$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
De Lairessestraat 87, Amsterdam, 1071 NX
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
57 reviews
Great Experience

The hotel was very nice, clean, and welcoming. The location is a little off from the main city... See full review

  • Blues brothers cafe
  • Jul 3, 2014
Travel alone first time in Amsterdam

The number one reason I loved my stay here was because of the location. Right next to the museum... See full review

  • ND travel bug
  • Jul 4, 2014
This cozy Amsterdam nook has welcome comforts and unbeatable locale

Located in the midst of prime Amsterdam shopping and cultural attractions, the four-star Memphis Hotel blends the welcoming feel of a boutique hotel with a vibrant, unbeatable location. Whether by foot, bike or public transit, guests find themselves within minutes of refreshing Vondelpark, the world-class Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum as well as sophisticated P.C. Hooftstraat shopping. Intimate rooms, appetizing in-house fare and complimentary Wi-Fi make the Memphis Hotel cozy and cosmopolitan at once.

Highlights


  • Walk to Vondelpark, P.C. Hooftstraat shopping and major museums
  • Complimentary in-room and public Wi-Fi
  • The Memphis Bar serves premium beers and wines
Rooms

Warm, contemporary décor and modern furnishings highlight the Memphis Hotel's 78 guest rooms. Each room offers complimentary Wi-Fi and modern fully-equipped bathrooms that offer tub/shower combinations. All beds feature plush cotton duvets. The Memphis Hotel provides hypoallergenic bedding on request.

Features

The Memphis Hotel puts guests within blocks of gorgeous Vondelpark's lush walking and biking paths, open-air music venue, cafés and its excellent Film Museum. Reach the world-famous Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum and upscale shopping on P.C. Hooftstraat within minutes by foot or bike.


Guests can kick off their day with a satisfying breakfast in the hotel's breakfast room. Delicious dinners along with a fine selection of beers, wines and cocktails are on the menu at the in-house Memphis Bar. To facilitate the needs of both business and leisure travelers, the Memphis Hotel's multilingual staff, full-service business center and complimentary Wi-Fi are on hand.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (3.5 mi/6 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (8.5 mi/13.5 km)
Attractions
  • Van Gogh Museum (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Vondelpark (6 blocks)
  • Rijksmuseum (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Begijnhof (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (3 mi/4.5 km)
Business


  • 24-hour business center
  • 3 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
Polices & Fees


  • A 5.5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Double Room
Room with one standard bed offers a private bathroom with bath/ shower, flat screen TV, WI-FI access complimentary, air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer. On request available: an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.
Single Room
If you are travelling alone a single room would be perfect for you. Single rooms have a single bed, cotton duvet, private bathroom with a bath/shower, flat screen TV, WI-FI access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.
Superior Double
Superior rooms are more spacious, with a queen size bed and sitting area, as well as a spacious work desk. They have a private bathroom with bath/shower, cotton duvet, private bathroom with a bath/shower, flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, WI-FI access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.
Triple Roon
Superior rooms are more spacious, with a queen size bed, a single bed and sitting area, as well as a spacious work desk. They have a private bathroom with bath/shower, cotton duvet, private bathroom with a bath/shower, flat screen TV, WI-FI access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Memphis Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3537 4.8722
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 9.0 km, Rotterdam Airport - 52.9 km.
Area description
The EMB Memphis Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.

Nearby points of interest

  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.5 mi
  • OT301: 0.5 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.5 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.6 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • OCCII: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.5 mi
  • OT301: 0.5 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.5 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.6 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • OCCII: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Beethovenstraat: 0.7 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.8 mi
  • Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.8 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.9 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Beatrixpark: 0.9 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Oud-West: 0.9 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Cuyp Marktet: 0.9 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 1 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 1 mi
  • Rietveld School of Art & Design: 1 mi
  • Sarphatipark: 1 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 1 mi
  • Amsterdam Zuid Railway Station: 1 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 1 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 1 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 1 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Metz & Co: 1.1 mi
  • Olympic Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 1.1 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 1.1 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Memphis Bar
The Memphis Bar serves refreshing cocktails, international liquors, local specialities and a large assortment of beers. The informal setting enables you to truly relax and unwind. During the summer months you can relax and enjoy a drink on the terrace.
Breakfast
The Continental Breakfast costs EUR 14,50 per person per day.
Brasserie Lairesse
Breakfast is served daily in Brasserie Lairesse. During weekdays it is open from 07.00 till 10.30 and in the weekend you can rest a bit longer, then it is served from 07.30 till 11.00. We only serve group lunches on request at Brasserie Lairesse. Diner is served from Tuesday till Saturday from 18.00 till 21.30. Spoil yourself with a delicious 3-course menu or enjoy la carte. The cuisine is French orientated with a twist to the Dutch and Eastern kitchen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ND travel bug
North Dakota
Jul 4, 2014

Travel alone first time in Amsterdam

The number one reason I loved my stay here was because of the location. Right next to the museum area and about 15 mins. from Leidesplain, it's really easy to get around with a lot of great places for tourists in both those locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Cutting across the museumplain (museum park) and walking right through the huge museums opening, cuts your walk from your hotel to Leidesplain by at least half the time. Even at night it felt very safe and a great way to get to the fun parts of town.

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blues brothers cafe
Easton, pa
Jul 3, 2014

Great Experience

The hotel was very nice, clean, and welcoming. The location is a little off from the main city which I enjoyed but you can take the bus or a tram car anywhere. Overall it was great and I would definetly stay there again when I come back to Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lenelu
La Mesa, CA
Jun 26, 2014

3 days in amsterdam

This hotel is in a really nice neighborhood, and close to the museums which we visited in Amsterdam. The 16 tram which passes in front of the hotel made everything accessible. We loved our Amsterdam stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lenelu
La Mesa, CA
Jun 19, 2014

Happy Travelers

We liked this hotel very much. I prefer accommodations which are nice looking, comfortable, clean, and fit in, somewhat, with a cities' style. This hotel was such a place. The neighborhood is great, and the surrounding restaurants are nightly gathering places for the friendly locals. The Tram stop is only one block away. The only thing I could complain about would be their breakfast buffet which consisted of a few not so great items.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Herring from street vendors. Served with onions and pickles on plates or on bread.

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lone2 Traveler
Los Angeles, California
Jun 18, 2014

Hotel did not honor the reservation

Upon arrival to the hotel I was told they had no room for me. It was the last thing I wanted to hear, after an exhausting 12 hours trip. They send me to a different hotel (Delphi) near by, and the paid for the taxi ride. They claimed it was an equivalent hotel, but I could not tell because I had not stayed at Memphis hotel. I was charged the same amount, which I though it was much, since I also had to pay 10E for breakfast and 75.5E "tourist tax".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mypointofview58
Lowell,MA
Apr 11, 2014

Great for the single traveler

Stayed in room #511 small room with a double bed. Nice clean room and clean bathroom. There was a desk and chair perfect for 1 person also a refrigerator and a iron. Nice quiet residential area about 1 Km from the museums. Use either tram #2 or #16 about a five minute walk to the hotel. There are a handful of cafes and a small organic supermarket within walking distance of the hotel. Worked perfectly for me, i'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a Holland Pass I saved almost $100.00 and a multiple day tram pass for even more savings.

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PrincessLeah60
Israel
Mar 13, 2014

Simply Great

It was a cute hotel, small with small room but it was perfect for me. I didn't spend much time in the hotel. I took the 16 train everywhere I needed to go or I walked. It's about 10-15 minute ride from Dam Square. The hotel is in a Nice neighborhood with the locals and quite. Shopping And coffee near by. Friendly helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daz W
High Peak Derbyshire UK
Feb 4, 2014

Short weekend break

No problems at all. Very handy for the 16 tram that only takes 15 minutes to get you to Dam Square. Had a room on the second floor that was on the same side of building as the tram lines however we were not troubled by noise. All staff we met were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin912
Kansas City
Feb 2, 2014

Memphis Hotel Review

Stayed for 4 days in January, which is not exactly the ideal time to visit Amsterdam. The purpose of my visit was to move my daughter to Amsterdam so that she can study for a semester as part of a student exchange program. This hotel was very good. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The room was large enough for two - albeit with double beds. No dual queen or king size beds, at least not with the package I booked. The location is great - several restaurants within a two block walk. There is also a great little pub a block away that I wish I would have found the first night. Several Tram/Bus stops are 1-2 blocks away, as well. I should disclose that we must have had a mouse in our room one night. I had read about mouse issues at the Memphis, so it was not entirely unexpected. I never saw the mouse, but something was working hard to get into our bags in the middle of one night. We ended up leaving the bathroom light on - which left it dark enough to sleep, but directed enough light into the room that the mouse was scared off. I wavered between 3 and 4 stars, only because of the aforementioned mouse. But because it was only an issue for about 30 minutes one night, and because it was not unexpected, I kept the review at 4 stars, because everything else was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I believe the name of the pub was Verhulst. I hope that is correct. It was a small little place just a block away. I had a great meal and a couple of beers (something other than Heineken!) on my last night in Amsterdam. I would have gone there every night had I found it sooner. The owner/manager saw me helplessly trying to translate the specials from Dutch to English and took me under his wing - a very friendly and helpful guy. Check this place out for a casual meal or drinks.

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rodica Ro
Windsor
Jan 28, 2014

Location and comfort

We just returned from a great vacation in Amsterdam, we stayed at the Memphis hotel which I highly recommend for its location, walking distance to the museums, about 10 minutes, room size and comfort, and the price was right. I would definitely choose this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within five minutes walk you have access to coffee shops, bakery, pastry places, butcher and deli, groceries, restaurants, and boutiques.

Back to menu Return to top