$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Oostelijke Handelskade 34, Amsterdam, 1019 BN

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelLover85
Friends
Florida
Sep 23, 2014

Great hotel for the price!!

Very clean and spacious rooms. Not far from downtown!! Friendly staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newbie in Amsterdam
Family
DC
Sep 16, 2014

Historic and Unique

Staff was very accommodating, rooms are unique and functional, hotel has an interesting historic story behind it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Only 2 stops from Central Amsterdam using Tram 26.

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bevcass
Family
Norfolk, Uk
Sep 12, 2014

quirky but not for all

This hotel is lovely in many ways - great for those (like me) who like things a little quirky and different. But...i booked a two star room with private bathroom for my niece and I. Yes we had a bathroom in our room, but it didn't have a door, only a curtain and an ill fitting one at that. Also, the door to our hotel room opened straight into the bathroom...not great when housekeeping walk in and there u are in all your glory in the shower. There were holes in the wall just roughly filled with cement but that didn't bother me. I discovered the lamps above the bed were not fixed to the wall properly when mine fell off. However the staff were lovely and very helpful, and the overall feel of the place was great. Tram stop is right across the road and just 3 stops away from central station. I think the price i paid was too much for a 2 star room, but if i was able to get a better quality room nxt time i would happily stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you buy a travel card - it's a bit like an Oyster card and covers all tram, bus and metro travel. We got a 72hr card each and saved loads by not paying per journey or buying a card daily.

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StefanBathman
Business
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Sep 11, 2014

Great hotel to relax

The Lloyd Hotel in Amsterdam is very unique in its design of the rooms and main common area. The staff is fantastically nice and the bed couldn't be any more comfortable. It is not the cheapest of hotels and the location requires some planning, as it is a bit detached from the center. But if you're on a bike, what is another 10 minutes?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent a bike. Amsterdam is by far much more enjoyable by bicycle than by foot or tram.

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AnnELondoN
Friends
AnnE, UK
Aug 31, 2014

Friendly staff

Lloyd Hotel have got very interesting arrangement, however room which I have been allocated have been very dusty, and felt like that was room for smokers as smell was horrible. Staff have been very friendly and polite. Hotel is based very close from the city center, which that was a very good advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller a lot
Family
Msanchester
Aug 24, 2014

Good value for money

This hotel is not the normal run of the mill hotel, with all rooms being different. We booked 4 rooms and each had its own good points. On the down side the price of the food and drinks was high and the standard normal. The staff were exceptional however and no task was too much. Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont buy the expensive drinks at the hotel. Turn righht out of the exit and go 20 yds to the bar instead

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs wobo
Couples
Basingstoke, uk
Aug 24, 2014

Great stay for couples

We have just returned from our stay here our room was to a high standard and was clean. Only thing there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. But it was only around 2€50 to buy from the resturant/bar. We were a 5min tram ride from Central station. Staff were really helpful pointing out in map where to visit telling us about good resturants and sights to see. We would stay at this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take a trip on the free ferry (ndsm) to north amsterdam and go for a meal at pliek it's a resturant made out of old ship containers with a man made beach out the back. Really cool :-)

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carriefromtheblock
Couples
Encino, CA
May 15, 2014

Hipster creative reuse project; more cool than comfortable

The idea of this hotel is so much better than the execution. It is an easy tram ride and short walk from central station, which is great. It is on the water and our room had great views of harbor and nice area/park to walk around on or go for run. The architectural reuse and crazy history (it was an immigrant hotel then a WWII prison and then a real prison) are bonuses. Love the creative common spaces on each level and the restaurant cafe serves good food (although breakfast buffet was a tad overpriced for no eggs, sausage or bacon). But might be a little too hipster for its own good because it was more cool than comfortable. Our room was giant, like a pre-war apartment but the furnishings felt old, the pillows were uncomfortable and the curtains felt straight 70s. They also fell out of the ceiling when I tried to open them and had to be fixed while we were out the next day. It is also extremely drafty in some places and the heat is old school radiator that cannot be turned on without the curtains open otherwise they touch. Our room also only had a tub so i never felt quite clean and very hard to wash hair. Had to borrow an iron and ironing board and they were cheap and old and the cover was so threadbare that I got an imprint on the pants I tried to iron of the metal of the board. But the room was spacious and had a great dining table and a big mini fridge and there was definitely an element of super cool when there. staff was pleasant and stored our luggage happily when we arrived early but for $233 a night this was not the appropriate star rating. if you value comfort over cool this is not the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ija Chandra
Family
Copenhagen
Mar 31, 2014

Perfectly Good Hotel

Staff is extremely good at the reception and restaurant. Hotel has perfect room comfort and value for money. Its near to Tram station and just 3 stops away from central station hardly 5 to 8 minutes to reach central station. Food is good in restaurant. Cost is also effective.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BosTrvlr
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 21, 2013

Hotel Lloyd has bedbugs

Sadly, this review confirms another traveler's complaint from two months ago: this place has bedbugs. I stayed 1 night for a conference and got nasty bites that are itchy a week later. Room is on the 5th floor between elevator and stairs. Ironically, it's the exact room shown in the picture with the unusual slanting skylight. Location is great. Food is good. Service was good. But avoid this place until they scour it and prove they've eliminated the bugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the convention center. Only 5 min walk, which is why my hosts put me up here.

Back to menu Return to top