$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
Stadhouderskade 12, Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam, 1054 ES
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
120 reviews
Great hotel and very helpful staff

very clean, well located, delicious breakfast, helpful staff, free wifi in the lobby, concierge... See full review

  • vonyc
  • May 27, 2014
Awesome place to crash

We took a weekend trip to Amsterdam and wanted to enjoy the night life and everything was in... See full review

  • Ray C R
  • Mar 24, 2014
5-star luxury near Van Gogh Museum and premier sights

Sleek and sophisticated, the five-star Amsterdam Marriott Hotel offers guests a relaxing, world-class retreat. Within minutes from such landmark destinations as the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum, guests at the Amsterdam Marriott need not travel far from their front door to soak up the finest in Amsterdam dining, sights and cultural attractions. The in-house grill and lounge are sought-out by both guests and locals for succulent dinners and exquisite cocktails.

 

 

Highlights
  • Short walk to premier Amsterdam museums and lush Vondelpark
  • Walk to Blue Boat Company for canal tours
  • Excellent in-house restaurant and lounge for dining, cocktails and socializing

 

Rooms

Each of the Amsterdam Marriott's 390 sleek, modern guest rooms comes furnished with a king, queen or two double beds and marble bathrooms. Guests can unwind with in-room media amenities including a 32-inch flat-screen satellite HDTV with international channels and On Demand entertainment. Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and outlets with dual voltage adaptors are standard in all rooms.

 

The Amsterdam Marriott's executive level rooms offer all of the above, plus access to the Executive Lounge which provides complimentary breakfast, evening cocktails and all-day refreshments. Five spacious executive level suites also offer lounge access in addition to separate living, bedroom and dining quarters. Each suite comes with a king bed and two 32-inch HDTVs.

 

Features

Guests of the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel enjoy a sophisticated place to relax near the Van Gogh Museum and the city's most popular attractions. Between meetings or sightseeing, guests can opt to recharge at the state-of-the-art 24-hour fitness center or unwind in the sauna. The Amsterdam Marriott Hotel's Midtown Grill serves the most sumptuous breakfast and dinner menu in town. Sorel's Midtown Bar and Lounge dishes out appetizing lunches and dinner each day, along with specialty coffees and world-class cocktails.

 

The hotel offers babysitting, concierge, limousine and foreign exchange services, plus a collection of executive services and amenities.

 

Transportation
  • Closest tram stop (1 block)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
  • Amsterdam Central Station

Attractions

 

  • Blue Boat Company/Canal Boat Tours (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (4 blocks)
  • Van Gogh Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Museum Van Loon (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Ann Frankhuis) (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (2 mi/3 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (2 mi/3 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (2 mi/3 km)

 

Business
  • Full-service business center
  • Secretarial and translation services
  • 7,600 square feet of meeting and event space
  • 12 meeting rooms

Hotel Map

52.3625 4.8804
Area served
Amsterdam
Nearby airports
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, (AMS), 14.40, KM, NE; Rotterdam The Hague Airport, (RTM), 67.20, KM, S; Eindhoven Airport, (EIN), 120.00, KM, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.1 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.2 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.2 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.2 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.2 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.1 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.2 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.2 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.2 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.2 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.4 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.4 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.4 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.4 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.4 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.4 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.5 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.5 mi
  • University Library: 0.5 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 0.5 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 0.5 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.6 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 0.6 mi
  • Spui: 0.6 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.6 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.6 mi
  • Book Market: 0.6 mi

Dining

Midtown Grill
Experience savory USDA steaks, fine chops and fresh seafood while enjoying views of the Leidseplein from this steakhouse restaurant in Amsterdam, where only the freshest ingredients are used in creating hearty and healthy menu options.
Sorel's Midtown Bar and Lounge
Whether relaxing at days end or meeting up with associates to go over the latest project, great cappuccinos, appetizing entrees and world-class cocktails combine with a chic atmosphere to fit the bill for nearly any occasion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reno
Aberdeen, Scotland
Aug 20, 2012

City Break with kids

Travelling with my 3 kids, the family room was great - plenty of room. For us, the location couldn't have been better. It was easy to get to, and had all we wanted relatively close by or a short tram ride away. The area has a good choice of restaurants and cafes nearby. The staff were always welcoming and friendly and I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy Chong
London
Apr 12, 2013

Room need to be clean

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights with my husband and two daughters. I found that there has a lot of dust every where. Also the floor was not clean enough. For myself, I have dust allergy so I have to take allergy tablet every day while I stay in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jun 11, 2010

Great location and helpful staff

The rooms are nice, but it is the location that stands out about the Amsterdam Marriott. Convenient to museums, walking everywhere and great restaurants and nightlife. The only negative is the service for breakfast in the restaurant--if you want an a la carte breakfast, go elsewhere. They are set up for a very expensive buffet and do not provide even polite service if you order from the menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USAG Bamberg (US Army), Germany
Jul 6, 2009

Great Hotel, Hard To Find

Our hotel room was clean and very comfortable. The staff was helpful and spoke perfect English. Quoy, the restaurant on site, had one of the best steaks I have eaten while in Europe. However, it is nearly impossible to get to the front parking pull in (under the entrance awning) on your first try. We had to drive around for 40 minutes before we get on the right road. They should post signs so their patrons don't waste a quarter tank of gas looking for the right way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT EAT in the restaurants surrounding Leidsplein square. They are all for tourists and you'll find that the same dining establishment is repeated 7 times on the same street!

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Nov 20, 2009

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel - Leidseplein

The hotel is like a typical US Marriott full service hotel ... decent size room, great staff, excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many nice restaurants.

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geebeegeebee
Business
netherlands
Dec 20, 2009

good location for the price

The central heating brook down and we got another room with more space and a view on the Leidsche Plein. It was a fantastic service. And a fantastic bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bijenkorf

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuckie V
Atlanta
May 28, 2010

Amsterdam Marriott is Fine

This was one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed at. It has a good location on the Leidseplein in Amsterdam and is also across the street from the Holland Casino. The hotel was clean inside and service was good. Even though the Leidseplein is very busy and noisy, you could hear a pin drop in my room. The breakfast at the Marriott was the best that I had in Amsterdam which included a full buffet or you could order off the menu. There were unfortunately a few glitches, I ran out of soap, lotion, and washclothes during the weekend that I was there and had to ask for these items at the front desk. The pillows were unsupportive and the mattresses were lumpy and to me felt like they had been jumped on by numerous children. And as I previously mentioned the breakfast buffet was good as it should have been at 25 euros! All in all my stay at the Marriott was good and I would definately stay there again. Thanks Marriott for a memorable Amsterdam stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Vondlepark is a short walk from the hotel and is good place to unwind in the evening.

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aleks11
Netherlands
Jun 26, 2012

Perfectly situated

Ideal location - near to museams, nightlife and shopping areas. Helpful and friendly staff. Possibility of express checkout. Rooms are clean, but very poor equipped for 5 star hotel - no slippers, no bathrobe, only one small can of shower gel. In general - very good hotel, clean and comfortable, but feels more like 4 stars with the cost of 5*.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find good canal tours agency rigth near to the hotel- when facing to the center, go to the right along the canal.

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fradonz
Italy
Jun 15, 2010

A perfect weekend

Very nice position

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sibil E.
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 13, 2012

Can't beat the location!

This is a decent hotel with excellent location but it is definitely not a 5 star hotel. I would call it a 4 star hotel with some reservations. As long as you don't have very high expectations it is very adequate and considering it has one of the best locations in the city - it's a 5 minute walk to the Reich Museum, Van Gogh Museum etc.- I would recommend it. The rooms are large (especially for a European city) some with 2 queens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel Concierge recommended the Pantry, a casual restaurant featuring authentic Dutch cuisine and we were not disappointed. Friendly service, delicious food.

Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherrif of Rock Ridge
Newark, Delaware
Jan 4, 2010

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

The good. The hotel was clean, well staffed, very nice, and close to public transportation. It is also located within walking distance to the art museums, many restaurants, coffee shops, and shopping. While my wife and I were there we visited the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum (walking distance), many other smaller museums, Rembrant's house, Ann Frank's house, Cannibus College, Marajuana museum and the Red Light district. We also took a day trip to the city of Haarlem where we saw a windmill and a huge cathedral. It was a 20 minute train ride from the Central station. It was the best vacation my wife and I ever took. The only bad thing about the hotel was that there was an additional charge for everything (internet, movies on the TV ect...). We were smart and did not use any of these services. There is a internet coffee shop less than 5 minute walk from the hotel. 1.60 euro for 20 minutes of internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When traveling from Central Station take the 1,2, or 5 tram to the hotel and get off at Leidsplein. All 3 of those trams go to the same location. The Mariott is across the canal from the American Hotel, which is right at the tram stop.

Back to menu Return to top