$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of De Lairessestraat 87, Amsterdam, 1071 NX

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wainrights Dog
Business
Cumbria, UK
Sep 24, 2012

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

This is not a 4Star hotel, but it is still a nice hotel, and the staff are very nice. The Bar and Resturaunt are overpriced - hence they are mostly found to be empty. location - well a little out of the way but saved by the proximity to the #16 Tram which will take you directly into Damm Square for a couple of Euro's. Room was clean and mostly quiet, it had aircon. There are similarly priced hotels downtown without the 4star claim which have same/similar attributes but with the advantage of location to the centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are into solo Euro TV watching - this is the hotel for you. If you want any other entertainment is at least a 10min walk to the nearest pub and further to some of the resturaunts and shops. Best advice I could give is to dump your bags and get the tram into town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jjsouts
Business
England
Aug 30, 2012

Great, thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Bed made every day, nice staff, great location, all in all a great trip! We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a tram pass for the duration of your trip! Well worth it as you will save loads, great value for money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DanPMG
Business
London
Aug 29, 2012

Absolutely fine

Not really special and just a bit too far from the centre for comfort. The local area is quiet with a few good places to eat at much lower prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EMF right on
Business
Essex, UK
Aug 20, 2012

Memphis shine

The hotel is set in a quite and nice neighbourhood with easy access to the city bus and tram networks. Very helpful and friendly staff! The hotel room was small for a double room but clean with the exception of the shower curtain that needed changing, which the duty staff obliged and I was happy with response. Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our stay of summer city break!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack Colgan
Business
Safety Harbor, FL
Jul 28, 2012

Excellent value at the Memphis Hotel.

Located in a nice area of Amsterdam, my room was upgraded which was perfectly fine. Staff was extremely courteous and took care of any needs. I visited not only Amsterdam, but Brugge Belgium, as well as had dinner with friends in Haarlem. I would certainly go back to this hotel in the future. Jack Colgan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a 72 hour tram pass as opposed to buying a new 24 hour pass every day. 72 hr.pass was 16Euro as opposed to 7.50 for the 24 hr one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Expat Dutchman
Business
California
Jul 21, 2012

Hardly four stars

I spent a week here. Like other reviewers, I had a fine experience, but hardly something worth 4 stars. The location is good: very quiet at night, outside the tourist center proper, a 5-minute walk from Vondelpark, 10 minutes to Museumplein, tram 16 stops a block away, other trams a few blocks away. (Tip: to get to the airport, walk 3 blocks to tram 5, take it to station Amsterdam Zuid. 4-6 trains an hour to the airport, a 6-minute ride for eu 2.40. Overall, less time than the KLM shuttle bus!) My single room was clean and well-equipped but very small. They only give you the standard European "body wash" liquid soap instead of a proper hotel-sized bar of soap. The breakfast buffet for eu 12.50 was good: great scrambled eggs, all the expected fare like bacon, breads, cereals (didn't try), basic lunch meats and cheeses, but still felt somewhat limited (not much fresh fruit) and the same all week long. Friendly service by real people. Perhaps the biggest weakness for me: the free-for-the-asking internet is okay for checking email, but not much else: Skype voice calls were unusable, I didn't even try video calls. Also it can be used by one device only. I got a very good pre-paid rate online, but beware: cancellation fee is 100%, and the hotel still charged me city tax on check-out, which was NOT mentioned on check-in. They must've had some kind of water accident during my stay (it was a very rainy week): after a few days the lobby carpet smelled moldy, but this wasn't the case the first few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of decent local restaurants 1-3 blocks towards Vondelpark. That's actually a popular neighborhood and those places aren't very touristy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
An Unused Nickname
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 14, 2012

Fine, but not superb

I have no major complaints about the Memphis, though I think its 4-star rating may be a drop more than it deserves. It's very well located, it's reasonably comfortable, but it's also not quite special enough for me to see it as a 4-star stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Vondelpark is beautiful, and it's a 5 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
European Fan
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 13, 2012

Lovely and relaxing

My teenage daughter and I rounded out a 2 week vacation with a few days in the beautiful city of Amsterdam. We could not have been happier with our stay at the Memphis. It is a beautiful hotel in a charming and safe neighborhood.The staff was always helpful and we felt very relaxed and pampered there. The location is one of the nicest in Amsterdam - a little away from the center but less than a 10 minute walk to the Van Gogh museum and the Riksmuseum and the tram is literally outside the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sddogg
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jul 6, 2012

Really nice spot away from the madness

I couldn't believe what a bargain this place was. It wasn't quite in the heart of Amsterdam, but near the more sedate museum district, near fancier restaurants and the concert hall. It was still only a 10 minute bike-ride from all the crazy action like the red-light district, so you can easily get a full taste of the city. The staff was so helpful, the internet worked well, and it was pleasant at all times. After two nights, I had to leave since they were booked, so I went to another hotel nearer the city center, and it was more money and a total freaking pigsty. I came back to this hotel within 20 minutes and begged them to take me back for the next night, and they did. Everyone remembered my name, even! I will definitely stay here on all other future trips!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EllieMay
Business
London
Jul 3, 2012

Great location, basic accomodation

The Memphis Hotel was in a great location, about 10 mins walk from Museum Square. On the whole the staff were friendly and helpful. The room felt quite basic considering the hotel was rated as a 4*. The bathroom was very simple and had a bit of a nasty smell to it. That said bed linen seems clean, so no complaints there. It would have been nice to have some of the usual bathroom smellies, shower cap etc and maybe tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Overall had a great visit to Amsterdam, it's a wonderful city with friendly people and lovely sights to see and places to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top