$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 14, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Oostelijke Handelskade 34, Amsterdam, 1019 BN

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller a lot
Business
Msanchester
Aug 24, 2014

Good value for money

This hotel is not the normal run of the mill hotel, with all rooms being different. We booked 4 rooms and each had its own good points. On the down side the price of the food and drinks was high and the standard normal. The staff were exceptional however and no task was too much. Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont buy the expensive drinks at the hotel. Turn righht out of the exit and go 20 yds to the bar instead

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs wobo
Business
Basingstoke, uk
Aug 24, 2014

Great stay for couples

We have just returned from our stay here our room was to a high standard and was clean. Only thing there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. But it was only around 2€50 to buy from the resturant/bar. We were a 5min tram ride from Central station. Staff were really helpful pointing out in map where to visit telling us about good resturants and sights to see. We would stay at this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take a trip on the free ferry (ndsm) to north amsterdam and go for a meal at pliek it's a resturant made out of old ship containers with a man made beach out the back. Really cool :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carriefromtheblock
Business
Encino, CA
May 15, 2014

Hipster creative reuse project; more cool than comfortable

The idea of this hotel is so much better than the execution. It is an easy tram ride and short walk from central station, which is great. It is on the water and our room had great views of harbor and nice area/park to walk around on or go for run. The architectural reuse and crazy history (it was an immigrant hotel then a WWII prison and then a real prison) are bonuses. Love the creative common spaces on each level and the restaurant cafe serves good food (although breakfast buffet was a tad overpriced for no eggs, sausage or bacon). But might be a little too hipster for its own good because it was more cool than comfortable. Our room was giant, like a pre-war apartment but the furnishings felt old, the pillows were uncomfortable and the curtains felt straight 70s. They also fell out of the ceiling when I tried to open them and had to be fixed while we were out the next day. It is also extremely drafty in some places and the heat is old school radiator that cannot be turned on without the curtains open otherwise they touch. Our room also only had a tub so i never felt quite clean and very hard to wash hair. Had to borrow an iron and ironing board and they were cheap and old and the cover was so threadbare that I got an imprint on the pants I tried to iron of the metal of the board. But the room was spacious and had a great dining table and a big mini fridge and there was definitely an element of super cool when there. staff was pleasant and stored our luggage happily when we arrived early but for $233 a night this was not the appropriate star rating. if you value comfort over cool this is not the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ija Chandra
Business
Copenhagen
Mar 31, 2014

Perfectly Good Hotel

Staff is extremely good at the reception and restaurant. Hotel has perfect room comfort and value for money. Its near to Tram station and just 3 stops away from central station hardly 5 to 8 minutes to reach central station. Food is good in restaurant. Cost is also effective.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BosTrvlr
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 21, 2013

Hotel Lloyd has bedbugs

Sadly, this review confirms another traveler's complaint from two months ago: this place has bedbugs. I stayed 1 night for a conference and got nasty bites that are itchy a week later. Room is on the 5th floor between elevator and stairs. Ironically, it's the exact room shown in the picture with the unusual slanting skylight. Location is great. Food is good. Service was good. But avoid this place until they scour it and prove they've eliminated the bugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the convention center. Only 5 min walk, which is why my hosts put me up here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pritzvarsani
Business
London
Jul 1, 2013

horrible

very bad experience. We were bitten everywhere by bed bugs. 2 nights of sleepless nights. My face was totally covered with bites. Worst experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adam Spencer
Business
Wells, Somerset, UK
Jun 1, 2013

Good Hotel short Tram trip to Centre

We arrived on 26th May 2013 (sunday) check in very quick, this hotel you can book 1* up to 5* rooms I am unsure what * we had as were never told when booking but the room was fine. room a little strange as was an open shower in the room but was ok. Very comfy bed, TV little dated but worked fine, Toilet in the room but lots of space. The hotel was very easy to find. Once arriving at Amsterdam central station take tram 26 5 mins to hotel (3 stops)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

tram 26 3 stops from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silvita
Business
San Rafael california
May 11, 2013

Unique hotel

It was a great surprise, the staff is really very helpfully, they change the room immediately , gave us everything we need for a comfortable stay. It is very arty, full of surprises, artist, books... Very pleasant experience. We would recommended highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr Bryan
Business
West Yorkshier
May 8, 2013

family weekend in Amsterdam

location very good and in easy reach of the centre of Amsterdam with tram 26.It is definitely an unusual building and refreshingly different from the usual bog standard hotels. I find the rating from 1 to 5 star a bit misleading as it denotes more the quirkiness of the room.The more stars the quirkier but not necessary more luxury. We had a 3 star and a 4 star room which were very spacious and clean but the WC/shower are in middle of room.(not very private)Overall I recommend it as a posh hostel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leah the wanderer
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 27, 2013

Pleasantly surprised

The shared bathroom turned out to be HUGE and private. There were free hot tea and coffee stations located on some floors. The odd history of the hotel added to the intrigue. The dining room was clean and offered a variety from the menu as well as a breakfast buffet. The staff was mostly very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top