$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of De Lairessestraat 87, Amsterdam, 1071 NX

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin912
Business
Kansas City
Feb 2, 2014

Memphis Hotel Review

Stayed for 4 days in January, which is not exactly the ideal time to visit Amsterdam. The purpose of my visit was to move my daughter to Amsterdam so that she can study for a semester as part of a student exchange program. This hotel was very good. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The room was large enough for two - albeit with double beds. No dual queen or king size beds, at least not with the package I booked. The location is great - several restaurants within a two block walk. There is also a great little pub a block away that I wish I would have found the first night. Several Tram/Bus stops are 1-2 blocks away, as well. I should disclose that we must have had a mouse in our room one night. I had read about mouse issues at the Memphis, so it was not entirely unexpected. I never saw the mouse, but something was working hard to get into our bags in the middle of one night. We ended up leaving the bathroom light on - which left it dark enough to sleep, but directed enough light into the room that the mouse was scared off. I wavered between 3 and 4 stars, only because of the aforementioned mouse. But because it was only an issue for about 30 minutes one night, and because it was not unexpected, I kept the review at 4 stars, because everything else was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I believe the name of the pub was Verhulst. I hope that is correct. It was a small little place just a block away. I had a great meal and a couple of beers (something other than Heineken!) on my last night in Amsterdam. I would have gone there every night had I found it sooner. The owner/manager saw me helplessly trying to translate the specials from Dutch to English and took me under his wing - a very friendly and helpful guy. Check this place out for a casual meal or drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daz W
Business
High Peak Derbyshire UK
Feb 4, 2014

Short weekend break

No problems at all. Very handy for the 16 tram that only takes 15 minutes to get you to Dam Square. Had a room on the second floor that was on the same side of building as the tram lines however we were not troubled by noise. All staff we met were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PrincessLeah60
Business
Israel
Mar 13, 2014

Simply Great

It was a cute hotel, small with small room but it was perfect for me. I didn't spend much time in the hotel. I took the 16 train everywhere I needed to go or I walked. It's about 10-15 minute ride from Dam Square. The hotel is in a Nice neighborhood with the locals and quite. Shopping And coffee near by. Friendly helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Apr 16, 2011

Good and clean, 4 star level

Generally a good stay. Nice and clean hotel. Typical four star quality, clean but not very modern in terms of amenities. New towels but not sheets every day. No toiletries. Friendly staff and no problems during the stay. A/C in the room. Hotel is in a very nice area, lots of nice cafes. Location is 10 minutes from town centre by tram. Recommended, good quality for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slow man slow
Business
Dublin, Co. Dublin, Ireland
Jan 26, 2012

great w/e break

very pleasant really close to town esey enough to walk to if you fancied a stroll and booking another trip for during summer months looking foward to going back as beautiful city x

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack Colgan
Business
Safety Harbor, FL
Jul 28, 2012

Excellent value at the Memphis Hotel.

Located in a nice area of Amsterdam, my room was upgraded which was perfectly fine. Staff was extremely courteous and took care of any needs. I visited not only Amsterdam, but Brugge Belgium, as well as had dinner with friends in Haarlem. I would certainly go back to this hotel in the future. Jack Colgan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a 72 hour tram pass as opposed to buying a new 24 hour pass every day. 72 hr.pass was 16Euro as opposed to 7.50 for the 24 hr one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EMF right on
Business
Essex, UK
Aug 20, 2012

Memphis shine

The hotel is set in a quite and nice neighbourhood with easy access to the city bus and tram networks. Very helpful and friendly staff! The hotel room was small for a double room but clean with the exception of the shower curtain that needed changing, which the duty staff obliged and I was happy with response. Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our stay of summer city break!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelGirl Brigitte N
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 28, 2012

Visiting Amsterdam

Lovely, comfortable hotel, but the best attribute is the staff. The desk staff is helpful, polite, and charming, and made this hotel my go to place to stay every time I visit Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Italian restaurants just a few minutes walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmberStClare
Business
Eastbourne
Feb 18, 2013

Great Holiday

Lovely hotel, helpful staff. The Valentine's dinner we had in the restaurant was first rate. The hotel is not as close to the centre of Amsterdam as we would have liked, but there is a frequent tram service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
melbourno83
Business
amsterdam
Oct 13, 2013

great location

The hotel had a great location, only a block away from a tram. The neighborhood is really posh, and there are a lot of decent places to eat as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Screaming Beans

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top