$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
Stadhouderskade 12, Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam, 1054 ES
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
120 reviews
Great hotel and very helpful staff

very clean, well located, delicious breakfast, helpful staff, free wifi in the lobby, concierge... See full review

  • vonyc
  • May 27, 2014
Awesome place to crash

We took a weekend trip to Amsterdam and wanted to enjoy the night life and everything was in... See full review

  • Ray C R
  • Mar 24, 2014
5-star luxury near Van Gogh Museum and premier sights

Sleek and sophisticated, the five-star Amsterdam Marriott Hotel offers guests a relaxing, world-class retreat. Within minutes from such landmark destinations as the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum, guests at the Amsterdam Marriott need not travel far from their front door to soak up the finest in Amsterdam dining, sights and cultural attractions. The in-house grill and lounge are sought-out by both guests and locals for succulent dinners and exquisite cocktails.

 

 

Highlights
  • Short walk to premier Amsterdam museums and lush Vondelpark
  • Walk to Blue Boat Company for canal tours
  • Excellent in-house restaurant and lounge for dining, cocktails and socializing

 

Rooms

Each of the Amsterdam Marriott's 390 sleek, modern guest rooms comes furnished with a king, queen or two double beds and marble bathrooms. Guests can unwind with in-room media amenities including a 32-inch flat-screen satellite HDTV with international channels and On Demand entertainment. Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and outlets with dual voltage adaptors are standard in all rooms.

 

The Amsterdam Marriott's executive level rooms offer all of the above, plus access to the Executive Lounge which provides complimentary breakfast, evening cocktails and all-day refreshments. Five spacious executive level suites also offer lounge access in addition to separate living, bedroom and dining quarters. Each suite comes with a king bed and two 32-inch HDTVs.

 

Features

Guests of the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel enjoy a sophisticated place to relax near the Van Gogh Museum and the city's most popular attractions. Between meetings or sightseeing, guests can opt to recharge at the state-of-the-art 24-hour fitness center or unwind in the sauna. The Amsterdam Marriott Hotel's Midtown Grill serves the most sumptuous breakfast and dinner menu in town. Sorel's Midtown Bar and Lounge dishes out appetizing lunches and dinner each day, along with specialty coffees and world-class cocktails.

 

The hotel offers babysitting, concierge, limousine and foreign exchange services, plus a collection of executive services and amenities.

 

Transportation
  • Closest tram stop (1 block)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
  • Amsterdam Central Station

Attractions

 

  • Blue Boat Company/Canal Boat Tours (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (4 blocks)
  • Van Gogh Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Museum Van Loon (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Ann Frankhuis) (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (2 mi/3 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (2 mi/3 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (2 mi/3 km)

 

Business
  • Full-service business center
  • Secretarial and translation services
  • 7,600 square feet of meeting and event space
  • 12 meeting rooms

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3625 4.8804
Area served
Amsterdam
Nearby airports
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, (AMS), 14.40, KM, NE; Rotterdam The Hague Airport, (RTM), 67.20, KM, S; Eindhoven Airport, (EIN), 120.00, KM, SE;
Area description
Oceanfront

Nearby points of interest

  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.1 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.2 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.2 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.2 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.2 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.1 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.2 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.2 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.2 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.2 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.4 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.4 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.4 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.4 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.4 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.4 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.5 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.5 mi
  • University Library: 0.5 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 0.5 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 0.5 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.6 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 0.6 mi
  • Spui: 0.6 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.6 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.6 mi
  • Book Market: 0.6 mi

Dining

Midtown Grill
Experience savory USDA steaks, fine chops and fresh seafood while enjoying views of the Leidseplein from this steakhouse restaurant in Amsterdam, where only the freshest ingredients are used in creating hearty and healthy menu options.
Sorel's Midtown Bar and Lounge
Whether relaxing at days end or meeting up with associates to go over the latest project, great cappuccinos, appetizing entrees and world-class cocktails combine with a chic atmosphere to fit the bill for nearly any occasion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reno
Aberdeen, Scotland
Aug 20, 2012

City Break with kids

Travelling with my 3 kids, the family room was great - plenty of room. For us, the location couldn't have been better. It was easy to get to, and had all we wanted relatively close by or a short tram ride away. The area has a good choice of restaurants and cafes nearby. The staff were always welcoming and friendly and I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa Florida
Aug 17, 2009

Worst Marrott Stay Ever

I reserved a room for 3 adults on the Club Level via Orbitz and the room description on Orbitz indicated the room would be either "1 king, 1 queen or 2 doubles". Since we reserved for 3 adults it seemed reasonable to assume we would receive 2 doubles. When we checked in, we were told we would receive a room with a queen bed only. When asked how this could be, since we had reserved for 3 adults, the reply was that that we had not reserved for 3 adults. When I provided the front desk staff with a copy of the confirmation indicating 3 adults, they blamed it on orbitz not sending through the correct information. I asked to see the hotel internal registration documents and noticed that the documents indicated 3 adults also. When pointing this out to the staff they played dumb. After much complaining and demanding to speak to the hotel manager, then only were we able to obtain a room with a king bed and room for a roll away bed to be brought in. We were told by the front desk staff that we could avoid these problems if we reserved directly with the Marriott site instead of going through Orbitz. A very poor customer service experience, indeed. During our 2 night stay on the Club Level, the lounge never once opened at the opening times indicated on the room brochures or the Club entrance signage. When they did open the food items were quickly exhausted. A very poor customer service experience, indeed. On Sunday morning we requested information from the Concierge on attending a local church service. We were provided a fact sheet with times and directions for an 11:45 service and took a cab to the service. When we arrived the service was just finishing and the officials at the church told us that they had discontinued the 11:45 service more than 2 years ago. A very poor customer service experience, indeed. I would recommend avoiding this Marriott when staying in Amsterdam at all costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa Florida
Aug 17, 2009

Worst Marrott Stay Ever

I reserved a room for 3 adults on the Club Level via Orbitz and the room description on Orbitz indicated the room would be either "1 king, 1 queen or 2 doubles". Since we reserved for 3 adults it seemed reasonable to assume we would receive 2 doubles. When we checked in, we were told we would receive a room with a queen bed only. When asked how this could be, since we had reserved for 3 adults, the reply was that that we had not reserved for 3 adults. When I provided the front desk staff with a copy of the confirmation indicating 3 adults, they blamed it on orbitz not sending through the correct information. I asked to see the hotel internal registration documents and noticed that the documents indicated 3 adults also. When pointing this out to the staff they played dumb. After much complaining and demanding to speak to the hotel manager, then only were we able to obtain a room with a king bed and room for a roll away bed to be brought in. We were told by the front desk staff that we could avoid these problems if we reserved directly with the Marriott site instead of going through Orbitz. A very poor customer service experience, indeed. During our 2 night stay on the Club Level, the lounge never once opened at the opening times indicated on the room brochures or the Club entrance signage. When they did open the food items were quickly exhausted. A very poor customer service experience, indeed. On Sunday morning we requested information from the Concierge on attending a local church service. We were provided a fact sheet with times and directions for an 11:45 service and took a cab to the service. When we arrived the service was just finishing and the officials at the church told us that they had discontinued the 11:45 service more than 2 years ago. A very poor customer service experience, indeed. I would recommend avoiding this Marriott when staying in Amsterdam at all costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mayam
Bucharest
Sep 2, 2013

Good location

Room service is not good , but the managers very helpful . rooms are very small & business centre is out of order & no free wi fi ( 5 starts hotel !!!) the bath rooms are very small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
warsaw
Jun 12, 2009

Amsterdam Marriott

bad odor in the bathroom, real bad! old bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
May 6, 2011

My stay in a wonderful city

The service desk personnel were pleasant and friendly, the food in the hotel restaurant was very good. The location was excellent and basically everything about my trip was outstanding with the exception of my room. I preferred a non-smoking room and I was warned of a service charge if I smoked in the room. The room and linen wreaked of smoke, the balcony area was loaded with cigarette butts and the bed was in need of a mattress change. I was disappointed with the comfort of the room, after all it was a Marriott and I expected more from that chain of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good food all over the city.

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaveTX
Houston, TX
Jun 6, 2009

Not Quite What I Expected

We stayed here for two nights. Overall the place was nice, and convenient. But we had a few issues. First, they knew we were arriving EARLY in am from an overseas flight. We were told our room would not be ready for several hours. BUT, if we agreed to upgrade at a cost of 60 Euros per day, we could get a room right away. We did this, as we needed sleep after a 10 hour flight and essentially being awake for 24 hours at that point. Second, yes the place had internet, at a cost of 20 Euros per day, via SwissCom!!!!!!!! A little steep I think.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gregg H
London
Oct 5, 2010

Disappointed

For the price, I expected quite a bit more. It was convenient to the Rijksmuseum--which is virtually closed until 2013--but otherwise the local restaurants are all tourist traps. Our 'view' was of a busy street, and the rooms aren't soundproof. If you're looking for a large, American-style hotel, this is it; it had no character or style. I wish I'd saved £100/night and stayed someplace more interesting. (Maybe someplace that included tea/coffee in the room, instead of making you pay 3 euros down in the bar.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
toronto
Aug 25, 2009

good location

Friendly courteous and helpful staff.very close to fashion district,museums,public transportation and bars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
May 9, 2009

Okay for a short stay

The hotel was not as nice as I expected based on the star rating and the amount of money I paid. My stay wasn't awful, but neither would I go there again. My room was very small and the furnishings were dated. The bed was very, very uncomfortable, very hard. The room was not very clean, but this seems to be a widespread problem throughout the hospitality industry lately. Not a bad hotel, but I wouldn't recommend it either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
toronto
Aug 25, 2009

good location

Friendly courteous and helpful staff.very close to fashion district,museums,public transportation and bars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top