Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy Amsterdam ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$51
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 18, 2016
3.5 /5
Overall score
74%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices 3-Star
  • Size: 323 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices 2-Star
  • Size: 269 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices 5-Star Standard 5 Stars
  • Size: 538 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices 1-Star
  • Size: 108 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices 4-Star Standard 4 Stars
  • Size: 323 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy offers a one-of-a-kind guest experience in Amsterdam's trendy Eastern Docklands district. In its design and décor, the hotel presents a masterful balance between 1920s heritage and cutting-edge, contemporary statements by leading Dutch designers. While its 24-hour room service and complimentary Wi-Fi are ideal conveniences, the hotel's unique touches--from its striking design, art library and performance space to its upscale eatery and specialty shop--are what make this hotel a delightful immersion for the senses.

Rooms

The Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy offers a wide range of rooms, from deluxe affairs to compact singles. The 117 guest rooms all blend innovative contemporary design elements with authentic details that recall the building's 1920s origins. Leading Dutch designers like Richard Hutten and Christoph Seyferth contributed furniture pieces in many rooms while innovative design solutions, like fold-away bathrooms, came courtesy of such leading Dutch names as Bureau Lakenvelder, Atelier van Lieshout and architects MVRDV. Lloyd Hotel guests relax on plush bedding with quilts while enjoying modern amenities like satellite TV and complimentary Wi-Fi.  Some rooms offer stunning water views. Hypoallergenic bedding is available on request.

Property features

Located in Amsterdam's trendy Eastern Docklands, the Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is a dazzling blend of heritage and contemporary design. The Richard Hutten-designed gift shop, with attractive clean lines and high shelving is both an organic food counter and a high-end specialty shop, selling everything from the Lloyd Hotel's homemade jams to up-market travel books. Elegant, traditional recipes and locally-grown produce are staples at Snel, the in-house eatery serving all-day European favorites and cocktails. The Cultural Embassy is a vibrant local hotspot for innovative art, music and performance. The in-house library provides an excellent selection of art and design books, while the hotel's 24-hour room service and complimentary Wi-Fi add essential comforts and convenience.

Highlights

  • Unique, innovative blend of vintage and cutting-edge décor and design
  • Snel, the in-house restaurant and bar, offers excellent European favorites
  • Hotel shop offers homemade jams, chutneys and oils

Nearby attractions

  • Rembrandt House Museum (Rembrandthuis) (2 mi/3 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (3.5 mi/5.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (3.5 mi/6 km)

Business


  • Business center
  • 12 flexible meeting and event spaces

Transportation

  • Amsterdam Central Station (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (15.5 mi/24.5 km)

Dining

Restaurant
The menu reflects the Lloyd Hotel 1 to 5 stars concept of the hotel. It offers dishes from sweetbread to fries. High-quality products are used for all dishes, coming from organic farmers in the area or quality suppliers such as Menno (baguette, pain de campagne), Holtkamp (croquettes and biscuits) and Lindenhoff (meat, imported cheeses). We make our own cakes, jams and mayonnaise, by traditional recipes. On the menu are products of the season as well as "forgotten vegetables" such as parsnip and black roots. The food is pure in its quality and in the way it is presented. The menu consists mainly of French and Italian cuisine, but dishes from the rest of Europe are also available. From 5pm there is a wide range of pinchos on the bar. Here we offer a large selection of beers, including beers from the local brewery and an exclusive wine list in several price categories. All wines can be ordered by the glass.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.8 / 5
$89
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$114
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$109
Guest score 3.3 / 5
$78
Guest score 3.6 / 5
$63
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$77

Amenities

Featured

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Pet friendly
  • Elevators

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour room service
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Laundry service
  • Childcare Service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Tour desk
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Doctor on call
  • Gift shop

Internet

  • Free internet

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities
  • Service dogs allowed
  • Service animals allowed
  • Wheelchair accessible elevators

Reviews

3.5 /5 Overall score

74% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3.9/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.2/5
  • Comfort: 3.3/5
  • Location: 3.6/5
  • Value: 3.3/5

super location

Would recommend Sun, Dec 6, 2015
Nice stay in a historic building with all kinds of options to choose your room. The hotel is easy to reach bij public transportation, close to cheap P&R and close to reach the center of Amsterdam. Staff at the reception was very kind and helpfull

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Fantastic rooms.

Would recommend Wed, Sep 9, 2015
I booked a 2* room and was upgraded to 3* when I arrived. The room was brilliant. I loved it and it was spotlessly clean. Housekeeping seemed to do a fantastic job. My room had the biggest, deepest bath in the middle of it which was amazing. I was afraid there wouldn't be enough hot water to fill it but I was not disappointed! You can actually see the hotel from the nearest tram stop so using public transport was easy enough (buy a day ticket!). I walked to central station along the waterfront one day which took approx 20-25 mins. Even though it's not in the centre of town it's not all that far away. After spending some time in the centre of town I was glad to be staying somewhere a bit removed from it all! I didn't use the on site restaurant or cafe but it seemed to be pretty popular and looked like a nice place. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those who want to see Amsterdam but don't necessarily need to be bang in the centre of it all. I had a really relaxing time.

| N/A Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

totally amazing.......

Would recommend Tue, Sep 8, 2015
ThIs hotel is not only quirky but in my opinion virtually faultless.....would have been nice if there was a tea/coffee making facilities in the room.......but that is my only possible room for improvement comment. The staff were welcoming, friendly, attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless and refreshingly different as well as extremely comfortable. The location was out the way enough to be peaceful but within easy access of the simple to use and cheap tram system as well as places to eat or supermarkets if you professional to picnic, for which the hotel will willingly provide cutlery. Amsterdam is a must go to city with plenty to see and caters for all with the friendliest people I have ever met. I hope to return very soon and would definately stay at the Lloyd hotel.

| N/A Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Brilliant and unique hotel

Would recommend Thu, Sep 3, 2015
The hotel itself was easy to get to, being only 7 mins from Centraal train station on the 26 tram. Check-in was quick and easy and despite being two hours early they had a room ready for us. There was a small hotel tax charge to pay (as stated on the site when we booked), and they double checked that we understood we had booked a 1 star room with shared bathroom. We had hoped for one of the tiled rooms and were delighted with what we got. It was spacious, light, the magnetic fittings were great and the room itself with it's old style distressed tiles and paint splattered floor was exactly what we had hoped for. To be clear, these rooms may not be to everyones taste and until you've investigated they can appear 'unclean', but they really aren't. The grouting is multiple coloured to give the impression of age, and our floor was perfectly dust free. We also had a great view of the river from our window. The room had a few lovely little design touches and the beds themselves were faultless, with thick duvets and very comfy matresses and nicely designed frames. There was some noise from the bar across the road until about midnight/oniesh on the weekend, but that was minimised with the windows shut and didn't cause us any sleep problems in the super-comfortable beds. The bathroom was next door and was also clean and bright. We never had to wait to use the facilities (two individual shower cubicles and two individual toilets plus 4 sinks along the wall), although again we acknowledge that not everyone would be happy with male/female shared showering/toilet facilities. We loved exploring the nooks and crannies of the hotel and finding the cool design touches that had been hidden everywhere, and the exhibition stairways featuring images of the hotels history were a great touch. The huge restaurant/atrium are is brilliant, a door opposite our room led to the library full of really interesting books, there was a spotless bright white high ceilinged area across from that with lounging spaces. Plenty of other areas on the way down led to the dining area with it's mix of different style chairs and tables and the choice to sit on sofas in a low ceilinged 'living room' section. It really was fantastic. The breakfasts were quick to arrive and very filling, and the one dinner we had in the hotel was also of a high standard. Finally the hotel reception desk were very knowledgable and helpful and made our days that little bit easier by supplying our GVB travel passes and museum fast track tickets up front. All in all we had a brilliant time at the Lloyd and are actively looking forward to coming back. Thankyou

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Beautiful Hotel

Would recommend Sun, Aug 30, 2015
The hotel was everything that was described on the website in terms of the decor, layout, food and atmosphere.

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

A good weekend

Would recommend Mon, Jul 13, 2015
Book at least a 3 star room, or you'll be sorry. Below 3 stars, and you're sharing a bathroom with others. No AC. WiFi works great, basic television. Very close to several trams, 5 minute walk. 2 super markets 5 minutes away, with several places to eat also right outside. Hotel restaurant is pricy, but the food is good. Used to be a juvenile detention center, so the entire hotel looks and feels like a giant prison. Extremely quarky decorations and room design everywhere, I mean the strangest hotel you could imagine. Staff was really great, they will meet your needs. They also sell passes to the museums and tours so there is no need to wait an hour in the lines at places like the Van Gogh museum. Overall, good stay, I will return.

| Phoenix Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Young travelers

Would recommend Mon, Jul 13, 2015
Hotel was a good value, bit outside the center but well connected.

| Oak Park Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great Hotel!

Would recommend Sat, Apr 18, 2015
The hotel was a short tram ride away from Amsterdam Central Station. You get the number 26 (to Lijburg?) tram right outside the station and it's a 5 minute, 3 stop, journey which drops you off seconds away from the hotel (you can't miss it)! The receptionist staff were super friendly and we received a free upgrade from a 2 star to a 3 star room on arrival. A city tax was expected on arrival, as in every hotel in Amsterdam, but it was less than 10 euros. Everything was explained clearly, including the option of a buffet breakfast which was a little pricey at 17.50 euros. There was a free tea/coffee station on the 2nd, 4th and 6th floor (we were on the third but it wasn't far away). There was no milk and the boiling water came from a temperamental tap but it was a nice option to have. The room itself was very unique. As stated, ours was a 3 star room and very clean. The bed was huge, clean white sheets and very comfortable. I would say the room/hotel was best suited for couples as it was very open plan. The huge bath was exposed in the middle of the room with a sink behind cupboard doors and a separate toilet cubicle. It was a nice idea but the bath and sink in the cupboard were quite restricting on space when there is more than one person in the room. Only one window opened a small way, understandable for safety reasons, and some of the paint was chipping slightly. However, the room was lovely and clean, had a free television and excellent wifi connection. My partner and I really enjoyed our stay, particularly with the location being so close to the center of Amsterdam. The rail/tram networks are pretty easy to work once you have used them a couple of times. We bought a 2 day travel pass for 20 euro which we definitely got use of and it includes a return to Schipol airport. The city is clean and picturesque, even though the beer can be a little pricey! We would definitely recommend the Heineken Experience, which we found by jumping on the number 16 tram. A lovely, short trip and we didn't want to come home!

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

not bad trip..

Would not recommend Thu, Apr 16, 2015
All hotel staffs are fluent in English.And in daytime's wifi speed is moderately good but when it comes to night time... it becomes horrible.. . Anyway apart from the wifi speed everything was fairly good.

| Exeter Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Welcoming Atmosphere!!

Would recommend Sat, Mar 21, 2015
The service was great, the receptionists were lovely and very informative. The cleaning lady tended to us efficiently when we had a problem with one of the bed covers. Would stay here again for sure!! Hotel is located near City centre and the tram is easily accessible within literally 3mins

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Eastern Docklands 0.5 mi
Zeeburg 0.6 mi
De Gooyer Windmill 0.7 mi
The National Maritime Museum 0.9 mi
Dappermarkt 0.9 mi
Museum of the Tropics 1 mi
Science Centre NEMO 1 mi
Bimhuis 1 mi
Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ 1 mi
Artis Royal Zoo 1 mi
The Resistance Museum 1.1 mi
Trade Unions Museum 1.1 mi
Hollandsche Schouwburg and Memorial 1.2 mi
De Schreeuw 1.2 mi
Oosterpark 1.2 mi
Botanical Garden 1.3 mi
Scheepvaarthuis 1.3 mi
Markenplein 1.3 mi
The Chocolate Factory 1.3 mi
Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue 1.4 mi
Schreierstoren 1.4 mi
Moses and Aaron Church 1.4 mi
Jewish Historical Museum 1.4 mi
Church of St. Nicholas 1.5 mi
Rembrandt House Museum 1.5 mi
Nieuwmarkt 1.5 mi
Waterlooplein Flea Market 1.5 mi
Museum Het Rembrandthuis 1.5 mi
Waterlooplein 1.5 mi
Waag 1.5 mi
Shan He Hya Temple 1.5 mi
Euronext Amsterdam 1.5 mi
Stopera 1.5 mi
The House with the Waterfall 1.5 mi
Central Station 1.5 mi
International Institute of Social History 1.5 mi
Van Gogh Museum 1.5 mi
Erotic Museum 1.5 mi
Hermitage Amsterdam 1.5 mi
Zuiderkerk 1.5 mi
Royal Theatre Carré 1.6 mi
Blue Bridge 1.6 mi
Absolute Danny 1.6 mi
Skinny Bridge 1.6 mi
Old Church 1.6 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$51
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 18, 2016