$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Damrak 49-51, Amsterdam, 1012 LL

Hotel Overview

Hotel-The-Exchange-Amsterdam-Dining
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
18 reviews
Neat hotel!

Although a bit hard to find (just a doorway with a sign overhead, amongst many), the Exchange Hotel... See full review

  • delalando
  • Feb 9, 2015
the cherry on top of the whole experience

The hotel is located in rhe center of the heart of Amsterdam, its really convenient and accessible,... See full review

  • azilerio
  • Jan 26, 2015
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. Students of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute dressed the rooms like models on the catwalk. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 61 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring, as the neighborhood the hotel lies in. The romantic at heart can fall asleep in a Marie Antoinette-inspired room where a huge dress drapes over the walls and unto the bed. Or, if you prefer a more minimal look, opt for a room that is based on the old fairy tale of the Emperor's New Clothes. Hotel The Exchange is a concept by Suzanne Oxenaar and Otto Nan, initiators of the Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy. Hotel The Exchange is part of 'The Red Carpet,' an urban-renewal project that is aimed at giving the Damrak a more diverse and fashionable look. The hotel is located in three buildings, of which the oldest dates back to the 17th century. In the same buildings there is restaurant Stock that serves breakfast till late. A 5.5% city tax is to be paid upon check in. Please note that you can not pay with cash in the hotel. This is a non-smoking hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam Rooms

1-Star Economy Room
What these fashionable rooms lack in view, they make up for in character. The rooms are intimate retreats with private bathroom.
2-Star Comfort Room
These rooms are characterized by quiet, fresh designs executed in fashionable shades of nude and powder.
3-Star Superior Room
Comfort and fashion are two words that are very rarely mentioned in the same sentence, yet in these rooms, comfort and fashion are married in the most wonderful manner.
4-Star Prestige Room
These rooms not only feature unique design, most of them have a wonderful view of the Damrak, Amsterdam's very own Red Carpet. Watch the world pass by from your hotel window and simply close the curtains to enjoy your own fashionable retreat.
5-Star Deluxe Room
The 5-star rooms, which all look different, offer 'haute adventure.' Here you sleep in extraordinary concepts. The rooms feature either a balcony or terrace with views on the Beurs van Berlage or the Westertoren, which makes a truly Amsterdam experience.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Old Church: 0.1 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • New Church: 0.2 mi
  • National Monument: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Old Church: 0.1 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • New Church: 0.2 mi
  • National Monument: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.3 mi
  • Single: 0.3 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • East India House: 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.4 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.4 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.4 mi
  • The Whale: 0.4 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.4 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.4 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.4 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.5 mi

Dining

Stock
Stock is the cafe of Hotel The Exchange. It caters to the paradox of fast living and slow food. The cafe quietly acknowledges the vibrant nightlife of the city with an indulgent all-day breakfast. An a la carte menu has soups, salads, sandwiches and sweets, as well as wine and local beers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 18
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
delalando
Business
Edmonton
Feb 9, 2015

Neat hotel!

Although a bit hard to find (just a doorway with a sign overhead, amongst many), the Exchange Hotel is worth any effort, especially for the price. Each room is individually and uniquely decorated (we saw our friends` room, also). The rooms are a bit on the smallish side, but are very comfortable. The bathroom is also small but outfitted well. Location can`t be much better: 5 minutes from the train station. We were also only 15 minutes from the river cruise ship dock. All the staff we encountered were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are few different canal cruises available, so don`t just grab the first one you encounter. Depending on weather and time available, you may opt for a cheaper cruise than the deluxe ones.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manc lads
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

Amazing hotel (couples)

Been to Amsterdam previously, but this hotel beats any previous hotel I've ever stayed in: • Top central location. • Unique, different, funky and stylish rooms. • Professional, friendly, helpful staff. • Everything on the door step/excellent transport links around the city. • One of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in. To summarise the hotel in a few words, value for money, stylish and a real hidden gem for those looking for comfort, value and something unique this hotel wins, plus it's a major topic to tell friends and family about the students who designed the interior of this hotel well done and I take my hats of to you guys. Manchester visitor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a 24 hour tram ticket as you can use on all trams, underground and buses in the city 24/7 real value for money (something like €7.50) and you can get anywhere in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sadie
Business
Helsinki
Dec 29, 2014

We knew there was a risk..

We liked the concept of this hotel, but our room was quite ugly and for some reason the cleaner left the bed cover on the floor after cleaning, twice. But at least the hotel was something different and the ugly room made us laugh. Location was good and the cafe downstairs was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Evina
Business
london
Jul 28, 2014

not the most interest place i ever been....

I have to say. We may have not bee the most lucky ones. On the arrival the staff was very nice. They upgraded us to three stars, so we were quite happy to discover what our roon would look like. Unfortunatelly, it wasn't up to our expectations. We got in and the feeling was claustrophobic, we were staying in a box full of boxes. I love art and use it as a game of concepts. But you also have to consider what the use of the art is going to be. Thos represented anything but confort. The shower wasinterated as part of the toilet with not doors or curtains.....so imagine, when having a shower everything would get wet. However, i could live with all that if i could at least rest sleep well. Well, that was not even the case. At 8 in the morning on a saturday neighbours started drilling without stop for the whole morning. We reported it to reception, but nothing they could do. That may have been unfortunate. The only posotive thing was the coffe place at the entrance of the hotel. Very nice to enjoy a good breakfast, specially after a bad night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
loved up couple
Business
east anglia England
Feb 16, 2014

perfect romantic getaway!

Lovely hotel and staff, right in the centre. Best sleep iv had in ages! Couldnt really wish for much more. Only complaint is lack of smoking area within the hotel, however there are lots of other places near by. Had a brilliant trip thank you the exchange!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a little out of the centre and drinks/food becomes much cheaper,no need to always pay the tourost prices as long as you dont mind a stroll.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBoeldt
Business
Yuba City, California
Feb 14, 2014

Great experience.

Read reviews before booking the reservation so my wife and I knew what to expect. Our room was tiny and there was barely enough room for the 2 twin beds. The bathroom was very European (corner shower without doors or curtain). Staff was friendly. Rooms and hotel were clean. Breakfast was overpriced but good. We both loved this place and it enhanced our Amsterdam experience. If you are used to American hotels and luxury, I would not recommend this place. However, if you would like to experience a unique, authentic European hotel, I recommend it highly. We will stay there again and hope to get a room as unique as the last one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is a short to med walk. The nightlife was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
casey234
Business
Boston, Mass.
Sep 26, 2012

Central location

The location of this hotel is excellent, a short walk from Centraal Station and within walking distance of the major sites of Amsterdam. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room we had was tiny--the bed barely fit with no room to walk around it, and it was hard for the person at the far end to get out. The bathroom was clean but also tiny and the shower had no curtain so it splashed the whole bathroom..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The All Stars restaurant is a one minute walk away on the same side of the street and a great place for an informal meal--very friendly staff and very good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
overnight stoppers
Business
USA
Jun 10, 2012

Clean with great location

Close to Dam square, central station and many restaurants. The rooms are a bit small but very clean. A great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top