$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of De Lairessestraat 87, Amsterdam, 1071 NX

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jjsouts
England
Aug 30, 2012

Great, thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Bed made every day, nice staff, great location, all in all a great trip! We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a tram pass for the duration of your trip! Well worth it as you will save loads, great value for money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dennis R
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Aug 26, 2011

Ordinary

It was an ordinary hotel, friendly staff, but the smell in the rooms was just terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 20, 2011

nice, clean, close

very clean, very together, close to the center but far enough away to be quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Apr 16, 2011

Good and clean, 4 star level

Generally a good stay. Nice and clean hotel. Typical four star quality, clean but not very modern in terms of amenities. New towels but not sheets every day. No toiletries. Friendly staff and no problems during the stay. A/C in the room. Hotel is in a very nice area, lots of nice cafes. Location is 10 minutes from town centre by tram. Recommended, good quality for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love to travel...
Business
Burlingame, CA
Apr 13, 2011

Not for Americans

This hotel is located in a nice area that makes Amsterdam sites accessible by bus or tram. But, the hotel rooms are so small, that if you're not traveling alone, there is not enough space. We booked a double, and we had to rearrange the furniture to accommodate our luggage. One of the beds was not comfortable, the maid service was very poor, and to top it off we were without any water one afternoon without any notice. Also please note: (April 2011) they were doing major construction on the building, less than 100 ft from our window, that started at about 7am on weekdays, so don't plan to sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Museumplein area is great for all types of museums and is a short walk from the hotel. For dining, we took the #2 tram from the hotel (we also walked once, but it is a bit far) to Leidseplein where there are restaurants galore! Any type of food you could possibly want at decent prices. We especially liked the all you can eat ribs, that are found at many locations, and the all you can eat chicken fajitas. A great place for Chinese fast food is called Wok and Walk across from McDonalds. Americans should be aware that you will not be served tap water in restaurants, and tea and coffee refills are also not possible without paying for a second cup. The only way to get water in a restaurant is to pay for mineral water. Since mineral water makes me blow up like a balloon, I smuggled in tap water from the hotel and sipped it when the waitress wasn't looking. • Another warning: Amsterdam has more bicycles than people. Beware of the bicycles. They come from every direction and are very dangerous. Getting off a bus, or out of a taxi is quite a risk. The bicycles are usually on the red brick area of the sidewalk, but it is so subtle that it rook us a day to figure it out. Once you understand where the bicycles are, it is a bit easier, but you must always be prepared for a surprise rider......and they do not slow down for pedestrians. The cars are easy to avoid, the bicycles are a challenge. •• I highly recommend Keukenhof tulip gardens if you are traveling in the Spring. For the best price, with no time restrictions, go to the Keukenhof website and buy a combi ticket that can be used on any day during the season. The combi ticket price is less than 1/3 of the price of packaged deals. It includes entrance admission, lets you have unlimited time in the garden, and includes a Connexxion bus ride (to and from the airport), and drops you off right at the front gate of the garden. Take the 197 bus to Schiphol airport from this hotel (4 euros each way) and then find the Connexxion bus to Keukenhof. The Connexxion bus runs about every 15 minutes till about 7pm. Give yourself several hours to enjoy this "Disneyland" of tulips. Be sure to go inside all the buildings so you don't miss anything. There are lots of restaurants, so no worries about food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cowley Minx
Business
London
Aug 4, 2010

Good location - away from the noise

If you want a quiet stay in a residential location, this is the place to be. Nice little shops, cafes and restaurants within walking distance although they don't stay open late. You need to be in the centre for that. I stayed in a single room which was a bit on the small side but the main things like cleanliness and good bathroom were spot on. Staff could have been more friendly and helpful with the hotel's facilities. The bar never seemed to be open and we forgot to ask about the fitness facilities so are not even sure they existed. The Hotel is within walking distance to Van Gogh and a few other points of interest but the trams were really easy to use to get to Dam Square and other parts. For a quiet stay, I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you can, purchase the iAmsterdam Card which offers free travel on buses and trams (not trains) and either free entry or discounts on a full range of attractions and restaurants in Amsterdam. It is valid until the end of the year and is well worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 5, 2010

No wake up call

Room did not have alarm clock, and did NOT receive wake up call as requested. Cost me 40 EURs. Also, sheets may have been dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, IN
Oct 17, 2009

Great place to stay in Amsterdam

A great place to stay, with a friendly staff. The neighborhood is beautiful, with Vondel Park and a sculpture park nearby. Wifi is excellent, and the beds were extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tram to the center of town for 2,60 Euro round trip. It's fast, and you can rest your feet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austria - Vienna
Sep 27, 2009

Hotel OK

Very close to the city center, tram nearby. Hotel is good situated but unfortunately very noisy - it's on a crossing, so you can here every single car... It is not very cheap because in the price was no breakfast included. Extra charge for breakfast is very expensive.... The staff is ok, the ladies are very helpful but not very trained if you ask for sights.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the best place the Leidseplain... 10 min. walk or 2 stops by tram....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dolls52
Business
South Dakota
Aug 21, 2009

Excellent location for sight seeing

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we booked on line and were very pleased with our accommodation. The breakfast buffet was a good example of a taste of Dutch and we enjoyed everything about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Order tickets ahead for attractions such as the musuems to avoid standing in long lines to purchase them the day you are sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jefferson City, MO
Aug 11, 2009

My experience at the Memphis Hotel

I was pleased with the room. Color TV, basic cable. Could catch up with news on CNN. Good view and A/c worked great. housekeeping staff was excellent. Front desk people sometimes acted like they did not want to talk much or answer questions. just a short block to local cafe's and bakeries. Quick walk to Museums. About 2 miles to Anne Frank House. Easy access to bus/streetcars/bikes. Good hotel to stay at in Amsterdam. It must be a good location because the Hilton hotel was 2 blocks around the corner and charged much, much higher prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amsterdam food not the greatest. Pasteries are excellent but I longed for a good meat and potato meal. About a mile walk to the Hard Rock Cafe, McDonald's and Burger King. Was able to get my food fix when needed. 10 oz. Hard Rock Burger with fries was cheap and fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top