$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of De Lairessestraat 87, Amsterdam, 1071 NX

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
European Fan
Boston, MA
Jul 13, 2012

Lovely and relaxing

My teenage daughter and I rounded out a 2 week vacation with a few days in the beautiful city of Amsterdam. We could not have been happier with our stay at the Memphis. It is a beautiful hotel in a charming and safe neighborhood.The staff was always helpful and we felt very relaxed and pampered there. The location is one of the nicest in Amsterdam - a little away from the center but less than a 10 minute walk to the Van Gogh museum and the Riksmuseum and the tram is literally outside the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin912
Business
Kansas City
Feb 2, 2014

Memphis Hotel Review

Stayed for 4 days in January, which is not exactly the ideal time to visit Amsterdam. The purpose of my visit was to move my daughter to Amsterdam so that she can study for a semester as part of a student exchange program. This hotel was very good. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The room was large enough for two - albeit with double beds. No dual queen or king size beds, at least not with the package I booked. The location is great - several restaurants within a two block walk. There is also a great little pub a block away that I wish I would have found the first night. Several Tram/Bus stops are 1-2 blocks away, as well. I should disclose that we must have had a mouse in our room one night. I had read about mouse issues at the Memphis, so it was not entirely unexpected. I never saw the mouse, but something was working hard to get into our bags in the middle of one night. We ended up leaving the bathroom light on - which left it dark enough to sleep, but directed enough light into the room that the mouse was scared off. I wavered between 3 and 4 stars, only because of the aforementioned mouse. But because it was only an issue for about 30 minutes one night, and because it was not unexpected, I kept the review at 4 stars, because everything else was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I believe the name of the pub was Verhulst. I hope that is correct. It was a small little place just a block away. I had a great meal and a couple of beers (something other than Heineken!) on my last night in Amsterdam. I would have gone there every night had I found it sooner. The owner/manager saw me helplessly trying to translate the specials from Dutch to English and took me under his wing - a very friendly and helpful guy. Check this place out for a casual meal or drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rodica Ro
Business
Windsor
Jan 28, 2014

Location and comfort

We just returned from a great vacation in Amsterdam, we stayed at the Memphis hotel which I highly recommend for its location, walking distance to the museums, about 10 minutes, room size and comfort, and the price was right. I would definitely choose this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within five minutes walk you have access to coffee shops, bakery, pastry places, butcher and deli, groceries, restaurants, and boutiques.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steph and donnie
Business
Glasgow
Jan 6, 2014

Not a 4 Star hotel more a good 2 star hotel

Just a little too far out of town. New Year's eve we had a 40 minute walk into town as no trams. However, trams any other time were frequent and good service. Very safe area. The heating in our room was not working properly eventually got fixed after 3rd time asking for it to be fixed. Breakfast was horrible and far too expensive I'd advise going local. The noise in our room 106 was too loud - trams going past constantly and the TV could not be turned up so could not hear the TV. When leaving the reception did not even ask if we enjoyed our stay, a small thing but I reckon quite important. Kettle in room with one teabag and no milk. This is not a four star hotel - more a good 2 star. The man behind the bar was really friendly. I would not stay here again its too expensive and too many negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LABIKETRAVEL
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 28, 2013

Holiday Vacation

Good quiet location, about 15-20 minutes into to the city by Tram or you can rent a bike through the hotel. The museum is a 10 minute walk or two stops on Tram 16. Public transit is cheap 7.50 euros for a day pass. There are spot to eat at the circle down the street from the hotel, a small organic market, and a boutique shop. It's a perfect spot resting after being in the city center. The hotel staff is friendly and they all speak very good English. However the WiFI is very slow with a poor connection. The hotel is pretty clean, I didn't experience any issues with cleanliness. Not bad all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the Tram, not point in driving in Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alicia1982
Business
Dundee, Scotland
Dec 10, 2013

Excellent value for money

Thouroughly enjoyed my stay at hotel. Have stayed in amsterdam many times before and this has been my favourite stay yet. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willtastic
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 2, 2013

Neck-aches...

Great hotel if you get a really nice deal! Perfect location, 17 minutes away from the Central Station. There is no pillow menu, and had to sleep on pretty deflated pillows. No damage done, but made our vacation a little strained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a 72 hour tram pass for 16.50, otherwise it is 2.80 per hour on the tram.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
melbourno83
Business
amsterdam
Oct 13, 2013

great location

The hotel had a great location, only a block away from a tram. The neighborhood is really posh, and there are a lot of decent places to eat as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Screaming Beans

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HapppyGranPa
Business
Tokyo
Sep 25, 2013

Took twnty min. to check-in

When arrived, they told me that they have over-booking problem on that night and asked me to use neighber hotel for the first night. I agreed it inder the condition if we stay full two nights on the alternative hotel.We needed to wait for 20 minutes to settle the games and finally got a room on Menphis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmberStClare
Business
Eastbourne
Feb 18, 2013

Great Holiday

Lovely hotel, helpful staff. The Valentine's dinner we had in the restaurant was first rate. The hotel is not as close to the centre of Amsterdam as we would have liked, but there is a frequent tram service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelGirl Brigitte N
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 28, 2012

Visiting Amsterdam

Lovely, comfortable hotel, but the best attribute is the staff. The desk staff is helpful, polite, and charming, and made this hotel my go to place to stay every time I visit Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Italian restaurants just a few minutes walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top