bathroom. The shower was very roomy, hot water abundant. Closet held a great deal of our stuff. There was not only a bedside lamp for both of us, but also a reading light for both of us, with switches for that and the regular room light on right next to us as well. Our room looked out onto a quiet side street, no noise from there at all. The mini bar was nice to keep our leftovers and drinks cold and the tv got lots of channels. There was business computer in the lobby that was always available, and the front desk was always helpful with tram info, restaurant info and they spoke English. We were able to keep our luggage there after we checked out for a while, and it seemed very safe. We did not eat there, but it looked very good. One thing to note, it that you do have to go up stairs to get to lobby (about 10). But then there was an elevator from there. This wasn't a problem for us, but may have been difficult for a wheelchair. Initially we thought the hotel may be too far out of the way, but the city is so easily walkable it was no problem to walk to dam square. We found the tram system easy too, especially to get us to the central station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speendog
Business
New Jersey, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Great Location, clean and comfortable.

We arrived early but didn't have to wait long for our Stylish Corner room to be ready. The room was clean and hip! The free Wifi that we used from the hotel was sum what unreliable though. The location is good because it's just seemed to be in a perfect Location. It's very close to the Tram which will take to The Dam Square in 5 minutes or just walk to anywhere else. We rented a hotel bike for 24hrs for 15 euros and we went easily exploring all the differant areas. There is a Grocery store just down the main street also food and 2 Smoke or Coffee shops if your into that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of places to walk to and lots of close Museums and Food stops .. Biking is also King in Amsterdam! You should bike but be careful it's sometimes intense with all the other Bikes...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben2011
Business
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Nicer than expected

Hotel lived up to its expectations. Descriptions were accurate. We loved the ability to open a window and get fresh air! It's not as close as other hotels to the city center, but if you like walking or riding bikes, this place is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a bike. Try black bikes which is just a short walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aries90069
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 6, 2011

The friendliest hotel staff!!

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left.... we felt extremely welcomed. Traveling abroad in today's climate is not always easy if you're an American. Let's face it we're not as loved as we once were. Not the case at the Mercure.... they accommodated our late nite dining needs by ordering out (time difference is hard on meals), gave us an extremely late check out and gave us great directions and reccommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is less than a mile away from the Heinekein Brewery and about 2 miles from the museums and red light district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
california
Apr 29, 2011

Great location

Conveniently located and very comfortable. The room was clean and the bathroom was clean. Mattresses aren't the best, and probably need to be replaced. The windows are thin so you can easily hear the foot/car traffic on the street, but it's a very tiny, side street and thankfully not much traffic. I didn't try the breakfast as there are plenty of cafes within close walking distance. Again, the location can't be beat and the wifi worked fantastically.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Aug 23, 2010

traveler

air conditioning did not work. It is very tiny room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top