Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$51
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 14, 2016 Check-out: Feb 15, 2016

Great stay for couples

Would recommend Sun, Aug 24, 2014
We have just returned from our stay here our room was to a high standard and was clean. Only thing there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. But it was only around 2€50 to buy from the resturant/bar. We were a 5min tram ride from Central station. Staff were really helpful pointing out in map where to visit telling us about good resturants and sights to see. We would stay at this hotel again!!

Dining

Take a trip on the free ferry (ndsm) to north amsterdam and go for a meal at pliek it's a resturant made out of old ship containers with a man made beach out the back. Really cool :-)

| Basingstoke, uk Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Hipster creative reuse project; more cool than comfortable

Would recommend Thu, May 15, 2014
The idea of this hotel is so much better than the execution. It is an easy tram ride and short walk from central station, which is great. It is on the water and our room had great views of harbor and nice area/park to walk around on or go for run. The architectural reuse and crazy history (it was an immigrant hotel then a WWII prison and then a real prison) are bonuses. Love the creative common spaces on each level and the restaurant cafe serves good food (although breakfast buffet was a tad overpriced for no eggs, sausage or bacon). But might be a little too hipster for its own good because it was more cool than comfortable. Our room was giant, like a pre-war apartment but the furnishings felt old, the pillows were uncomfortable and the curtains felt straight 70s. They also fell out of the ceiling when I tried to open them and had to be fixed while we were out the next day. It is also extremely drafty in some places and the heat is old school radiator that cannot be turned on without the curtains open otherwise they touch. Our room also only had a tub so i never felt quite clean and very hard to wash hair. Had to borrow an iron and ironing board and they were cheap and old and the cover was so threadbare that I got an imprint on the pants I tried to iron of the metal of the board. But the room was spacious and had a great dining table and a big mini fridge and there was definitely an element of super cool when there. staff was pleasant and stored our luggage happily when we arrived early but for $233 a night this was not the appropriate star rating. if you value comfort over cool this is not the hotel for you.

| Encino, CA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Perfectly Good Hotel

Would recommend Mon, Mar 31, 2014
Staff is extremely good at the reception and restaurant. Hotel has perfect room comfort and value for money. Its near to Tram station and just 3 stops away from central station hardly 5 to 8 minutes to reach central station. Food is good in restaurant. Cost is also effective.

| Copenhagen Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Hotel Lloyd has bedbugs

Would not recommend Mon, Oct 21, 2013
Sadly, this review confirms another traveler's complaint from two months ago: this place has bedbugs. I stayed 1 night for a conference and got nasty bites that are itchy a week later. Room is on the 5th floor between elevator and stairs. Ironically, it's the exact room shown in the picture with the unusual slanting skylight. Location is great. Food is good. Service was good. But avoid this place until they scour it and prove they've eliminated the bugs.

Attractions

Very close to the convention center. Only 5 min walk, which is why my hosts put me up here.

| Boston, MA Business

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

horrible

Would not recommend Mon, Jul 1, 2013
very bad experience. We were bitten everywhere by bed bugs. 2 nights of sleepless nights. My face was totally covered with bites. Worst experience

| London Friends

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Good Hotel short Tram trip to Centre

Would recommend Sat, Jun 1, 2013
We arrived on 26th May 2013 (sunday) check in very quick, this hotel you can book 1* up to 5* rooms I am unsure what * we had as were never told when booking but the room was fine. room a little strange as was an open shower in the room but was ok. Very comfy bed, TV little dated but worked fine, Toilet in the room but lots of space. The hotel was very easy to find. Once arriving at Amsterdam central station take tram 26 5 mins to hotel (3 stops)

Attractions

tram 26 3 stops from hotel

| Wells, Somerset, UK Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Unique hotel

Would recommend Sat, May 11, 2013
It was a great surprise, the staff is really very helpfully, they change the room immediately , gave us everything we need for a comfortable stay. It is very arty, full of surprises, artist, books... Very pleasant experience. We would recommended highly.

| San Rafael california Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

family weekend in Amsterdam

Would recommend Wed, May 8, 2013
location very good and in easy reach of the centre of Amsterdam with tram 26.It is definitely an unusual building and refreshingly different from the usual bog standard hotels. I find the rating from 1 to 5 star a bit misleading as it denotes more the quirkiness of the room.The more stars the quirkier but not necessary more luxury. We had a 3 star and a 4 star room which were very spacious and clean but the WC/shower are in middle of room.(not very private)Overall I recommend it as a posh hostel!

| West Yorkshier Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Pleasantly surprised

Would recommend Sun, Jan 27, 2013
The shared bathroom turned out to be HUGE and private. There were free hot tea and coffee stations located on some floors. The odd history of the hotel added to the intrigue. The dining room was clean and offered a variety from the menu as well as a breakfast buffet. The staff was mostly very friendly.

| Austin, TX Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Really interesting hotel

Would recommend Fri, Jan 4, 2013
Loved our stay in a 3* room. The room lacked some facilities (although to be expected for 3*) but was still good value. Hotel building, concept and design are unique and interesting. Staff are friendly and the cafe/restaurant is great. Location is a bit far away from central old town - but we were there for an event at the Convention Factory so couldn't have been more perfect!

| London Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5