$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
De Lairessestraat 87, Amsterdam, 1071 NX
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
58 reviews
Great Experience

The hotel was very nice, clean, and welcoming. The location is a little off from the main city... See full review

  • Blues brothers cafe
  • Jul 3, 2014
Travel alone first time in Amsterdam

The number one reason I loved my stay here was because of the location. Right next to the museum... See full review

  • ND travel bug
  • Jul 4, 2014
This cozy Amsterdam nook has welcome comforts and unbeatable locale

Located in the midst of prime Amsterdam shopping and cultural attractions, the four-star Memphis Hotel blends the welcoming feel of a boutique hotel with a vibrant, unbeatable location. Whether by foot, bike or public transit, guests find themselves within minutes of refreshing Vondelpark, the world-class Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum as well as sophisticated P.C. Hooftstraat shopping. Intimate rooms, appetizing in-house fare and complimentary Wi-Fi make the Memphis Hotel cozy and cosmopolitan at once.

Highlights


  • Walk to Vondelpark, P.C. Hooftstraat shopping and major museums
  • Complimentary in-room and public Wi-Fi
  • The Memphis Bar serves premium beers and wines
Rooms

Warm, contemporary décor and modern furnishings highlight the Memphis Hotel's 78 guest rooms. Each room offers complimentary Wi-Fi and modern fully-equipped bathrooms that offer tub/shower combinations. All beds feature plush cotton duvets. The Memphis Hotel provides hypoallergenic bedding on request.

Features

The Memphis Hotel puts guests within blocks of gorgeous Vondelpark's lush walking and biking paths, open-air music venue, cafés and its excellent Film Museum. Reach the world-famous Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum and upscale shopping on P.C. Hooftstraat within minutes by foot or bike.


Guests can kick off their day with a satisfying breakfast in the hotel's breakfast room. Delicious dinners along with a fine selection of beers, wines and cocktails are on the menu at the in-house Memphis Bar. To facilitate the needs of both business and leisure travelers, the Memphis Hotel's multilingual staff, full-service business center and complimentary Wi-Fi are on hand.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (3.5 mi/6 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (8.5 mi/13.5 km)
Attractions
  • Van Gogh Museum (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Vondelpark (6 blocks)
  • Rijksmuseum (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Begijnhof (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (3 mi/4.5 km)
Business


  • 24-hour business center
  • 3 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
Polices & Fees


  • A 5.5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Double Room
Room with one standard bed offers a private bathroom with bath/ shower, flat screen TV, WI-FI access complimentary, air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer. On request available: an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.
Single Room
If you are travelling alone a single room would be perfect for you. Single rooms have a single bed, cotton duvet, private bathroom with a bath/shower, flat screen TV, WI-FI access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.
Superior Double
Superior rooms are more spacious, with a queen size bed and sitting area, as well as a spacious work desk. They have a private bathroom with bath/shower, cotton duvet, private bathroom with a bath/shower, flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, WI-FI access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.
Triple Roon
Superior rooms are more spacious, with a queen size bed, a single bed and sitting area, as well as a spacious work desk. They have a private bathroom with bath/shower, cotton duvet, private bathroom with a bath/shower, flat screen TV, WI-FI access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Memphis Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3537 4.8722
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 9.0 km, Rotterdam Airport - 52.9 km.
Area description
The EMB Memphis Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.

Nearby points of interest

  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.5 mi
  • OT301: 0.5 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.5 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.6 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • OCCII: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.5 mi
  • OT301: 0.5 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.5 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.6 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • OCCII: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Beethovenstraat: 0.7 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.8 mi
  • Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.8 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.9 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Beatrixpark: 0.9 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Oud-West: 0.9 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Cuyp Marktet: 0.9 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 1 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 1 mi
  • Rietveld School of Art & Design: 1 mi
  • Sarphatipark: 1 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 1 mi
  • Amsterdam Zuid Railway Station: 1 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 1 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 1 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 1 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Metz & Co: 1.1 mi
  • Olympic Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 1.1 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 1.1 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Memphis Bar
The Memphis Bar serves refreshing cocktails, international liquors, local specialities and a large assortment of beers. The informal setting enables you to truly relax and unwind. During the summer months you can relax and enjoy a drink on the terrace.
Breakfast
The Continental Breakfast costs EUR 14,50 per person per day.
Brasserie Lairesse
Breakfast is served daily in Brasserie Lairesse. During weekdays it is open from 07.00 till 10.30 and in the weekend you can rest a bit longer, then it is served from 07.30 till 11.00. We only serve group lunches on request at Brasserie Lairesse. Diner is served from Tuesday till Saturday from 18.00 till 21.30. Spoil yourself with a delicious 3-course menu or enjoy la carte. The cuisine is French orientated with a twist to the Dutch and Eastern kitchen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
European Fan
Boston, MA
Jul 13, 2012

Lovely and relaxing

My teenage daughter and I rounded out a 2 week vacation with a few days in the beautiful city of Amsterdam. We could not have been happier with our stay at the Memphis. It is a beautiful hotel in a charming and safe neighborhood.The staff was always helpful and we felt very relaxed and pampered there. The location is one of the nicest in Amsterdam - a little away from the center but less than a 10 minute walk to the Van Gogh museum and the Riksmuseum and the tram is literally outside the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
European Fan
Boston, MA
Jul 13, 2012

Lovely and relaxing

My teenage daughter and I rounded out a 2 week vacation with a few days in the beautiful city of Amsterdam. We could not have been happier with our stay at the Memphis. It is a beautiful hotel in a charming and safe neighborhood.The staff was always helpful and we felt very relaxed and pampered there. The location is one of the nicest in Amsterdam - a little away from the center but less than a 10 minute walk to the Van Gogh museum and the Riksmuseum and the tram is literally outside the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sddogg
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jul 6, 2012

Really nice spot away from the madness

I couldn't believe what a bargain this place was. It wasn't quite in the heart of Amsterdam, but near the more sedate museum district, near fancier restaurants and the concert hall. It was still only a 10 minute bike-ride from all the crazy action like the red-light district, so you can easily get a full taste of the city. The staff was so helpful, the internet worked well, and it was pleasant at all times. After two nights, I had to leave since they were booked, so I went to another hotel nearer the city center, and it was more money and a total freaking pigsty. I came back to this hotel within 20 minutes and begged them to take me back for the next night, and they did. Everyone remembered my name, even! I will definitely stay here on all other future trips!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jjsouts
England
Aug 30, 2012

Great, thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Bed made every day, nice staff, great location, all in all a great trip! We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a tram pass for the duration of your trip! Well worth it as you will save loads, great value for money!

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blues brothers cafe
Easton, pa
Jul 3, 2014

Great Experience

The hotel was very nice, clean, and welcoming. The location is a little off from the main city which I enjoyed but you can take the bus or a tram car anywhere. Overall it was great and I would definetly stay there again when I come back to Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jefferson City, MO
Aug 11, 2009

My experience at the Memphis Hotel

I was pleased with the room. Color TV, basic cable. Could catch up with news on CNN. Good view and A/c worked great. housekeeping staff was excellent. Front desk people sometimes acted like they did not want to talk much or answer questions. just a short block to local cafe's and bakeries. Quick walk to Museums. About 2 miles to Anne Frank House. Easy access to bus/streetcars/bikes. Good hotel to stay at in Amsterdam. It must be a good location because the Hilton hotel was 2 blocks around the corner and charged much, much higher prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amsterdam food not the greatest. Pasteries are excellent but I longed for a good meat and potato meal. About a mile walk to the Hard Rock Cafe, McDonald's and Burger King. Was able to get my food fix when needed. 10 oz. Hard Rock Burger with fries was cheap and fantastic!

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lenelu
La Mesa, CA
Jun 26, 2014

3 days in amsterdam

This hotel is in a really nice neighborhood, and close to the museums which we visited in Amsterdam. The 16 tram which passes in front of the hotel made everything accessible. We loved our Amsterdam stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rodica Ro
Windsor
Jan 28, 2014

Location and comfort

We just returned from a great vacation in Amsterdam, we stayed at the Memphis hotel which I highly recommend for its location, walking distance to the museums, about 10 minutes, room size and comfort, and the price was right. I would definitely choose this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within five minutes walk you have access to coffee shops, bakery, pastry places, butcher and deli, groceries, restaurants, and boutiques.

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jefferson City, MO
Aug 11, 2009

My experience at the Memphis Hotel

I was pleased with the room. Color TV, basic cable. Could catch up with news on CNN. Good view and A/c worked great. housekeeping staff was excellent. Front desk people sometimes acted like they did not want to talk much or answer questions. just a short block to local cafe's and bakeries. Quick walk to Museums. About 2 miles to Anne Frank House. Easy access to bus/streetcars/bikes. Good hotel to stay at in Amsterdam. It must be a good location because the Hilton hotel was 2 blocks around the corner and charged much, much higher prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amsterdam food not the greatest. Pasteries are excellent but I longed for a good meat and potato meal. About a mile walk to the Hard Rock Cafe, McDonald's and Burger King. Was able to get my food fix when needed. 10 oz. Hard Rock Burger with fries was cheap and fantastic!

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 20, 2011

nice, clean, close

very clean, very together, close to the center but far enough away to be quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slow man slow
Dublin, Co. Dublin, Ireland
Jan 26, 2012

great w/e break

very pleasant really close to town esey enough to walk to if you fancied a stroll and booking another trip for during summer months looking foward to going back as beautiful city x

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top