$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Stadhouderskade 12, Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam, 1054 ES

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherrif of Rock Ridge
Business
Newark, Delaware
Jan 4, 2010

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

The good. The hotel was clean, well staffed, very nice, and close to public transportation. It is also located within walking distance to the art museums, many restaurants, coffee shops, and shopping. While my wife and I were there we visited the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum (walking distance), many other smaller museums, Rembrant's house, Ann Frank's house, Cannibus College, Marajuana museum and the Red Light district. We also took a day trip to the city of Haarlem where we saw a windmill and a huge cathedral. It was a 20 minute train ride from the Central station. It was the best vacation my wife and I ever took. The only bad thing about the hotel was that there was an additional charge for everything (internet, movies on the TV ect...). We were smart and did not use any of these services. There is a internet coffee shop less than 5 minute walk from the hotel. 1.60 euro for 20 minutes of internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When traveling from Central Station take the 1,2, or 5 tram to the hotel and get off at Leidsplein. All 3 of those trams go to the same location. The Mariott is across the canal from the American Hotel, which is right at the tram stop.

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovely nc
Business
North Carolina
Sep 23, 2009

Amsterdam

My husband and I went to Amsterdam for the first time and stayed at the Marriott. The service was great. Everyone spoke English and were very helpful. The hotel room was very comfortable especially the pillows. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant since there were so many other places to try. The only thing I did not like was no free wi-fi at the Marriott, although it is easy enough to go to any cafe and get free access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Do not miss the Anne Frank house. Very moving

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wellington, FL
Jul 13, 2011

Amsterdam headquarters

Hotel is very well located near museums and central city. The tram is located a short walk across the canal. The concierge staff was very helpful with suggestions, tickets and directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several restaurants in the entertainment district, a short walk from the hotel. We just picked a few that looked interesting and walked in. No reservations were required and every place we ate was excellent.

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrbeey
Business
Emmaus, PA USA
Jul 15, 2009

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

After staying in a variety of accomodations in Germany & Belgium the Marriott was an oasis of comfort and affordable luxury. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. An American style bed was especially restful. On site parking was expensive at 91 euros for a 3 night stay but that fee was dropped by the hotel. The reason was that on our last night in Amsterdam a convention of southern American insurance salesmen was staying in the hotel. We were unfortunate to be beside the loudest, rudest, screaming jerks on earth that night. They screamed until midnight and then got quiet but resumed at 4 am! After mentioning this at the checkout desk the charge was removed from our stay. I am a Marriott Priority Club member and can attest to the hotel's overall quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the top museums and restaurants were within minutes of this hotel. We always felt safe.

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Aug 16, 2010

nice place to stay

Really friendly staff. Place to change money in the lobby. They let us keep our luggage in a secure area until we could check in. Close to the canal boat station, Rijksmuseum, Hard rock etc.If you have a car call ahead to reserve a space. They have hotel parking but it is limited (which is not mentioned). local parking garage around the corner but, it is very expensive (ie. 68 euros a day) really nice place. Watch out for the bicycles. Which are everywhere...loud concert on saturday night but it stopped at 12;00 if thats a problem..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 24, 2010

great location in amsterdam

good location. very helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

none

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Dec 21, 2009

Amsterdam

Enjoyed the location of the hotel, it was in the center of downtown Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuckie V
Business
Atlanta
May 28, 2010

Amsterdam Marriott is Fine

This was one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed at. It has a good location on the Leidseplein in Amsterdam and is also across the street from the Holland Casino. The hotel was clean inside and service was good. Even though the Leidseplein is very busy and noisy, you could hear a pin drop in my room. The breakfast at the Marriott was the best that I had in Amsterdam which included a full buffet or you could order off the menu. There were unfortunately a few glitches, I ran out of soap, lotion, and washclothes during the weekend that I was there and had to ask for these items at the front desk. The pillows were unsupportive and the mattresses were lumpy and to me felt like they had been jumped on by numerous children. And as I previously mentioned the breakfast buffet was good as it should have been at 25 euros! All in all my stay at the Marriott was good and I would definately stay there again. Thanks Marriott for a memorable Amsterdam stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Vondlepark is a short walk from the hotel and is good place to unwind in the evening.

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jrsh
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Marriot Amsterdam

The hotel was lovely, and in a great location near the major art museums, walking distance to the flower and antique districts. But we got a bum steer from someone at the consierge desk. He said bus tours ended earlier than they did. Since we had less than 24 hours in town and were traveling with my 89 year old mother, we saw less of the city than we could have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the canal tour before dark, as not much is lit up at night as in other major cities.

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
May 25, 2009

Family trip to Amsterdam

Hotel was great. Location was very good, room was comfortable, and price was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top