Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$79
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Feb 29, 2016
3.8 /5
Overall score
86%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices 5-Star Room
  • Size: 269 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices 4-Star Room
  • Size: 193 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices 3-Star Room
  • Size: 161 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices 2-Star Room
  • Size: 129 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices 1-Star Room
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. Students of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute dressed the rooms like models on the catwalk. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 61 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring, as the neighborhood the hotel lies in. The romantic at heart can fall asleep in a Marie Antoinette-inspired room where a huge dress drapes over the walls and unto the bed. Or, if you prefer a more minimal look, opt for a room that is based on the old fairy tale of the Emperor's New Clothes. Hotel The Exchange is a concept by Suzanne Oxenaar and Otto Nan, initiators of the Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy. Hotel The Exchange is part of 'The Red Carpet,' an urban-renewal project that is aimed at giving the Damrak a more diverse and fashionable look. The hotel is located in three buildings, of which the oldest dates back to the 17th century. In the same buildings there is restaurant Stock that serves breakfast till late. A 5.5% city tax is to be paid upon check in. Please note that you can not pay with cash in the hotel. This is a non-smoking hotel

Dining

Stock
Stock is the cafe of Hotel The Exchange. It caters to the paradox of fast living and slow food. The cafe quietly acknowledges the vibrant nightlife of the city with an indulgent all-day breakfast. An a la carte menu has soups, salads, sandwiches and sweets, as well as wine and local beers.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.2 / 5
$100
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$89
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$117
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$136
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$119
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$128

Amenities

Featured

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Concierge
  • Pet friendly
  • Elevators

Dining

  • Restaurant

Services

  • Business center
  • Laundry service
  • Childcare Service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Tour desk
  • Doctor on call
  • Gift shop

Internet

  • Free internet

Parking

  • Parking

Reviews

3.8 /5 Overall score

86% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.4/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.2/5
  • Comfort: 3.5/5
  • Location: 4.7/5
  • Value: 3.6/5

Simple getaway

Would recommend Thu, Jan 7, 2016
This hotel is perfect for a short stay. It's simple and provides exactly what you need, a room! I stayed in a 3 star room and it was spacious enough for two of us, bathroom was small. Wifi worked quickly and efficiently. The room was cold, bed was comfy. The hotel is in the heart of even so perfect for late nights and socialising. We were in the bk so noise was not a problem.

| London Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great customer service, lovely hotel

Would recommend Fri, Dec 18, 2015
I had missed my flight and the exchange agreed to waver my tourist tax as I was left with nothing but card details to pay with. Lovely hotel. Entrance is hard to notice but right on the front and close to the central starion. Staff are polite and don't mother you at all. Second time I ordered a King 2* (due to missing the flight) but was given two single .. Other than that. Awesome I will return

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good accommodation in the city center

Would recommend Wed, Dec 2, 2015
For a hotel in the middle of arguably the busiest part of Amsterdam The Exchange is an excellent value. If you're the type who needs a hotel on for a clean, safe place to sleep and to keep your things while you see the city then this is the place to be. My only complaint is that the ceiling was a bit low for my comfort. I'm 6'1 or 185cm and the ceiling was just tall enough for me not to hit my head. Aside from the the room had a modern bathroom, clean bed, flat-screen TV, and wifi. I'd recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Amsterdam.

| West Orange Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Short city break

Would recommend Sat, Oct 31, 2015
Wonderful, clean and modern hotel in an excellent position. Very friendly and helpful staff. Really enjoyed our stay and will be recommending this hotel and will return. Only negative I can think of is no kettle in room but there is a cafe in hotel itself.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Will use The Exchange again

Would recommend Sat, Oct 31, 2015
Loved the hotel, great location, near all food and smoke shops. Could have coffee maker in room.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Right were you want to be.

Would recommend Thu, Sep 24, 2015
The rooms are small, YES! But I only was in my room to sleep that rest of the time I was out walking the streets. Great location easy yo get to from the train and in right next door to the red light district!

| Franklin Park Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great place for couples

Would recommend Wed, Aug 5, 2015
We had a great time at Hotel Exchange, the staff were friendly all amenities were as described and the quirkiness of the hotel was a welcome change from the starkness of hotel chains. Every room is different we had 605 which has 2 balcony's great for the warm nights. No A?C but a very impressive Dyson fan did the trick. A fridge would make all the difference for those warm nights.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great location

Would recommend Wed, Jul 15, 2015
Nice hotel perfectly located , really comfortable beds , helpful staff

| Wiltshire Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great hotel in a great location

Would recommend Sun, Jun 21, 2015
My stay here was great. Very conveniently located. The decor of my room was a bit bizarre, but so is Amsterdam! Overall good value, though that will depend on the rate you get.

| N/A Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Slightly disappointed

Would not recommend Tue, Jun 2, 2015
We booked a 3 star room in this hotel for two nights staying on 28th may to the 30th. We arrived at 7pm and went up to our room (room 322). It was very clean with a lovely big bed but when I say small I mean small. 6 hooks on the wall for hanging space no table or shelf so literally everything had to stay in the suitcase (make-up, toiletries, book etc). This would of been fine for a two night stay but the main problem was that the toilet was so small that it was impossible to close the door while sitting down as our knees were hanging over into the bedroom. Staff were polite when we asked if this was really a 3 star room but could not move us until the next day as the rooms were all booked. Second room although still only a 3 star was much bigger (room 306). Feel really disappointed that I paid for a 3 star room but felt like the first night was only 1 star - you really expect the toilet to be big enough to be able to close the door! Only the second night I got what I paid for which made me sad.

| N/A Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Berlage's Stock Exchange 0 mi
Appie Baantjer Museum 0.1 mi
Sex Museum 0.1 mi
Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies 0.1 mi
Old Church 0.1 mi
Red Light District 0.2 mi
De Bijenkorf 0.2 mi
Erotic Museum 0.2 mi
Recycled Bicycles 0.2 mi
Absolute Danny 0.2 mi
Dam Square 0.2 mi
New Church 0.2 mi
National Monument 0.2 mi
ArTicKs Gallery 0.2 mi
Ertoic Discount Centre 0.2 mi
Shan He Hya Temple 0.2 mi
Gassan Dam Square 0.2 mi
The narrowest house 0.2 mi
Church of St. Nicholas 0.2 mi
Magna Plaza 0.2 mi
Royal Palace of Amsterdam 0.3 mi
Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum 0.3 mi
Waag 0.3 mi
Central Station 0.3 mi
Schreierstoren 0.3 mi
Single 0.3 mi
Nieuwmarkt 0.3 mi
International Institute of Social History 0.3 mi
East India House 0.3 mi
Wonder Wood 0.4 mi
Scheepvaarthuis 0.4 mi
Het Huis met de Hoofden 0.4 mi
De Rode Hoed 0.4 mi
The Whale 0.4 mi
Amsterdam Dungeon 0.4 mi
Zuiderkerk 0.4 mi
National Museum of Spectacles 0.4 mi
The House with the Waterfall 0.4 mi
Herengracht 0.4 mi
Amsterdams Museum 0.4 mi
The Chocolate Factory 0.4 mi
Hans Appenzeller 0.4 mi
PGC Hajenius 0.4 mi
Kalverstraat 0.4 mi
Allard Pierson Museum 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$79
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Feb 29, 2016