$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of De Lairessestraat 87, Amsterdam, 1071 NX

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alicia1982
Business
Dundee, Scotland
Dec 10, 2013

Excellent value for money

Thouroughly enjoyed my stay at hotel. Have stayed in amsterdam many times before and this has been my favourite stay yet. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dolls52
Business
South Dakota
Aug 21, 2009

Excellent location for sight seeing

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we booked on line and were very pleased with our accommodation. The breakfast buffet was a good example of a taste of Dutch and we enjoyed everything about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Order tickets ahead for attractions such as the musuems to avoid standing in long lines to purchase them the day you are sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, IN
Oct 17, 2009

Great place to stay in Amsterdam

A great place to stay, with a friendly staff. The neighborhood is beautiful, with Vondel Park and a sculpture park nearby. Wifi is excellent, and the beds were extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tram to the center of town for 2,60 Euro round trip. It's fast, and you can rest your feet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 20, 2011

nice, clean, close

very clean, very together, close to the center but far enough away to be quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob, Frequent work traveler
Business
Orlando, FL
Jun 1, 2009

Perfect location

Good location if you want quiet but to still be within walking distance of attractions of Amsterdam. It is only a quick and cheap cab ride to the "City Center".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

for high end boutique shops, it is great. If you want souvenirs and other Amsterdam "favorites" you will have to walk or cab it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Meredith NH
Jul 11, 2009

Nice Location

Although the hotel is a bit out of the center city it is not far from the museums and Vondelpark. The area is a very nice area and seems upscale and safe to walk. The single rooms are small but I paid just a small amount more and got a double. The free wireless internet was a real plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice coffee and pastry shop, organic grocery store, and Van Dam catering shop with amazing food within a block or two.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 29, 2009

A good value

I arrived 6 hours before check-in time, and the staff was happy to check my bags, keep my computer in the (more-secure) back office, and give me a map and directions to the museums so I could keep occupied. Throughout my stay the desk staff was always pleasant and helpful. The room was small but clean, typical of European hotels. When I first got to the room, I was concerned because it was right next to the elevator. No worries, the soundproofing was so good I wouldn't have known the elevator was there. Conveniently located one block from a stop on the tram #16 line. In a quiet neighborhood outside the central area, but only a 25 minute ride from the Central Station in one direction and 15-20 minutes from Vrije Universiteit, where I was visiting, in the other. If you're arriving by tram, the stop is Emmastraat, then walk 1 block back toward the city center. Cabs are outrageous in Amsterdam, but you don't need them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you're looking for souvenir junk for your kids, and you don't want your 6-year-old walking around with a [*] or sexual innuendo on her t-shirt, you're mostly stuck with trashy ceramic windmills/wooden shoes. If you see something acceptable, snap it up. [...] Whatever. The airport has souvenirs that cater to a wider variety of tastes than most shops in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 18, 2009

No complaints

Perfect medium/small hotel. Upon arriving I told them I didn't like my room location and was immediately given I room I did like. The service was quick and done graciously. It's in a residential (a local told me it's considered upscale) neighborhood, with restaurants very close by. It's a few blocks from the Rijks Museum and the Van Gogh Museum. I walked to the center of town and the Anne Frank house (maybe 30/40 minutes), but if one doesn't want to walk, public transportation is no more than two blocks away. Also, Amsterdam is the most bike friendly city I've ever seen--there are bike lanes on almost every street. It's very safe and half the people in Amsterdam use a bike instead of a car. There's a bike rental place a block from the hotel. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J, single and loving it
Business
Clearwater, FL
Jul 15, 2009

Comfortable and clean

All was great except it was not clear where the hotel was located in reference to the central train station. Either needed easier navigation on website to find this out or a better map. Otherwise, the hotel was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jefferson City, MO
Aug 11, 2009

My experience at the Memphis Hotel

I was pleased with the room. Color TV, basic cable. Could catch up with news on CNN. Good view and A/c worked great. housekeeping staff was excellent. Front desk people sometimes acted like they did not want to talk much or answer questions. just a short block to local cafe's and bakeries. Quick walk to Museums. About 2 miles to Anne Frank House. Easy access to bus/streetcars/bikes. Good hotel to stay at in Amsterdam. It must be a good location because the Hilton hotel was 2 blocks around the corner and charged much, much higher prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amsterdam food not the greatest. Pasteries are excellent but I longed for a good meat and potato meal. About a mile walk to the Hard Rock Cafe, McDonald's and Burger King. Was able to get my food fix when needed. 10 oz. Hard Rock Burger with fries was cheap and fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top