$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

3 stars
Oostelijke Handelskade 34, Amsterdam, 1019 BN
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
32 reviews
Great hotel to relax

The Lloyd Hotel in Amsterdam is very unique in its design of the rooms and main common area. The... See full review

  • StefanBathman
  • Sep 11, 2014
Great hotel for the price!!

Very clean and spacious rooms. Not far from downtown!! Friendly staff!! See full review

  • TravelLover85
  • Sep 23, 2014
Vintage and modern décor combine on Amsterdam’s trendy East Side

Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy offers a one-of-a-kind guest experience in Amsterdam's trendy Eastern Docklands district. In its design and décor, the hotel presents a masterful balance between 1920s heritage and cutting-edge, contemporary statements by leading Dutch designers. While its 24-hour room service and complimentary Wi-Fi are ideal conveniences, the hotel's unique touches--from its striking design, art library and performance space to its upscale eatery and specialty shop--are what make this hotel a delightful immersion for the senses.

Highlights
  • Unique, innovative blend of vintage and cutting-edge décor and design
  • Snel, the in-house restaurant and bar, offers excellent European favorites
  • Hotel shop offers homemade jams, chutneys and oils
Rooms

The Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy offers a wide range of rooms, from deluxe affairs to compact singles. The 117 guest rooms all blend innovative contemporary design elements with authentic details that recall the building's 1920s origins. Leading Dutch designers like Richard Hutten and Christoph Seyferth contributed furniture pieces in many rooms while innovative design solutions, like fold-away bathrooms, came courtesy of such leading Dutch names as Bureau Lakenvelder, Atelier van Lieshout and architects MVRDV. Lloyd Hotel guests relax on plush bedding with quilts while enjoying modern amenities like satellite TV and complimentary Wi-Fi.  Some rooms offer stunning water views. Hypoallergenic bedding is available on request.

Features

Located in Amsterdam's trendy Eastern Docklands, the Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is a dazzling blend of heritage and contemporary design. The Richard Hutten-designed gift shop, with attractive clean lines and high shelving is both an organic food counter and a high-end specialty shop, selling everything from the Lloyd Hotel's homemade jams to up-market travel books. Elegant, traditional recipes and locally-grown produce are staples at Snel, the in-house eatery serving all-day European favorites and cocktails. The Cultural Embassy is a vibrant local hotspot for innovative art, music and performance. The in-house library provides an excellent selection of art and design books, while the hotel's 24-hour room service and complimentary Wi-Fi add essential comforts and convenience.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (15.5 mi/24.5 km)
Attractions
  • Rembrandt House Museum (Rembrandthuis) (2 mi/3 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (3.5 mi/5.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (3.5 mi/6 km)
Business


  • Business center
  • 12 flexible meeting and event spaces

Hotel Map

52.3743 4.9355
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 13.8 km, Rotterdam Airport - 57.2 km.
Area description
The Lloyd Hotel is located in the fashionable Eastern Docklands, near the city centre (only 5 minutes by tram from Central Station). Access from the ring-road is easy and many rooms offer lovely views over the water. The hotel has (paid) parking facilities in a nearby parking garage. There's also plenty of space in front of the hotel if you're interested in getting there by boat.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam Rooms

5 STARS - Suite
These rooms are breathtaking and very spacious. All five star rooms are different. Some rooms have a bath in the middle or a bathroom designed by Atelier van Lieshout. You can sleep in a bed with room for eight, or practice scales on a concert grand. One thing is for sure: you will never forget this room. Additional bed is available at 35 Euros per night.
4 STARS - Deluxe
Beautiful, spacious rooms with an exceptional interior. In some of the rooms original cabinets have been retained or they have a recessed bed build in the wall. In other rooms wood-slated shutters provide a special, high atmospheric light fall. The furniture is designed by famous contemporary Dutch designers and it is combined with classic furniture, like chairs from the early twentieth century by architect De Bazel. Additional bed is available at 35 Euros per night.
3 STARS - Superior
These rooms are equipped with furniture from famous contemporary Dutch artists such as Richard Hutten, Ineke Hans. Office Lakenvelder, and Atelier van Lieshout. Architects MVRDV have designed remarkable bathrooms for these rooms. In some rooms the brightly coloured bathroom is clearly visible in the middle of the room, in other rooms the bathroom seems absent, but can be folded-out. Additional bed is available at 35 Euros per night.
2 STARS - Comfort
Beautiful, amazing rooms with private bathroom. The design of MVRDV and Seyferth has led to imaginative solutions for efficient use of space. Some rooms have a surprising shower, others a magnificent view over the water.
1 STARS - Economy (shared bathrooms)
Original, historic rooms that have been restored with love and devotion so that the original wood panelling and tiles could be maintained. Christoph Seyferth designed the furniture for these rooms including the Lloyd Table. All these rooms overlook the Docklands. A bathrobe is provided for the tiny walk to the bathroom.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Eastern Docklands: 0.5 mi
  • Zeeburg: 0.6 mi
  • De Gooyer Windmill: 0.7 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Dappermarkt: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of the Tropics: 1 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 1 mi
  • Bimhuis: 1 mi
  • Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ: 1 mi
  • Artis Royal Zoo: 1 mi
  • The Resistance Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Hollandsche Schouwburg and Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • De Schreeuw: 1.2 mi
  • Oosterpark: 1.2 mi
  • Eastern Docklands: 0.5 mi
  • Zeeburg: 0.6 mi
  • De Gooyer Windmill: 0.7 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Dappermarkt: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of the Tropics: 1 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 1 mi
  • Bimhuis: 1 mi
  • Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ: 1 mi
  • Artis Royal Zoo: 1 mi
  • The Resistance Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Hollandsche Schouwburg and Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • De Schreeuw: 1.2 mi
  • Oosterpark: 1.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 1.3 mi
  • Markenplein: 1.3 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 1.3 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 1.4 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 1.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 1.5 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 1.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 1.5 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 1.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 1.5 mi
  • Waag: 1.5 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 1.5 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 1.5 mi
  • Stopera: 1.5 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 1.5 mi
  • Central Station: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 1.5 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 1.5 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 1.6 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 1.6 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Old Church: 1.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The menu reflects the Lloyd Hotel 1 to 5 stars concept of the hotel. It offers dishes from sweetbread to fries. High-quality products are used for all dishes, coming from organic farmers in the area or quality suppliers such as Menno (baguette, pain de campagne), Holtkamp (croquettes and biscuits) and Lindenhoff (meat, imported cheeses). We make our own cakes, jams and mayonnaise, by traditional recipes. On the menu are products of the season as well as "forgotten vegetables" such as parsnip and black roots. The food is pure in its quality and in the way it is presented. The menu consists mainly of French and Italian cuisine, but dishes from the rest of Europe are also available. From 5pm there is a wide range of pinchos on the bar. Here we offer a large selection of beers, including beers from the local brewery and an exclusive wine list in several price categories. All wines can be ordered by the glass.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 32
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelLover85
Business
Florida
Sep 23, 2014

Great hotel for the price!!

Very clean and spacious rooms. Not far from downtown!! Friendly staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AnnELondoN
Business
AnnE, UK
Aug 31, 2014

Friendly staff

Lloyd Hotel have got very interesting arrangement, however room which I have been allocated have been very dusty, and felt like that was room for smokers as smell was horrible. Staff have been very friendly and polite. Hotel is based very close from the city center, which that was a very good advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pritzvarsani
Business
London
Jul 1, 2013

horrible

very bad experience. We were bitten everywhere by bed bugs. 2 nights of sleepless nights. My face was totally covered with bites. Worst experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silvita
Business
San Rafael california
May 11, 2013

Unique hotel

It was a great surprise, the staff is really very helpfully, they change the room immediately , gave us everything we need for a comfortable stay. It is very arty, full of surprises, artist, books... Very pleasant experience. We would recommended highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 18, 2010

Pretty, Pleasant, & Perfect

Amazing rooms, small, not over the top. emjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Public Transit is the way to go. My friend and I rented bikes but we're unexperienced riders compared to the locals in Amsterdam. We would have saved alot of time and energy riding the tram instead of biking. And wouldn't have got lost as much.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noswad
Business
Brooklyn, Newyork
Jun 20, 2010

Wow, i was really amazed!!!!

This was my first trip to amsterdam and this hotel really impressed me. the staff was friendly and helpful, and they answered all my questions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weekend traveler with Hotel standards
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 3, 2009

Hotel was what I expected

We stayed in a 1 star room. It was relatively cheap (compared to other places), especially for it's location. The hotel was the 3rd stop away from Amsterdam Centraal station on the Tram 26 line. The Tram 10 line was also located right outside the hotel which goes to the Leidseplein stop (right by many bars, restaurants, coffee shops, the Holland Casino and Van Gogh Museum). Get the OV-chipkaart (Anonymous card) for public transport. It's the cheapest since you pay only for distance traveled. We bought ours in the Metro stop outside of Amsterdam Centraal. The machines had an English option, accepted cash/coins or credit, and 10 euro lasted us the weekend. Be sure to look into how to use it online, or else you might end up paying more money for your travels. The room was definately interesting. It wasn't too small or dirty, but it had old feel to it. The walls and floor were old tile. We had a nice view of the water though, and the beds were comfy. Althought the bathroom was shared, it wasn't too bad. It also had some old tile but it wasn't dirty. I didn't see any bugs or mice. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant. There was a public computer with internet available on the 2nd floor. The people at the front desk were very helpful. They helped us with getting to the sites as well as where to go for the nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

The nightlife we found out was right by the Leidseplein tram/bus stop as well as in the Red Light District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Troy, NY
May 8, 2009

Very Unique Hotel

When I checked in I was informed I had a one star room which was weird because I have never heard of rooms being rated. When I booked the room on Orbitz it was rated as a 3 star hotel but was informed that it has 1 to 5 star rooms. He showed me the room and it was big enough for two cots and a table. Luckily I was able to upgrade to a 2 star room for the cost of 30 euros a night. I was also supposed to have free breakfast but it was not offered. I would definitely recommend the hotel for ease of access to the metro which is 2 stops from the city centre. I would recommend that you read the very small details to see what kind of room you might get... The manager understood and said others had complained of the same thing when dealing with Orbitz. After I reviewed my reservations it did show a 3 star on the description and then deep in the description it showed a 1 star room. Very deceiving practice and they had never heard of free breakfast with a room which my reservation did show. There is also no parking so if you drive you can expect ot pay $25 a day to park. Free WiFi though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

They sell the metro passes to you at the front desk and they are slightly cheaper than buying them at the station. From the hotel it is 2 stops to city centre and then you can hop another train to other locations. Save the slots on your ticket and walk to everything from the city centre. On the map it looks huge but everything is a short walk away. Plus there is always an outside bar or something to see on the walk to wherever

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top