$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
Stadhouderskade 12, Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam, 1054 ES
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
73 reviews
Great hotel and very helpful staff

very clean, well located, delicious breakfast, helpful staff, free wifi in the lobby, concierge... See full review

  • vonyc
  • May 27, 2014
Awesome place to crash

We took a weekend trip to Amsterdam and wanted to enjoy the night life and everything was in... See full review

  • Ray C R
  • Mar 24, 2014
5-star luxury near Van Gogh Museum and premier sights

Sleek and sophisticated, the five-star Amsterdam Marriott Hotel offers guests a relaxing, world-class retreat. Within minutes from such landmark destinations as the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum, guests at the Amsterdam Marriott need not travel far from their front door to soak up the finest in Amsterdam dining, sights and cultural attractions. The in-house grill and lounge are sought-out by both guests and locals for succulent dinners and exquisite cocktails.

 

 

Highlights
  • Short walk to premier Amsterdam museums and lush Vondelpark
  • Walk to Blue Boat Company for canal tours
  • Excellent in-house restaurant and lounge for dining, cocktails and socializing

 

Rooms

Each of the Amsterdam Marriott's 390 sleek, modern guest rooms comes furnished with a king, queen or two double beds and marble bathrooms. Guests can unwind with in-room media amenities including a 32-inch flat-screen satellite HDTV with international channels and On Demand entertainment. Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and outlets with dual voltage adaptors are standard in all rooms.

 

The Amsterdam Marriott's executive level rooms offer all of the above, plus access to the Executive Lounge which provides complimentary breakfast, evening cocktails and all-day refreshments. Five spacious executive level suites also offer lounge access in addition to separate living, bedroom and dining quarters. Each suite comes with a king bed and two 32-inch HDTVs.

 

Features

Guests of the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel enjoy a sophisticated place to relax near the Van Gogh Museum and the city's most popular attractions. Between meetings or sightseeing, guests can opt to recharge at the state-of-the-art 24-hour fitness center or unwind in the sauna. The Amsterdam Marriott Hotel's Midtown Grill serves the most sumptuous breakfast and dinner menu in town. Sorel's Midtown Bar and Lounge dishes out appetizing lunches and dinner each day, along with specialty coffees and world-class cocktails.

 

The hotel offers babysitting, concierge, limousine and foreign exchange services, plus a collection of executive services and amenities.

 

Transportation
  • Closest tram stop (1 block)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
  • Amsterdam Central Station

Attractions

 

  • Blue Boat Company/Canal Boat Tours (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (4 blocks)
  • Van Gogh Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Museum Van Loon (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Ann Frankhuis) (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (2 mi/3 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (2 mi/3 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (2 mi/3 km)

 

Business
  • Full-service business center
  • Secretarial and translation services
  • 7,600 square feet of meeting and event space
  • 12 meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.1 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.2 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.2 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.2 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.2 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.1 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.2 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.2 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.2 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.2 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.4 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.4 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.4 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.4 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.4 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.4 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.5 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.5 mi
  • University Library: 0.5 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 0.5 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 0.5 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.6 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 0.6 mi
  • Spui: 0.6 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.6 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.6 mi
  • Book Market: 0.6 mi

Dining

Midtown Grill
Experience savory USDA steaks, fine chops and fresh seafood while enjoying views of the Leidseplein from this steakhouse restaurant in Amsterdam, where only the freshest ingredients are used in creating hearty and healthy menu options.
Sorel's Midtown Bar and Lounge
Whether relaxing at days end or meeting up with associates to go over the latest project, great cappuccinos, appetizing entrees and world-class cocktails combine with a chic atmosphere to fit the bill for nearly any occasion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
coreyonthego
Business
Washington, D.C. (USA)
Aug 11, 2009

AWESOME LOCATION!!!

This was my 10th trip to Amsterdam and my first time staying at the Marriott. The hotel is in the best location and is within walking distance from EVERYTHING!!! Upscale Shopping on Pieter Cornelisz Hooftstraat, the world famous Vondel Park and the Holland Casino are less than a 2 minute walk away. You can get form the airport to the hotel in less that 40 minutes for less than 8 euros per person (via train @ 3.70 euros to the Centraal Station and the 1,2 or 5 Tram @ 2.60 euros from Centraal to the hotel) compared to the 50 euros via cab. On a nice day, I find it best to walk to the hotel from Centraal Station. It may be a good 30 minute walk (just follow the Tram line), but if this is your first time there, you will have an idea of how easy it is to walk the city. There are no less than 30 restaurants 100 retail shops and 2 movie theaters within a 10 minute walk away. There are 3 museums within a 15 minute walk from the hotel. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in the mood for a nibble, or just want something to snack on while walking or sight seeing, you have to try a quick grab at FEBO. These are GREAT little crunchy hot snack foods that cost between 1 and 2 euros. They are very popular with the locals (and me).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hock baby
Business
Cambridge, Enland
Jul 28, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Times

Great Hotel, right in the heart of Amsterdam, a 10th floor suite where we put 9 people in a 4 person room, the beds could not have been more comfortable, a beautiful restaurant downstairs a great fitness center, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrbeey
Business
Emmaus, PA USA
Jul 15, 2009

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

After staying in a variety of accomodations in Germany & Belgium the Marriott was an oasis of comfort and affordable luxury. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. An American style bed was especially restful. On site parking was expensive at 91 euros for a 3 night stay but that fee was dropped by the hotel. The reason was that on our last night in Amsterdam a convention of southern American insurance salesmen was staying in the hotel. We were unfortunate to be beside the loudest, rudest, screaming jerks on earth that night. They screamed until midnight and then got quiet but resumed at 4 am! After mentioning this at the checkout desk the charge was removed from our stay. I am a Marriott Priority Club member and can attest to the hotel's overall quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the top museums and restaurants were within minutes of this hotel. We always felt safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USAG Bamberg (US Army), Germany
Jul 6, 2009

Great Hotel, Hard To Find

Our hotel room was clean and very comfortable. The staff was helpful and spoke perfect English. Quoy, the restaurant on site, had one of the best steaks I have eaten while in Europe. However, it is nearly impossible to get to the front parking pull in (under the entrance awning) on your first try. We had to drive around for 40 minutes before we get on the right road. They should post signs so their patrons don't waste a quarter tank of gas looking for the right way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT EAT in the restaurants surrounding Leidsplein square. They are all for tourists and you'll find that the same dining establishment is repeated 7 times on the same street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
warsaw
Jun 12, 2009

Amsterdam Marriott

bad odor in the bathroom, real bad! old bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaveTX
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 6, 2009

Not Quite What I Expected

We stayed here for two nights. Overall the place was nice, and convenient. But we had a few issues. First, they knew we were arriving EARLY in am from an overseas flight. We were told our room would not be ready for several hours. BUT, if we agreed to upgrade at a cost of 60 Euros per day, we could get a room right away. We did this, as we needed sleep after a 10 hour flight and essentially being awake for 24 hours at that point. Second, yes the place had internet, at a cost of 20 Euros per day, via SwissCom!!!!!!!! A little steep I think.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 1, 2009

Wonderful Hotel, great location

Hotel was in a great location in Amsterdam. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with anything we asked or needed. We ended up needing a roll away bed brought in for one night and it was there when we needed it and there was no extra charge. They asked if we needed extra pillows, etc. Room was always made up when we returned back to the hotel no matter what time we left the room. Very clean and very nice and modern bathrooms. The hotel staff heard we were celebrating a wedding anniversary and one day they sent up strawberries and champagne with a nice note! I would definitely stay at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel again and would tell anyone else who asks me for a recommendation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants just a block or two from the hotel. All kinds of food as well as great breakfast places just down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
May 25, 2009

Family trip to Amsterdam

Hotel was great. Location was very good, room was comfortable, and price was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brunswick, Georgia
May 10, 2009

Marriott Amsterdam

Have stayed here before. It is a great hotel in the best location in Amsterdam. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to museums

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 9, 2009

Okay for a short stay

The hotel was not as nice as I expected based on the star rating and the amount of money I paid. My stay wasn't awful, but neither would I go there again. My room was very small and the furnishings were dated. The bed was very, very uncomfortable, very hard. The room was not very clean, but this seems to be a widespread problem throughout the hospitality industry lately. Not a bad hotel, but I wouldn't recommend it either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top