$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of De Lairessestraat 87, Amsterdam, 1071 NX

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
European Fan
Boston, MA
Jul 13, 2012

Lovely and relaxing

My teenage daughter and I rounded out a 2 week vacation with a few days in the beautiful city of Amsterdam. We could not have been happier with our stay at the Memphis. It is a beautiful hotel in a charming and safe neighborhood.The staff was always helpful and we felt very relaxed and pampered there. The location is one of the nicest in Amsterdam - a little away from the center but less than a 10 minute walk to the Van Gogh museum and the Riksmuseum and the tram is literally outside the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rodica Ro
Business
Windsor
Jan 28, 2014

Location and comfort

We just returned from a great vacation in Amsterdam, we stayed at the Memphis hotel which I highly recommend for its location, walking distance to the museums, about 10 minutes, room size and comfort, and the price was right. I would definitely choose this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within five minutes walk you have access to coffee shops, bakery, pastry places, butcher and deli, groceries, restaurants, and boutiques.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steph and donnie
Business
Glasgow
Jan 6, 2014

Not a 4 Star hotel more a good 2 star hotel

Just a little too far out of town. New Year's eve we had a 40 minute walk into town as no trams. However, trams any other time were frequent and good service. Very safe area. The heating in our room was not working properly eventually got fixed after 3rd time asking for it to be fixed. Breakfast was horrible and far too expensive I'd advise going local. The noise in our room 106 was too loud - trams going past constantly and the TV could not be turned up so could not hear the TV. When leaving the reception did not even ask if we enjoyed our stay, a small thing but I reckon quite important. Kettle in room with one teabag and no milk. This is not a four star hotel - more a good 2 star. The man behind the bar was really friendly. I would not stay here again its too expensive and too many negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LABIKETRAVEL
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 28, 2013

Holiday Vacation

Good quiet location, about 15-20 minutes into to the city by Tram or you can rent a bike through the hotel. The museum is a 10 minute walk or two stops on Tram 16. Public transit is cheap 7.50 euros for a day pass. There are spot to eat at the circle down the street from the hotel, a small organic market, and a boutique shop. It's a perfect spot resting after being in the city center. The hotel staff is friendly and they all speak very good English. However the WiFI is very slow with a poor connection. The hotel is pretty clean, I didn't experience any issues with cleanliness. Not bad all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the Tram, not point in driving in Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alicia1982
Business
Dundee, Scotland
Dec 10, 2013

Excellent value for money

Thouroughly enjoyed my stay at hotel. Have stayed in amsterdam many times before and this has been my favourite stay yet. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willtastic
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 2, 2013

Neck-aches...

Great hotel if you get a really nice deal! Perfect location, 17 minutes away from the Central Station. There is no pillow menu, and had to sleep on pretty deflated pillows. No damage done, but made our vacation a little strained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a 72 hour tram pass for 16.50, otherwise it is 2.80 per hour on the tram.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
melbourno83
Business
amsterdam
Oct 13, 2013

great location

The hotel had a great location, only a block away from a tram. The neighborhood is really posh, and there are a lot of decent places to eat as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Screaming Beans

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HapppyGranPa
Business
Tokyo
Sep 25, 2013

Took twnty min. to check-in

When arrived, they told me that they have over-booking problem on that night and asked me to use neighber hotel for the first night. I agreed it inder the condition if we stay full two nights on the alternative hotel.We needed to wait for 20 minutes to settle the games and finally got a room on Menphis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmberStClare
Business
Eastbourne
Feb 18, 2013

Great Holiday

Lovely hotel, helpful staff. The Valentine's dinner we had in the restaurant was first rate. The hotel is not as close to the centre of Amsterdam as we would have liked, but there is a frequent tram service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelGirl Brigitte N
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 28, 2012

Visiting Amsterdam

Lovely, comfortable hotel, but the best attribute is the staff. The desk staff is helpful, polite, and charming, and made this hotel my go to place to stay every time I visit Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Italian restaurants just a few minutes walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wainrights Dog
Business
Cumbria, UK
Sep 24, 2012

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

This is not a 4Star hotel, but it is still a nice hotel, and the staff are very nice. The Bar and Resturaunt are overpriced - hence they are mostly found to be empty. location - well a little out of the way but saved by the proximity to the #16 Tram which will take you directly into Damm Square for a couple of Euro's. Room was clean and mostly quiet, it had aircon. There are similarly priced hotels downtown without the 4star claim which have same/similar attributes but with the advantage of location to the centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are into solo Euro TV watching - this is the hotel for you. If you want any other entertainment is at least a 10min walk to the nearest pub and further to some of the resturaunts and shops. Best advice I could give is to dump your bags and get the tram into town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top