$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
De Lairessestraat 87, Amsterdam, 1071 NX
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
39 reviews
Simply Great

It was a cute hotel, small with small room but it was perfect for me. I didn't spend much time in... See full review

  • PrincessLeah60
  • Mar 13, 2014
Short weekend break

No problems at all. Very handy for the 16 tram that only takes 15 minutes to get you to Dam Square.... See full review

  • Daz W
  • Feb 4, 2014
This cozy Amsterdam nook has welcome comforts and unbeatable locale

Located in the midst of prime Amsterdam shopping and cultural attractions, the four-star Memphis Hotel blends the welcoming feel of a boutique hotel with a vibrant, unbeatable location. Whether by foot, bike or public transit, guests find themselves within minutes of refreshing Vondelpark, the world-class Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum as well as sophisticated P.C. Hooftstraat shopping. Intimate rooms, appetizing in-house fare and complimentary Wi-Fi make the Memphis Hotel cozy and cosmopolitan at once.

Highlights


  • Walk to Vondelpark, P.C. Hooftstraat shopping and major museums
  • Complimentary in-room and public Wi-Fi
  • The Memphis Bar serves premium beers and wines
Rooms

Warm, contemporary décor and modern furnishings highlight the Memphis Hotel's 78 guest rooms. Each room offers complimentary Wi-Fi and modern fully-equipped bathrooms that offer tub/shower combinations. All beds feature plush cotton duvets. The Memphis Hotel provides hypoallergenic bedding on request.

Features

The Memphis Hotel puts guests within blocks of gorgeous Vondelpark's lush walking and biking paths, open-air music venue, cafés and its excellent Film Museum. Reach the world-famous Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum and upscale shopping on P.C. Hooftstraat within minutes by foot or bike.


Guests can kick off their day with a satisfying breakfast in the hotel's breakfast room. Delicious dinners along with a fine selection of beers, wines and cocktails are on the menu at the in-house Memphis Bar. To facilitate the needs of both business and leisure travelers, the Memphis Hotel's multilingual staff, full-service business center and complimentary Wi-Fi are on hand.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (3.5 mi/6 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (8.5 mi/13.5 km)
Attractions
  • Van Gogh Museum (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Vondelpark (6 blocks)
  • Rijksmuseum (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Begijnhof (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (3 mi/4.5 km)
Business


  • 24-hour business center
  • 3 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
Polices & Fees


  • A 5.5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Double Room
Room with one standard bed offers a private bathroom with bath/ shower, flat screen TV, WI-FI access complimentary, air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer. On request available: an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.
Single Room
If you are travelling alone a single room would be perfect for you. Single rooms have a single bed, cotton duvet, private bathroom with a bath/shower, flat screen TV, WI-FI access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.
Superior Double
Superior rooms are more spacious, with a queen size bed and sitting area, as well as a spacious work desk. They have a private bathroom with bath/shower, cotton duvet, private bathroom with a bath/shower, flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, WI-FI access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.
Triple Roon
Superior rooms are more spacious, with a queen size bed, a single bed and sitting area, as well as a spacious work desk. They have a private bathroom with bath/shower, cotton duvet, private bathroom with a bath/shower, flat screen TV, WI-FI access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea making facilities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Memphis Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3537 4.8722
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 9.0 km, Rotterdam Airport - 52.9 km.
Area description
The EMB Memphis Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.

Nearby points of interest

  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.5 mi
  • OT301: 0.5 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.5 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.6 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • OCCII: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.5 mi
  • OT301: 0.5 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.5 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.6 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • OCCII: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Beethovenstraat: 0.7 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.8 mi
  • Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.8 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.9 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Beatrixpark: 0.9 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Oud-West: 0.9 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Cuyp Marktet: 0.9 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 1 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 1 mi
  • Rietveld School of Art & Design: 1 mi
  • Sarphatipark: 1 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 1 mi
  • Amsterdam Zuid Railway Station: 1 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 1 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 1 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 1 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Metz & Co: 1.1 mi
  • Olympic Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 1.1 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 1.1 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Memphis Bar
The Memphis Bar serves refreshing cocktails, international liquors, local specialities and a large assortment of beers. The informal setting enables you to truly relax and unwind. During the summer months you can relax and enjoy a drink on the terrace.
Breakfast
The Continental Breakfast costs EUR 14,50 per person per day.
Brasserie Lairesse
Breakfast is served daily in Brasserie Lairesse. During weekdays it is open from 07.00 till 10.30 and in the weekend you can rest a bit longer, then it is served from 07.30 till 11.00. We only serve group lunches on request at Brasserie Lairesse. Diner is served from Tuesday till Saturday from 18.00 till 21.30. Spoil yourself with a delicious 3-course menu or enjoy la carte. The cuisine is French orientated with a twist to the Dutch and Eastern kitchen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.6 / 5
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
European Fan
Boston, MA
Jul 13, 2012

Lovely and relaxing

My teenage daughter and I rounded out a 2 week vacation with a few days in the beautiful city of Amsterdam. We could not have been happier with our stay at the Memphis. It is a beautiful hotel in a charming and safe neighborhood.The staff was always helpful and we felt very relaxed and pampered there. The location is one of the nicest in Amsterdam - a little away from the center but less than a 10 minute walk to the Van Gogh museum and the Riksmuseum and the tram is literally outside the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
J, single and loving it
Clearwater, FL
Jul 15, 2009

Comfortable and clean

All was great except it was not clear where the hotel was located in reference to the central train station. Either needed easier navigation on website to find this out or a better map. Otherwise, the hotel was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jun 18, 2009

No complaints

Perfect medium/small hotel. Upon arriving I told them I didn't like my room location and was immediately given I room I did like. The service was quick and done graciously. It's in a residential (a local told me it's considered upscale) neighborhood, with restaurants very close by. It's a few blocks from the Rijks Museum and the Van Gogh Museum. I walked to the center of town and the Anne Frank house (maybe 30/40 minutes), but if one doesn't want to walk, public transportation is no more than two blocks away. Also, Amsterdam is the most bike friendly city I've ever seen--there are bike lanes on almost every street. It's very safe and half the people in Amsterdam use a bike instead of a car. There's a bike rental place a block from the hotel. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
dolls52
South Dakota
Aug 21, 2009

Excellent location for sight seeing

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we booked on line and were very pleased with our accommodation. The breakfast buffet was a good example of a taste of Dutch and we enjoyed everything about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Order tickets ahead for attractions such as the musuems to avoid standing in long lines to purchase them the day you are sightseeing.

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
Alicia1982
Dundee, Scotland
Dec 10, 2013

Excellent value for money

Thouroughly enjoyed my stay at hotel. Have stayed in amsterdam many times before and this has been my favourite stay yet. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 29, 2009

A good value

I arrived 6 hours before check-in time, and the staff was happy to check my bags, keep my computer in the (more-secure) back office, and give me a map and directions to the museums so I could keep occupied. Throughout my stay the desk staff was always pleasant and helpful. The room was small but clean, typical of European hotels. When I first got to the room, I was concerned because it was right next to the elevator. No worries, the soundproofing was so good I wouldn't have known the elevator was there. Conveniently located one block from a stop on the tram #16 line. In a quiet neighborhood outside the central area, but only a 25 minute ride from the Central Station in one direction and 15-20 minutes from Vrije Universiteit, where I was visiting, in the other. If you're arriving by tram, the stop is Emmastraat, then walk 1 block back toward the city center. Cabs are outrageous in Amsterdam, but you don't need them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you're looking for souvenir junk for your kids, and you don't want your 6-year-old walking around with a [*] or sexual innuendo on her t-shirt, you're mostly stuck with trashy ceramic windmills/wooden shoes. If you see something acceptable, snap it up. [...] Whatever. The airport has souvenirs that cater to a wider variety of tastes than most shops in town.

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
Rob, Frequent work traveler
Business
Orlando, FL
Jun 1, 2009

Perfect location

Good location if you want quiet but to still be within walking distance of attractions of Amsterdam. It is only a quick and cheap cab ride to the "City Center".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

for high end boutique shops, it is great. If you want souvenirs and other Amsterdam "favorites" you will have to walk or cab it.

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
melbourno83
Business
amsterdam
Oct 13, 2013

great location

The hotel had a great location, only a block away from a tram. The neighborhood is really posh, and there are a lot of decent places to eat as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Screaming Beans

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
AmberStClare
Eastbourne
Feb 18, 2013

Great Holiday

Lovely hotel, helpful staff. The Valentine's dinner we had in the restaurant was first rate. The hotel is not as close to the centre of Amsterdam as we would have liked, but there is a frequent tram service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Bloomington, IN
Oct 17, 2009

Great place to stay in Amsterdam

A great place to stay, with a friendly staff. The neighborhood is beautiful, with Vondel Park and a sculpture park nearby. Wifi is excellent, and the beds were extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tram to the center of town for 2,60 Euro round trip. It's fast, and you can rest your feet.

Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
Daz W
High Peak Derbyshire UK
Feb 4, 2014

Short weekend break

No problems at all. Very handy for the 16 tram that only takes 15 minutes to get you to Dam Square. Had a room on the second floor that was on the same side of building as the tram lines however we were not troubled by noise. All staff we met were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top