$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of De Lairessestraat 87, Amsterdam, 1071 NX

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nellymac
Business
Ingleby barwick, Stockton
Jul 9, 2014

Comfortable hotel in good area!

Comfortable beds! Good powerful shower! We had room at back of hotel on 3rd floor! Thin walls but no noisy people! Fridge in room, kettle with tea and coffee provided. Hair dryer on bathroom. Staff pleasant. Bike hir, but ask in advance as there is a limited number. About 6 tramstops from Dam square! 2 stops from museum quarter!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

About 4tram stops quite a few pubs, cafés and restaurants - brilliant Indian restaurant, good food and value - Taj Mahal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ND travel bug
Business
North Dakota
Jul 4, 2014

Travel alone first time in Amsterdam

The number one reason I loved my stay here was because of the location. Right next to the museum area and about 15 mins. from Leidesplain, it's really easy to get around with a lot of great places for tourists in both those locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Cutting across the museumplain (museum park) and walking right through the huge museums opening, cuts your walk from your hotel to Leidesplain by at least half the time. Even at night it felt very safe and a great way to get to the fun parts of town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blues brothers cafe
Business
Easton, pa
Jul 3, 2014

Great Experience

The hotel was very nice, clean, and welcoming. The location is a little off from the main city which I enjoyed but you can take the bus or a tram car anywhere. Overall it was great and I would definetly stay there again when I come back to Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lenelu
Business
La Mesa, CA
Jun 26, 2014

3 days in amsterdam

This hotel is in a really nice neighborhood, and close to the museums which we visited in Amsterdam. The 16 tram which passes in front of the hotel made everything accessible. We loved our Amsterdam stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lenelu
Business
La Mesa, CA
Jun 19, 2014

Happy Travelers

We liked this hotel very much. I prefer accommodations which are nice looking, comfortable, clean, and fit in, somewhat, with a cities' style. This hotel was such a place. The neighborhood is great, and the surrounding restaurants are nightly gathering places for the friendly locals. The Tram stop is only one block away. The only thing I could complain about would be their breakfast buffet which consisted of a few not so great items.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Herring from street vendors. Served with onions and pickles on plates or on bread.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lone2 Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 18, 2014

Hotel did not honor the reservation

Upon arrival to the hotel I was told they had no room for me. It was the last thing I wanted to hear, after an exhausting 12 hours trip. They send me to a different hotel (Delphi) near by, and the paid for the taxi ride. They claimed it was an equivalent hotel, but I could not tell because I had not stayed at Memphis hotel. I was charged the same amount, which I though it was much, since I also had to pay 10E for breakfast and 75.5E "tourist tax".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mypointofview58
Business
Lowell,MA
Apr 11, 2014

Great for the single traveler

Stayed in room #511 small room with a double bed. Nice clean room and clean bathroom. There was a desk and chair perfect for 1 person also a refrigerator and a iron. Nice quiet residential area about 1 Km from the museums. Use either tram #2 or #16 about a five minute walk to the hotel. There are a handful of cafes and a small organic supermarket within walking distance of the hotel. Worked perfectly for me, i'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a Holland Pass I saved almost $100.00 and a multiple day tram pass for even more savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PrincessLeah60
Business
Israel
Mar 13, 2014

Simply Great

It was a cute hotel, small with small room but it was perfect for me. I didn't spend much time in the hotel. I took the 16 train everywhere I needed to go or I walked. It's about 10-15 minute ride from Dam Square. The hotel is in a Nice neighborhood with the locals and quite. Shopping And coffee near by. Friendly helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daz W
Business
High Peak Derbyshire UK
Feb 4, 2014

Short weekend break

No problems at all. Very handy for the 16 tram that only takes 15 minutes to get you to Dam Square. Had a room on the second floor that was on the same side of building as the tram lines however we were not troubled by noise. All staff we met were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Memphis Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin912
Business
Kansas City
Feb 2, 2014

Memphis Hotel Review

Stayed for 4 days in January, which is not exactly the ideal time to visit Amsterdam. The purpose of my visit was to move my daughter to Amsterdam so that she can study for a semester as part of a student exchange program. This hotel was very good. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The room was large enough for two - albeit with double beds. No dual queen or king size beds, at least not with the package I booked. The location is great - several restaurants within a two block walk. There is also a great little pub a block away that I wish I would have found the first night. Several Tram/Bus stops are 1-2 blocks away, as well. I should disclose that we must have had a mouse in our room one night. I had read about mouse issues at the Memphis, so it was not entirely unexpected. I never saw the mouse, but something was working hard to get into our bags in the middle of one night. We ended up leaving the bathroom light on - which left it dark enough to sleep, but directed enough light into the room that the mouse was scared off. I wavered between 3 and 4 stars, only because of the aforementioned mouse. But because it was only an issue for about 30 minutes one night, and because it was not unexpected, I kept the review at 4 stars, because everything else was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I believe the name of the pub was Verhulst. I hope that is correct. It was a small little place just a block away. I had a great meal and a couple of beers (something other than Heineken!) on my last night in Amsterdam. I would have gone there every night had I found it sooner. The owner/manager saw me helplessly trying to translate the specials from Dutch to English and took me under his wing - a very friendly and helpful guy. Check this place out for a casual meal or drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top