$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
De Lairessestraat 87, Amsterdam, 1071 NX
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
51 reviews
Great Stay! Will return!

The room was very comfortable and cozy. Loved the mini-fridge and great wi-fi connection. The... See full review

  • Tryx42
  • Aug 28, 2014
easy access to transportation

Location was great with tram stop near by to make easy access to all parts of the city. Hotel staff... See full review

  • ERGROG
  • Jul 18, 2014
This cozy Amsterdam nook has welcome comforts and unbeatable locale

Located in the midst of prime Amsterdam shopping and cultural attractions, the four-star Memphis Hotel blends the welcoming feel of a boutique hotel with a vibrant, unbeatable location. Whether by foot, bike or public transit, guests find themselves within minutes of refreshing Vondelpark, the world-class Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum as well as sophisticated P.C. Hooftstraat shopping. Intimate rooms, appetizing in-house fare and complimentary Wi-Fi make the Memphis Hotel cozy and cosmopolitan at once.

Highlights


  • Walk to Vondelpark, P.C. Hooftstraat shopping and major museums
  • Complimentary in-room and public Wi-Fi
  • The Memphis Bar serves premium beers and wines
Rooms

Warm, contemporary décor and modern furnishings highlight the Memphis Hotel's 78 guest rooms. Each room offers complimentary Wi-Fi and modern fully-equipped bathrooms that offer tub/shower combinations. All beds feature plush cotton duvets. The Memphis Hotel provides hypoallergenic bedding on request.

Features

The Memphis Hotel puts guests within blocks of gorgeous Vondelpark's lush walking and biking paths, open-air music venue, cafés and its excellent Film Museum. Reach the world-famous Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum and upscale shopping on P.C. Hooftstraat within minutes by foot or bike.


Guests can kick off their day with a satisfying breakfast in the hotel's breakfast room. Delicious dinners along with a fine selection of beers, wines and cocktails are on the menu at the in-house Memphis Bar. To facilitate the needs of both business and leisure travelers, the Memphis Hotel's multilingual staff, full-service business center and complimentary Wi-Fi are on hand.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (3.5 mi/6 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (8.5 mi/13.5 km)
Attractions
  • Van Gogh Museum (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Vondelpark (6 blocks)
  • Rijksmuseum (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Begijnhof (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (3 mi/4.5 km)
Business


  • 24-hour business center
  • 3 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
Polices & Fees


  • A 5.5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Memphis Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Double Room
Room with one standard bed offers a private bathroom with bath/ shower, flat screen TV, WI-FI access complimentary, air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer. On request available: an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.
Single Room
If you are travelling alone a single room would be perfect for you. Single rooms have a single bed, cotton duvet, private bathroom with a bath/shower, flat screen TV, WI-FI access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.
Superior Double
Superior rooms are more spacious, with a queen size bed and sitting area, as well as a spacious work desk. They have a private bathroom with bath/shower, cotton duvet, private bathroom with a bath/shower, flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, WI-FI access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.
Triple Roon
Superior rooms are more spacious, with a queen size bed, a single bed and sitting area, as well as a spacious work desk. They have a private bathroom with bath/shower, cotton duvet, private bathroom with a bath/shower, flat screen TV, WI-FI access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.5 mi
  • OT301: 0.5 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.5 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.6 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • OCCII: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.5 mi
  • OT301: 0.5 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.5 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.6 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • OCCII: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Beethovenstraat: 0.7 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.8 mi
  • Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.8 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.9 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Beatrixpark: 0.9 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Oud-West: 0.9 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Cuyp Marktet: 0.9 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 1 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 1 mi
  • Rietveld School of Art & Design: 1 mi
  • Sarphatipark: 1 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 1 mi
  • Amsterdam Zuid Railway Station: 1 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 1 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 1 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 1 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Metz & Co: 1.1 mi
  • Olympic Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 1.1 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 1.1 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Memphis Bar
The Memphis Bar serves refreshing cocktails, international liquors, local specialities and a large assortment of beers. The informal setting enables you to truly relax and unwind. During the summer months you can relax and enjoy a drink on the terrace.
Breakfast
The Continental Breakfast costs EUR 17,50 per person per day.
Brasserie Lairesse
Breakfast is served daily in Brasserie Lairesse. During weekdays it is open from 07.00 till 10.30 and in the weekend you can rest a bit longer, then it is served from 07.30 till 11.00. We only serve group lunches on request at Brasserie Lairesse. Diner is served from Tuesday till Saturday from 18.00 till 21.30. Spoil yourself with a delicious 3-course menu or enjoy la carte. The cuisine is French orientated with a twist to the Dutch and Eastern kitchen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 51
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
abfabie
Business
London
Aug 23, 2014

tiny room

Small, pokey, dark room. Thought I was booking something special as it was a 4* hotel, definitely not! I am interested to see what 1* hotels are like in Amsterdam. Friendly staff but that's it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flash Traveler
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 12, 2014

good location, quiet, near museums

Helpful people, fine room, they rent bikes right from the hotel. Solved problems I had with no complaints and creatively (e.g. arriving late with no cash for taxi, bike problem).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Biking is by far the best way to get around Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ND travel bug
Business
North Dakota
Jul 4, 2014

Travel alone first time in Amsterdam

The number one reason I loved my stay here was because of the location. Right next to the museum area and about 15 mins. from Leidesplain, it's really easy to get around with a lot of great places for tourists in both those locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Cutting across the museumplain (museum park) and walking right through the huge museums opening, cuts your walk from your hotel to Leidesplain by at least half the time. Even at night it felt very safe and a great way to get to the fun parts of town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lone2 Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 18, 2014

Hotel did not honor the reservation

Upon arrival to the hotel I was told they had no room for me. It was the last thing I wanted to hear, after an exhausting 12 hours trip. They send me to a different hotel (Delphi) near by, and the paid for the taxi ride. They claimed it was an equivalent hotel, but I could not tell because I had not stayed at Memphis hotel. I was charged the same amount, which I though it was much, since I also had to pay 10E for breakfast and 75.5E "tourist tax".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mypointofview58
Business
Lowell,MA
Apr 11, 2014

Great for the single traveler

Stayed in room #511 small room with a double bed. Nice clean room and clean bathroom. There was a desk and chair perfect for 1 person also a refrigerator and a iron. Nice quiet residential area about 1 Km from the museums. Use either tram #2 or #16 about a five minute walk to the hotel. There are a handful of cafes and a small organic supermarket within walking distance of the hotel. Worked perfectly for me, i'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a Holland Pass I saved almost $100.00 and a multiple day tram pass for even more savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PrincessLeah60
Business
Israel
Mar 13, 2014

Simply Great

It was a cute hotel, small with small room but it was perfect for me. I didn't spend much time in the hotel. I took the 16 train everywhere I needed to go or I walked. It's about 10-15 minute ride from Dam Square. The hotel is in a Nice neighborhood with the locals and quite. Shopping And coffee near by. Friendly helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LABIKETRAVEL
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 28, 2013

Holiday Vacation

Good quiet location, about 15-20 minutes into to the city by Tram or you can rent a bike through the hotel. The museum is a 10 minute walk or two stops on Tram 16. Public transit is cheap 7.50 euros for a day pass. There are spot to eat at the circle down the street from the hotel, a small organic market, and a boutique shop. It's a perfect spot resting after being in the city center. The hotel staff is friendly and they all speak very good English. However the WiFI is very slow with a poor connection. The hotel is pretty clean, I didn't experience any issues with cleanliness. Not bad all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the Tram, not point in driving in Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wainrights Dog
Business
Cumbria, UK
Sep 24, 2012

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

This is not a 4Star hotel, but it is still a nice hotel, and the staff are very nice. The Bar and Resturaunt are overpriced - hence they are mostly found to be empty. location - well a little out of the way but saved by the proximity to the #16 Tram which will take you directly into Damm Square for a couple of Euro's. Room was clean and mostly quiet, it had aircon. There are similarly priced hotels downtown without the 4star claim which have same/similar attributes but with the advantage of location to the centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are into solo Euro TV watching - this is the hotel for you. If you want any other entertainment is at least a 10min walk to the nearest pub and further to some of the resturaunts and shops. Best advice I could give is to dump your bags and get the tram into town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack Colgan
Business
Safety Harbor, FL
Jul 28, 2012

Excellent value at the Memphis Hotel.

Located in a nice area of Amsterdam, my room was upgraded which was perfectly fine. Staff was extremely courteous and took care of any needs. I visited not only Amsterdam, but Brugge Belgium, as well as had dinner with friends in Haarlem. I would certainly go back to this hotel in the future. Jack Colgan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a 72 hour tram pass as opposed to buying a new 24 hour pass every day. 72 hr.pass was 16Euro as opposed to 7.50 for the 24 hr one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Expat Dutchman
Business
California
Jul 21, 2012

Hardly four stars

I spent a week here. Like other reviewers, I had a fine experience, but hardly something worth 4 stars. The location is good: very quiet at night, outside the tourist center proper, a 5-minute walk from Vondelpark, 10 minutes to Museumplein, tram 16 stops a block away, other trams a few blocks away. (Tip: to get to the airport, walk 3 blocks to tram 5, take it to station Amsterdam Zuid. 4-6 trains an hour to the airport, a 6-minute ride for eu 2.40. Overall, less time than the KLM shuttle bus!) My single room was clean and well-equipped but very small. They only give you the standard European "body wash" liquid soap instead of a proper hotel-sized bar of soap. The breakfast buffet for eu 12.50 was good: great scrambled eggs, all the expected fare like bacon, breads, cereals (didn't try), basic lunch meats and cheeses, but still felt somewhat limited (not much fresh fruit) and the same all week long. Friendly service by real people. Perhaps the biggest weakness for me: the free-for-the-asking internet is okay for checking email, but not much else: Skype voice calls were unusable, I didn't even try video calls. Also it can be used by one device only. I got a very good pre-paid rate online, but beware: cancellation fee is 100%, and the hotel still charged me city tax on check-out, which was NOT mentioned on check-in. They must've had some kind of water accident during my stay (it was a very rainy week): after a few days the lobby carpet smelled moldy, but this wasn't the case the first few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of decent local restaurants 1-3 blocks towards Vondelpark. That's actually a popular neighborhood and those places aren't very touristy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top