$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Oostelijke Handelskade 34, Amsterdam, 1019 BN

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 11, 2011

Great hotel, awesome location

I was going to a conference at the RAI convention center, and the hotel was located right along one of the tram route that was only 3 stops away from Central Station, so getting to the RAI was quite easy. Also the hotel's locale was in a more residential area of Amserdam, which was nice, I got to experience more of what it's like for the people that live there, and less of just a view of a really touristy area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The most choice of dining is near Dam square or Leidsplein

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JosephGray86
Single
Galway, Ireland
Sep 25, 2010

Avoid This Hotel

Upon arrival the hotel staff tried to swindle me out of half my holiday money as deposit. They made no effort to send an email or make phone call to inform me in advance of this. They were quote thick and rude about this and didn't give me the best start to my holiday in Amsterdam. There was no proper lighting in room. only a few small wall lamps that took a bit of work to use. On the last day the hotel staff tried to hold onto the small deposit i did give them Not a nice hotel. Avoid at all cost .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

GVB Tram (26 Ijburg) goes to Central Station. Rietland Park stop is right in front of hotel.

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JosephGray86
Single
Galway, Ireland
Sep 25, 2010

Avoid This Hotel

Upon arrival the hotel staff tried to swindle me out of half my holiday money as deposit. They made no effort to send an email or make phone call to inform me in advance of this. They were quote thick and rude about this and didn't give me the best start to my holiday in Amsterdam. There was no proper lighting in room. only a few small wall lamps that took a bit of work to use. On the last day the hotel staff tried to hold onto the small deposit i did give them Not a nice hotel. Avoid at all cost .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

GVB Tram (26 Ijburg) goes to Central Station. Rietland Park stop is right in front of hotel.

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
St. Louis, MO
Jul 18, 2010

Pretty, Pleasant, & Perfect

Amazing rooms, small, not over the top. emjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Public Transit is the way to go. My friend and I rented bikes but we're unexperienced riders compared to the locals in Amsterdam. We would have saved alot of time and energy riding the tram instead of biking. And wouldn't have got lost as much.

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Rahway NJ
Jul 16, 2010

mixed feelings

at first was terribly disappointed. I'd requested a king bed, and got two twins pushed together, plus the bathroom was also the entrance... the room was sweltering, the windows didn't open, there was no AC or even a fan. The staff kindly upgraded my room, and it was a lot better, but it was one of their innovative bathrooms which folded out of the wall, and they didn't design the floor too well so the shower never drained properly and puddled all over. Way too far from everything to walk, and the only tram ended at midnight. The staff, however, were awesome, especially the restaurant staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

plan on taking a lot of taxi's and paying ridiculous fares

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noswad
Friends
Brooklyn, Newyork
Jun 20, 2010

Wow, i was really amazed!!!!

This was my first trip to amsterdam and this hotel really impressed me. the staff was friendly and helpful, and they answered all my questions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robster
Single
St Petersburg, FL
May 29, 2010

Odd Hotel In Amsterdam

Check in was a snap. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms range from odd to bizarre but you can tell it was to accommodate the original structure. Nice restaurant but breakfast is not included. It should be for the price. Speaking of which the price is the level of 4 star hotel and this place, while funky and fun is a 2 star location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Or quick by city tram. But the tram stops service at 12 mn.

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ion
Couples
Chihuahua, Mexico
May 24, 2010

Excellent Hotel, great location!

This hotel is different, maybe not for all, it was great for us, and the location is great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weekend traveler with Hotel standards
Friends
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 3, 2009

Hotel was what I expected

We stayed in a 1 star room. It was relatively cheap (compared to other places), especially for it's location. The hotel was the 3rd stop away from Amsterdam Centraal station on the Tram 26 line. The Tram 10 line was also located right outside the hotel which goes to the Leidseplein stop (right by many bars, restaurants, coffee shops, the Holland Casino and Van Gogh Museum). Get the OV-chipkaart (Anonymous card) for public transport. It's the cheapest since you pay only for distance traveled. We bought ours in the Metro stop outside of Amsterdam Centraal. The machines had an English option, accepted cash/coins or credit, and 10 euro lasted us the weekend. Be sure to look into how to use it online, or else you might end up paying more money for your travels. The room was definately interesting. It wasn't too small or dirty, but it had old feel to it. The walls and floor were old tile. We had a nice view of the water though, and the beds were comfy. Althought the bathroom was shared, it wasn't too bad. It also had some old tile but it wasn't dirty. I didn't see any bugs or mice. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant. There was a public computer with internet available on the 2nd floor. The people at the front desk were very helpful. They helped us with getting to the sites as well as where to go for the nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

The nightlife we found out was right by the Leidseplein tram/bus stop as well as in the Red Light District.

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Paris, France
Jul 14, 2009

Great hotel off the beaten path

For a first trip ever to Amsterdam I was hesitant to stay outside the center, but the Lloyd Hotel was a great choice - well connected with two tram lines minutes away and a short ride to all that Amsterdam has to offer. The hotel felt a world away from all the Amsterdam craziness, which (depending on what kind of vacation you want) can be a good or a bad thing. I was glad to have somewhere peaceful to come back to in the evening after exploring all day. The hotel is very "design" but not in a way that feels precious or forced. My room had a sink and shower jutting out randomly from the wall (i.e. you took your shower in the middle of the room). It was a bit odd initially but I soon go used to it. Overall it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top