$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
Stadhouderskade 12, Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam, 1054 ES
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
73 reviews
Great hotel and very helpful staff

very clean, well located, delicious breakfast, helpful staff, free wifi in the lobby, concierge... See full review

  • vonyc
  • May 27, 2014
Awesome place to crash

We took a weekend trip to Amsterdam and wanted to enjoy the night life and everything was in... See full review

  • Ray C R
  • Mar 24, 2014
5-star luxury near Van Gogh Museum and premier sights

Sleek and sophisticated, the five-star Amsterdam Marriott Hotel offers guests a relaxing, world-class retreat. Within minutes from such landmark destinations as the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum, guests at the Amsterdam Marriott need not travel far from their front door to soak up the finest in Amsterdam dining, sights and cultural attractions. The in-house grill and lounge are sought-out by both guests and locals for succulent dinners and exquisite cocktails.

 

 

Highlights
  • Short walk to premier Amsterdam museums and lush Vondelpark
  • Walk to Blue Boat Company for canal tours
  • Excellent in-house restaurant and lounge for dining, cocktails and socializing

 

Rooms

Each of the Amsterdam Marriott's 390 sleek, modern guest rooms comes furnished with a king, queen or two double beds and marble bathrooms. Guests can unwind with in-room media amenities including a 32-inch flat-screen satellite HDTV with international channels and On Demand entertainment. Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and outlets with dual voltage adaptors are standard in all rooms.

 

The Amsterdam Marriott's executive level rooms offer all of the above, plus access to the Executive Lounge which provides complimentary breakfast, evening cocktails and all-day refreshments. Five spacious executive level suites also offer lounge access in addition to separate living, bedroom and dining quarters. Each suite comes with a king bed and two 32-inch HDTVs.

 

Features

Guests of the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel enjoy a sophisticated place to relax near the Van Gogh Museum and the city's most popular attractions. Between meetings or sightseeing, guests can opt to recharge at the state-of-the-art 24-hour fitness center or unwind in the sauna. The Amsterdam Marriott Hotel's Midtown Grill serves the most sumptuous breakfast and dinner menu in town. Sorel's Midtown Bar and Lounge dishes out appetizing lunches and dinner each day, along with specialty coffees and world-class cocktails.

 

The hotel offers babysitting, concierge, limousine and foreign exchange services, plus a collection of executive services and amenities.

 

Transportation
  • Closest tram stop (1 block)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
  • Amsterdam Central Station

Attractions

 

  • Blue Boat Company/Canal Boat Tours (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (4 blocks)
  • Van Gogh Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Museum Van Loon (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Ann Frankhuis) (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (2 mi/3 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (2 mi/3 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (2 mi/3 km)

 

Business
  • Full-service business center
  • Secretarial and translation services
  • 7,600 square feet of meeting and event space
  • 12 meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.1 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.2 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.2 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.2 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.2 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.1 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.2 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.2 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.2 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.2 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.4 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.4 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.4 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.4 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.4 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.4 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.5 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.5 mi
  • University Library: 0.5 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 0.5 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 0.5 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.6 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 0.6 mi
  • Spui: 0.6 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.6 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.6 mi
  • Book Market: 0.6 mi

Dining

Midtown Grill
Experience savory USDA steaks, fine chops and fresh seafood while enjoying views of the Leidseplein from this steakhouse restaurant in Amsterdam, where only the freshest ingredients are used in creating hearty and healthy menu options.
Sorel's Midtown Bar and Lounge
Whether relaxing at days end or meeting up with associates to go over the latest project, great cappuccinos, appetizing entrees and world-class cocktails combine with a chic atmosphere to fit the bill for nearly any occasion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 73
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
twiga
Business
Athens, Greece
Feb 22, 2012

Executive suite was no suite

The hotel was great in all respects except I had booked an executive suite and it does not have separate living room and is small for an executive suite. It was a corner room which made it freezing cold with no other advantage since it has windows on one side only like regular rooms. Corner rooms are to be avoided in this hotel since they have no "corner" windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaveTX
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 6, 2009

Not Quite What I Expected

We stayed here for two nights. Overall the place was nice, and convenient. But we had a few issues. First, they knew we were arriving EARLY in am from an overseas flight. We were told our room would not be ready for several hours. BUT, if we agreed to upgrade at a cost of 60 Euros per day, we could get a room right away. We did this, as we needed sleep after a 10 hour flight and essentially being awake for 24 hours at that point. Second, yes the place had internet, at a cost of 20 Euros per day, via SwissCom!!!!!!!! A little steep I think.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gregg H
Business
London
Oct 5, 2010

Disappointed

For the price, I expected quite a bit more. It was convenient to the Rijksmuseum--which is virtually closed until 2013--but otherwise the local restaurants are all tourist traps. Our 'view' was of a busy street, and the rooms aren't soundproof. If you're looking for a large, American-style hotel, this is it; it had no character or style. I wish I'd saved £100/night and stayed someplace more interesting. (Maybe someplace that included tea/coffee in the room, instead of making you pay 3 euros down in the bar.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Travelguy
Business
New York, NY
Sep 10, 2009

Nice but smelly

Great overall. Funny smell in lobby and hallways, like the exhalation of a bong hit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJsingapore
Business
Singapore
Jan 8, 2012

Not a bad choice

Near to everything , room not up to a 5* as compare to Singapore Marriott, but staff are perfect. Overall a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aleks11
Business
Netherlands
Jun 26, 2012

Perfectly situated

Ideal location - near to museams, nightlife and shopping areas. Helpful and friendly staff. Possibility of express checkout. Rooms are clean, but very poor equipped for 5 star hotel - no slippers, no bathrobe, only one small can of shower gel. In general - very good hotel, clean and comfortable, but feels more like 4 stars with the cost of 5*.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find good canal tours agency rigth near to the hotel- when facing to the center, go to the right along the canal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USAG Bamberg (US Army), Germany
Jul 6, 2009

Great Hotel, Hard To Find

Our hotel room was clean and very comfortable. The staff was helpful and spoke perfect English. Quoy, the restaurant on site, had one of the best steaks I have eaten while in Europe. However, it is nearly impossible to get to the front parking pull in (under the entrance awning) on your first try. We had to drive around for 40 minutes before we get on the right road. They should post signs so their patrons don't waste a quarter tank of gas looking for the right way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT EAT in the restaurants surrounding Leidsplein square. They are all for tourists and you'll find that the same dining establishment is repeated 7 times on the same street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 20, 2009

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel - Leidseplein

The hotel is like a typical US Marriott full service hotel ... decent size room, great staff, excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many nice restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherrif of Rock Ridge
Business
Newark, Delaware
Jan 4, 2010

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

The good. The hotel was clean, well staffed, very nice, and close to public transportation. It is also located within walking distance to the art museums, many restaurants, coffee shops, and shopping. While my wife and I were there we visited the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum (walking distance), many other smaller museums, Rembrant's house, Ann Frank's house, Cannibus College, Marajuana museum and the Red Light district. We also took a day trip to the city of Haarlem where we saw a windmill and a huge cathedral. It was a 20 minute train ride from the Central station. It was the best vacation my wife and I ever took. The only bad thing about the hotel was that there was an additional charge for everything (internet, movies on the TV ect...). We were smart and did not use any of these services. There is a internet coffee shop less than 5 minute walk from the hotel. 1.60 euro for 20 minutes of internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When traveling from Central Station take the 1,2, or 5 tram to the hotel and get off at Leidsplein. All 3 of those trams go to the same location. The Mariott is across the canal from the American Hotel, which is right at the tram stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovely nc
Business
North Carolina
Sep 23, 2009

Amsterdam

My husband and I went to Amsterdam for the first time and stayed at the Marriott. The service was great. Everyone spoke English and were very helpful. The hotel room was very comfortable especially the pillows. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant since there were so many other places to try. The only thing I did not like was no free wi-fi at the Marriott, although it is easy enough to go to any cafe and get free access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Do not miss the Anne Frank house. Very moving

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top